We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,040)
Filter reviews
2,040 results
Traveler rating
1,336
498
125
57
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
498
125
57
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantblue vanillajunior suitebeach boysafrican restaurantall inclusive packagearabic nightgarden poolstone townmain poolseafooddvd playerthemed nightsour honeymoonbar fridgelow tidehakuna matata
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 2,040 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel in 2010. I think it just opened back then! What a fantastic hotel. We would return again and again! Room was great! Pool was great! Bars were great! Restaurants were great!! Staff super friendly and helpful. Super happy with Dreams Of Zanzibar hotel. I give it 11 out of 10!!!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank PiicachuSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar, and for taking the time to write your review, we are so glad that you had fantastic experience at our resort looking forward to welcome you back to the Emerald Collection Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2014

We stayed here for ten nights on our honeymoon and had a lovely time.

We had ugraded our room to a junior jacuzzi suite which they had not realised when we came to check in so we had a few problems and had to wait a while for our room. We were given a complimentaty couple massage at the spa for the time wasted.

The food is good, the buffets are ok and better then some places we have been but the a la carte restaurants are much better, we only ate in the main buffet for dinner once and were glad we always chose the a la carte places as the buffet is the same lunch and dinner.

the staff at the hotel are very friendly and work very hard.

There is a quiet garden pool which is where we decided to spend our days as its away from the beach and is much quieter (untill a family with 14 kids arrived)

The beach is set on a reef which at low tide you can walk out to...but be ware 1. its very far and 2 you get hassled by beach boys.
on the beach they have security guards stopping beach boys come into the hotel but as soon as you step of the hotel grounds they will keep bugging you so we didnt go in the sea.

Ezra is great at cocktails the best by far.

We were the only british couple at the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingdolphinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar for your honey moon, and for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to read that you had lovely time at our resort and we do apologize for the inconvenience the your room type was not updated in our system, we are happy that you enjoyed our a la carte restaurants, looking forward to welcome you back at the Emerald Collection Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Dream of Zanzibar was great! I only spent 3 nights there but every moment was amazing. The security; peace; tranquility; friendly smiling staff ever willing to help. I celebrated my 35 year anniversary and the Manager of food and beverage was so great in arranging a quaint table setting on the beach - very romantic - and the seafood! I've never seen such huge prawns!! Perfect hotel to go see the reefs - I cannot believe I held a starfish in my hand!! And the best part all food and drinks were included in the price (except for seafood) and lovely cocktails and bar fridge stocked! Value for money.

Room Tip: Wifi is available free in the rooms closest to reception. I enjoyed the long walk from the room to the bech - worked off all that good food.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaniPerumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar and for writing your wonderful review. All the team here is delighted to read your comments and to know that you had a great holiday celebrating your Anniversary. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Emerald Collection Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Lovely beach location. Rooms are tidy and have all you need, disappointed there was no beach view with my room though, this seems to be reserved for the pool & restaurants rather than hotel rooms. Wifi is only available at reception. The resort provides plenty of activities including fantastic themed nights, watch the local cut down the coconuts and guests can drink them fresh, good service for food & drinks around the pool & beach as you relax. Many options of where to dine with a wide range of cuisine. I was gluten free & let the staff know, they weren't able to provide any gluten free alternatives ie. bread but there was always plenty from the buffet that I could choose from. 1hr drive from the airport and a long trip in/out of town if you wanted to do day trips (usually ~1hr drive).

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank your for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar, and for taking the time to share your experience. we are pleased to read that you had a nice holiday enjoying our location, different facilities, food and beverage options. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Emerald Collection Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Had a great stay at Dream for my honeymoon. Beautiful resort with amazing gardens and facilities.
We stayed in one of the 3 villas which was amazing, as we had so much space and our own private pool. The room was absolute luxury. Lovely aircon in both the lounge and bedroom, 2 great bathrooms, 2 mini bars. It was absolute bliss!
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and we always felt safe.
The resort really tries to make dinners interesting, as they arranged a gala dinner around the pool one night and a dinner on the beach another - all with entertainment in the form of singers and dancers. They really do try to make your nights fun.

On the downside, while the beach is absolutely beautiful, there are numerous hawkers on the beach. While the resort provides security to keep them from coming to the shore, once you enter the water they are right there, literally 10 of them surround you and follow you into the water till they can't go any further. A romantic stroll with your spouse at low tide will be difficult unless you can get them to leave you alone.

Lastly food - There is an abundance of food and many different types of it. About 7 different restaurants offering different types of food, and daily sushi and burger stands on the beach. However most of the food seems to be lacking seasoning, flavour, spices etc. I'd suggest taking along some salt (as often not every table has salt and pepper), black pepper, some dried herbs and maybe a bottle of Tabasco - just to season your food a bit more. Also, if you're a fan of red meat, don't expect much of it. Chicken, pork and fish are the order of the day here, except for the daily beef burgers you can find on the beach (which lacks any seasoning in the patty).

Overall though, the resort is the definition of luxury and I'd recommend it especially to honeymooners. We will certainly be returning soon.

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend splurging on rooms 2001 to 2003 as they are villas with private pools, and on the same level as all the restaurants so no need to go up and down the long staircase
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akiraawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar for your honey moon, and for taking the time to write a wonderful review. All the team here is delighted to read that you had memorable luxurious experience, enjoying the spacious room and the different outlets. looking forward to welcome you back to the Emerald Collection Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews