We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beach holiday”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing beach holiday”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The standards in Zanzibar are not great but Diamonds is among the best there is on the island.
The staff are friendly and whilst the rooms are a bit run down (lamp shades torn), they are clean and comfortable. Quality of the food is good. Nice Beach - pity that you are constantly hassled. by the locals trying to sell you something . Nice pool though . Water in the shower was somewhat sporadic. Air cons fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    385
    96
    38
    18
See reviews for
318
874
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Espagne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in Aug 2013, the hotel is very nice, the people working there very nice, the views from the room very nice. It's an all included hotel, but it still is a luxury hotel, fortunately people don't go crazy to eat and drink as much as possible, which is highly appreciated. But the beach is a fail, with the tides you cannot swim most of the day, no watersports, no snorkel... It's a real pity, not what one would expect from Zanzibar.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

great indian upon request from indian chef Daya. Food manager Smams always there to assist and General Manager interacts with guest. Chef Sabastian also warm to quest. Staff always willing to serve quest. Full board package good value for money . Entertainment good!From Vish Maharaj ...Johannesburg

Room Tip: toilet seperate to shower.kingsize bed with nets.furniture in good condition,however mnet tv receipt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishmedical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was so welcoming, there was a huge selection of food to cater for every taste and it was delicious. The rooms were simply stunning and were cleaned daily. One of the staff, Shams, was very accomodating and baked a birthday cake for us even though we gave him a days notice. Special thanks to John and Asnat for your hospitality.

Room Tip: I stayed in a garden room view. There's no need to have a sea view room when you are at the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishka r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week vacation in the hotel "diamond dreem of zanzibar" and we had an amazing time. The hotel is amazingly beautiful located near a beautiful beach with white sand. The service is great and the staff are really nice and friendly. The food is excellent. The hotel offer 5 different restaurants with great food. We came there with our kids and they had a great time. The rooms are simple but nice and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDWMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 27th September 2013. It is located in Mohonda which is about one hour drive from Stone Town. I can say this is a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice and clean, they have got a number of restaurants serving A-quality meals. Swimming pool is quite good with some exercise/yoga activities, beach side is very clean and safe, and their services are excellent. I will for sure visit this hotel during my next trip to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHATRI_TANZANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday in Kenya & Zanzibar. We stayed at the Diamonds Dream of Zanzibar for one week. Overall we were really happy with this hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the hotel room was spacious and kept spotlessly clean, and the grounds were continuously maintained. However this is Africa, so don’t expect things to be organised in the same way that they are in Europe. Having said that the staff are young and learning fast and could not be faulted for their cheerful nature and willingness to please.
A big shout out for one of the restaurant hostesses – Bora. She is a real gem, efficient but also a very caring person who couldn’t do enough to help my wife who has limited mobility.
This is an all-inclusive hotel, and compares well with others we have stayed at. The restaurants and buffet have a wide selection of food and service is always with a smile. We particularly enjoyed eating in the Chinese restaurant. On a couple of evenings there were themed dining around the pool or on the beach – great fun and well organised.
The hotel comprises a number of 2 storey blocks on a slope. There is quite a long set of steps from the upper level down to the pool & beach. This may not suit elderly or disabled guests.
Everyone has commented on the prevalence of “beach boys” touting for business. They can get a bit annoying but the security staff ensured that they didn’t bother the guests. The beach itself is excellent.
If you visit Zanzibar I would urge you NOT to go on one of the dolphin watching trips. We made the mistake of doing so – the locals chase after the dolphins in their boats and snorkelers jump out of the boats to try and spend a couple of seconds near the dolphins. Understandably the dolphins try to escape these human “depth charges”.
If you want to do any snorkelling or scuba diving I would recommend Scuba Libre – not the biggest company but very helpful and friendly (also they do not chase dolphins).

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs take a beach-side room, convenient for pool, bars & restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,517 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
603 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Property: Dream of Zanzibar
Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing