We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Dream of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream of Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful hotel and beautiful beach.The restaurants serve excellent and varied food, and amazing dessert buffet !Waiters are kind. A very special thank to the wonderful barman-Alawi- and to our "Beach" waiters Jeremia, John, Ezka, as well as Ali. They have made us fell like princesses:-) thanks a lot for your kindness.

Remarks: no free wifi available. expensive rate if you wanna be connected!
The gym could have better machines, taking into account that we have to pay to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GG D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
There are newer reviews for Dream of Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

3 days in this resort was fantastic and it was great to enjoy the excellent hospitality from the management ( Daya and Shams with their team ) they gave us the best service, the hotel was perfect and the food was delicious all in all a great place to visit absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarrarRashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had the perfect stay at diamond dreams of Zanzibar. Weather, pool, beach and food were great but especially the top service we will always remember. A special thank you to Alawi, John Mahavile, Ezra and Aly Salam and Ester of front office!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 667Henny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hello my name is dudi from samsung
I was with the group in zanzibar, from date 22/8-28/8.

I want to thank Zachariah musima and amos
They gave the best service!
Once the group arrived they did not stop worrying that the vacation will be perfect.
The hotel was perfect,the food was delicious and the service was the best!!!
Thanks for everything!
I will return to this hotel!

Dudi :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidvaknin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

11 days in July in this fantastic resort and it was great to enjoy the excellent service of the whole team of the hotel (Swiss/Italian owners, Indian management, African staff - a good combination!) . The facility is perfect maintained - somewhat a shameful difference to the general condition land. Besides the good offer of the 4 (free) restaurants (very good, but repeating menus from the buffet and grill) we liked the lunch-snacks on the beach most. The service of free drinks at the pool and beach is offensive and nice. Nearly every evening the stuff has perfectly prepared a different theme for the dinner (on the beach, at the pool, arabic night (first time - thanks to Shams!), african night, etc.). Unfortunately (especially for our teenage-kids) the every-evening entertainment program finished most time at 11pm. The beach is nice and well maintained, although the tide has a big effect. The beach boys are somewhat stressful, but always respectful and friendly and under comtrol by the security staff, which is always present, but not unpleasant. Most remarkable for us was the personal friendlyness and the courtesy of the hotel staff. Big thanks to Shams and his team für the outstanding service, especially for the lovely gala dinner on the last evening (regards to Diego and his family!). Perfect housekeeping for the beautiful and comfortable rooms. Especially the quality of service and the friendliness of people made our vacation a real Dream. Finally, i´d like to use Diegos words for the phantastic italian animators: Grazie a Leo e Elisabetha due animatori con la "A" maiuscola - We miss your enthusiasm !!! One topic for improvement: WIFI is not free! But probably a good ccontribution for more communication of the very internatioal guests to each other. Highly recomandable !
;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay at this hotel. The room was nice and spacious with all the necessary amenities. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is sorrounded with a beautiful well organized garden. Would recommend this hotel to every visitor to Zanzibar. It's worth the money we paid !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ImtiazLalji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's a very big resort, which I would normally not choose. Was surprised how the staff is part of family trying to make everyone feeling like home away from home. The spacious rooms,excellent food choices and great entertainment for everyone. The presence of GM and his gentle but highly professional approach is visible every step of the way. Very seldom you find GM greeting every guest and taking care of all details .
I would highly recommend this resort and will return back soon !

Room Tip: I had a room in the row 19 which is great sea and resort view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mahonda
Price Range: $265 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing