We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for one night only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Beach Retreat
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have booked this place in last minute because we had to find a place to stay. We felt like everyting was not ready there and some items were missing. The host was great and friendly and also the location is OK. A good breakfast was provided in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We enjoyed this B&B. Very comfortable bed, excellent shower and lovely pool and view of the wildlife. Breakfast was varied and tasty and this is very close the to beach, although not to the swimming nets (in stinger season). A few minor things - the only working locked door was the fly-screen one, the bathroom and toilet is not totally enclosed from the rest of the living area and it was in need of a bit of a dust on the higher surfaces, although the rest was very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Couple_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay north of Cairns in order to view the total solar eclipse and were very pleased indeed by our week-long stay. Alex and Perce were very hospitable and keen to help us with our plans. It was wonderful to watch the birds and wallabies in the scrub land from the balcony and to have a refreshing dip in the pool. The wifi enabled us to talk with our family in the UK on the iPad and we had no problems keeping cool ( and insect-free) during the night. It is a great base to visit the Atherton Tablelands and Cape Tribulation. Best of all, we managed to view the eclipse from the nearby beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We enjoyed a week here taking in some of the delights of Cairns environs. It was great to have time spare so we could not only visit attractions, but also just spend time on the balcony overlooking the private bush - counting the birdlife, lizards and Wallaby in the backyard. A special feature of many B&B is the privacy available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived at Clifton Beach Retreat to Perce's big laugh and an excited little staffy. The hosts made us feel very comfortable and we settled straight in. They even lent us a couple of bikes and we rode down the beach track to Palm Cove where we had a delicious lunch and cocktail by the sea. Such a lovely clean and relaxed atmosphere to return to each night after our adventuring and we enjoyed the BBQ by the pool. We stayed 5 nights and our only regret was we hadn't booked for longer. Thank you Alix and Perce for a wonderful stay we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SivanAgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent over a week at Clifton Beach with Alix and Perce. They have a wonderful place - very cute and a great location. Close to the beach and the bus stop if you want to ride around town. Small kitchen with everything you would need. Very clean. It is quiet and relaxing- kangaroos run around in the fields in the morning. Alix and Perce helped me with information about the area and were very friendly and fun. This would be my top spot to stay near Cairns. You can get a car, but riding the bus into town is very fun! You would need a car for the other areas north.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Desi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliftonbeachretreat, Owner at Clifton Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for you lovely comments and review of our propery.
Much Appreciated Alix and Perce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Clifton beach retreat was a wonderful place to stay. Was very relaxing, accomodation was really nice and the hosts were very accomodating. Walking distance to the beach made a lovely evening stroll with the family and dog. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifton Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
South Pacific BnB Clifton Beach
#1 of 3 in Clifton Beach
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Warrawong Lodge
Warrawong Lodge
#2 of 3 in Clifton Beach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Argosy on the Beach
Argosy on the Beach
#2 of 7 in Clifton Beach
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
#3 of 7 in Clifton Beach
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clifton Palms
Clifton Palms
#7 of 7 in Clifton Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Beach Retreat

Address: 35 Batt St, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Beach
Price Range: $2 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Beach Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the home of Clifton Beach Retreat. A purpose built timber and corrugated iron B&B set in tranquil bush and lagoon surroundings. Located within 20min drive of the tropical metropolis of Cairns and bordering the Great Barrier Reef and the World Heritage Rainforest, Clifton Beach is ideally situated to ensure that your holiday in paradise is memorable for all the right reasons. There are two Queen size bedrooms with ensuite and kitchenette- with private entrance and balcony available individually for hire. Relaxing quiet atmosphere and close to beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Clifton Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Beach Retreat Australia - Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing