We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wide selection for buffets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wide selection for buffets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed in one of the rooms a right at the beach front. Well worth the extra money. Had full board which was worth it. Wide selections during the buffet service. Pizza restaurant was good, you could each get an individual pizza made fresh from the oven. About an hour drive from stone town. Great service and happy smiles from all staff. I didn't have a problem with the BeachBoys and was a single traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    202
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
161
316
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A very cool place
Laid back. Very friendly and authentic staff.good food , rooms are perfect
Lovely garden setting
Get ready for major harassment on the beach by the locals trying to take you on tours , sell you art etc
Management couple are very helpful and create a a good atmosphere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very rustic & well put together resort. Open plan with lots of light and space. Rooms are simple but lovely & have everything one needs. Staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful & never without a smile. The buffet could do with more variety however the food is always fresh. They offer shows every few nights which keeps things fun as well as an African beach dinner which is fantastic, a pool side dinner & a pizzeria beach dinner too. The all inclusive package has been worth every penny with food throughout the day & an extensive drinks menu with enough cocktails to make every day a good one. The beach is a beautiful one although there are not many activities offered by the hotel so it would not be the ideal place to bring younger kids. All in all, a lovely experience that has left us feeling relaxed and refreshed (and perhaps a few kilos heavier)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CourtsGaunt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great service and excellent staff makes this slightly older hotel a gem for visitors with families or on a budgte. The accomodation on the beach is great although limited but the view and atmosphere makes it memroble.

Go meet the staff like Joseph, Mtawa, Latifa, Adelina,Chef Voctor and many more to see why we enjoyed it. Please take your own music or entertainment for the rooms as the atmosphere is rustic and simple with no television or radio in the rooms.

The best option si full board as there is plenty of food and drink and daily activities. You wont regret it and then make use of Verimark at the beach to take you on all your local trips at 50% less thna the in-house tour group.

We never met or saw the General Manager, but Jospeh the Food & Beverage manager was probably the best hotellier and host that I have met in my life! The staff make the hotel and please note there is no room service, so stock up on breakfast, lunch and supper and you will be in heaven.

Thanks Joseph and thanks staff for making it memroble.

Room Tip: Beach delux rooms, but take your own entertainment. Also make sure of the current times and the tide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late at about 10.30 pm, where we were shown to our beach front villa and then they prepared a snack for us in the restaurant. Our home for the next 10 days in our villa was wonderful. Breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from, as was lunch and dinner. The staff could not do enough for us, very polite and always served from the right. I will say though there was a 100 steps from beach to the restaurant.
As we were there in low season there was entertainment most nights, themed meals twice a week, pool side and on the beach. During the day, stretching, archery and water aerobics, volley ball and football in the afternoon, and usually about 5pm they bring pizza on the beach.

We had clean towels twice everyday, and clean sheets every other day. Flowers in the room daily, and change of beach towels when you wanted.

Beach was swept everyday, and we had no trouble with beach boys.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here on our honeymoon - the rooms and beach are awesome, so are the staff. The food was a major down point and I would almost say it made our entire trip unpleasant. Three buffets a day with nothing spectacular on the menu - very little seafood. There was also absolutely no option of getting anything else made. We desperately wanted a toasted sandwich or just a burger to enjoy on the beach or in our room - they were never willing or able to do this. We could not even order room service on our honeymoon. Definitely not going back and would not recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just what we needed after Kilimanjaro. It has a good pool, good beach, lovely rooms (huts) good amount of activities and the food/drinks are good quality. Always dome sort of food or drink on offer and staff make you feel very welcome. Dont be afraid of "beach boys", they do not hassle and trips are worth going on. Very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCBlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Mapenzi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Mapenzi Beach

Property: Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Address: PO Box 100, Mahonda, Tanzania (Formerly Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Mapenzi Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the east coast of Zanzibar on the Kiwengwa shoreline, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach perfectly blends in the natural environment of the surrounding landscape, covering an area of 4 hectares blessed with a long white beach and lush tropical gardens of palms and colourful bougainvillea. The Resort is just 40 minutes from Zanzibar international airport and is a perfect choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers a nice mixture of relax,fun and extensive all inclusive services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Diamonds Mapenzi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Mapenzi Beach Club Hotel Mahonda
Mapenzi Beach Hotel
Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing