We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it is sold as”
Review of Homere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homere Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aghir
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Basic 3 star hotel. Food and drink selection appalling.really should not be sold as an all inclusive.
On a positive note if some money was invested in this place and they put on a real all inclusive it could be nice.
Staff for the most part were welcoming and helpful

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 468 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Choose this place on a whim, after recently moving house and purchasing new cars, me and my partner were looking for a cheep mid range package holiday with good value for money, and from what we got at the Homere was a really good stay and a cracking time. on first impressions the hotel is very clean and tidy Staff showed us to our room and took our bags, some minor work and maintenance going on round the hotel grounds but its not intrusive or distracting. our room was spotlessly clean, cleaned every day with fresh towels and sheets, which the maid regularly made adding decoration and flowers to the room. The bathroom itself was a little out dated and could do with a little TLC but not as terrible as other reviewers have mentioned. The amount of drinks offered inclusive are all the basics, the cost of rum or vodka is basically a pound if that?? which is nothing if you really want it. what other reviewers must not realise there is a heavy import tax on alcohol so there for a supplement on some drinks, saying that the measures are like a double or triple depends on who is pouring it ;-) There is a lot of French people who go to djerba and the second language of the country is French there are people who work there speak a little English however I found no issues with understanding or communicating the entire journey with the little French I can speak. Entertainment wise we didn't spend much time round the pool so cannot comment as the privet beach is great and has the benefit of a nice refreshing breeze however the evenings entertainment is varied, being ENGLISH with a polish girlfriend found we were treated equally on par with everyone else the comments about not interacting is not true if they got up and took part rather than looking miserable and moaning they might fare better or god for bid have fun as the entertainment guys are friendly and eager for EVERYONE to join in once you get up and forget you dance like an idiot (i'm terrible) the evening entertainment is fun for all. Food was a bit of a let down very under seasoned and being a buffet the meat and fish could do with being cooked less and topped up more regularly however its totally edible and the Tunisian night were all food is Tunisian is the best by a long mile and the deserts I don't know if they are made in house or bought in but they are amazing.. For trips don't book with the men in the hotel or front gate they are CONS and the Thomas Cook its about £23 however over on the beach there is a little hut run by Mario who sells all the trips at a decent price especially jet skis and he will mention this everyday multiple times so if you want quiet stay on beach go on at least one jet ski trip to shut him up. and you have! to go on the pirate ship trip, good laughs, some crazy acrobatics off the top of the mast and the main blokes speak 5plus languages so no ones left out and the food is terrific featuring grilled fish couscous and what could be best descried as a large samosa. if you have read this far then I salute you but the hotel as a whole don't deserve the flak it gets from the majority of English who posted recently and would highly recommend it as for what your spending on it you get quite a lot

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

So after reading all the reviews we decided to book the hotel thinking we would make up our own mind. The night before we went we read the latest reviews and panicked 'worst hotel ever' comment springs to mind!!
Anyway we arrived 7 hours later than scheduled as the flight from gatwick was delayed for 7 hours.. brilliant start to the holiday. Arriving at 4am in a foreign country is never fun but after arriving at the hotel we were greeted by several friendly members of staff, quickly filled in the relevant forms and were shown to our room and staff carried our bags for us.
I'll add now that we were travelling as 4, 20 year old young woman wanting sun, sea and relaxation .
The room itself was huge, 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, shower room and toilet, living area and balcony. The room in general was clean and well presented, the bathrooms desperately need some attention but nothing a lick of paint and some re grouting cant cure. The main problem with the room was the shower in the bathroom had a very shallow shower tray meaning the whole bathroom was completely flooded every time we showered no matter how many towels we used to stop the water. The air con wasn't great, still not entirely convinced it was really working as very little if any cold air was actually coming out. We tended to open the windows and the strong breeze coming off the beach cooled the rooms down nicely. The room did its job for us and we didn't spend much time in there but if you are expecting 4/5* its definitely not this.
The area around the hotel is quite run down but that is the same over the whole island, there is a shop a 10 minute walk down the road which sells souviniers, useful things like shampoo, sun cream plus cheap fake labelled clothes, shoes and bags. There is also a shop next door which does similar things just a tad more expensive.
We were advised by the rep not to go out of the hotel after 6/7pm, plus there isnt really anywhere to go anyway.
The thomas cook rep is lovely and couldnt have been helpful even sorting out things such as transfers which we hadn't booked through the hotel or thomas cook.
The beach is a 5 mimute walk away across the road and down a sandy foot path, we never had a problem getting a sun bed and the beach itself is kept clean and tidy.
The hotel area and pool is kept clean and tidy too.
The food got better throughout the stay, our first evening meal was pretty awful with only a couple of things that we would eat, there seemed to be alot of food aimed for the french and german guests but throughout the week it improved greatly and there was always plenty and it was hot and fairly tasty. Definitely try the pancakes at breakfast and pizza at lunch and dinner, its cooked in front of you and is lovely as are the cakes at lunch and dinner
Many people have complained about the all inclusive drinks, it was no problem for us although they don't do vodka, and beware if you are having whisky or gin they make the drinks very strong!!
You can buy cocktails during the day which are 10 dinar which i think is about £4 and they are fab but very strong once again. bottles of water, juice and sprite, coke and fanta are readily avaliable all day but the glasses are small so many trips to the bar are needed.
Our main issue, which was to be expected was with the men on Djerba, they are annoying to the extreme, being a group of girls going anywhere caused us to be hassled, whistled at, shouted at and stared at which after a week becomes slighlty irritating. However i must stress all the men in the hotel are completely lovely and we had no problems within the hotel but as soon as we set foot outside the door it was a different story.
We didnt have much to do with the entertainment choosing to spend time relaxing in the lobby or room, However the people joining in seemed to be having fun and we were invited to join in but chose not too, the animation team are really lovely always having time for a chat or joke.
I would definitley recommend going to see the guy who does the photographs in the hotel he is really good and the photos come out lovely for 7 dinar and there is no pressure to buy at all but the photo shoot is good fun.
I would also recommend the boat trip, we booked through the thomas cook rep for 60 dinar but i think you can book it though mario down on the beach for cheaper. You get taken to another part of the island and go out on pirate ships, they show you how to put the fishing nets out and then you go to a island not too far from Djerba where you sunbathe for a bit before being cooked a lovely lunch by the 'pirates' You can also try camel riding and horse riding on the island which is all included in the trip price, it is really good fun and if your lucky you may see dolphins when your out at sea on the boat, its a good fun trip out.
All in all this hotel is average, work needs to be done to tidy the place up, it looks a little tired however the people are lovely and are trying to please the guests. We all agreed we probably wouldnt return to Djerba just from the fact we couldnt go anywhere in the evening, and there wasn't much too do during the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked with THOMAS COOK a suppose-able reputable company!
At first hurdle I was charged twice for this holiday and Thomas Cook after admitting it was their fault took 10 days to refund the money!
Get to resort late at night to welcome drinks and something to eat!
When we go to collect our keys we are taken to a family room instead of the twin rooms that we paid for! The room has not been cleaned since the last guests and the bed linen and towels are all stained! There are no doors on wardrobes,The bath has obviously previously had a hole in it and has now got some kind of white putty holding it in place!
It is very unclean with huge ants running around!
(All of which I have photographed)
We did not find this room acceptable so went back to reception and asked where our twin room was!
The receptionist informs us there are no more twin rooms available and that Thomas Cook are to blame!
11pm at this point , kids tired need to sleep so we are told either to accept previous room or separate for the night and they will try and sort something tomorrow!
We separated for the night much to the distress of the children who ended up in bed with me!
Next morning we had our suitcases put behind reception and was told to go enjoy pool , lunch etc whilst they sort a room! Every time we needed something we had to go and ask for permission to go to our cases!
Left it til 2pm and asked for room, we were given keys to an interconnected room at far end of hotel (which is still being decorated ,hotel clearly not ready for guests) ,when we go in it looks like an empty hostel , no beds made up just bare mattresses and no towels etc , the maid has not been here!
Went back to receptionist who made a call and said he will sort it and to go back enjoy hotel! By 5pm the room is ready so we take our things up,shower and get ready for evening meal!
When I return to room to collect something , I'm confronted by a maintenance man inside the rooms fixing the broken light on wall and toilet that does not flush properly! (Talk about invade your space)
Finally settled on room front!
Keys facts about this hotel!
All inclusive is completely misleading!
Besides the letter we had 3 days previously (which left it too late to find alternative accommodation without costing us a further £700 )about beach towels ,sauna,and ice cream trolley not being included there is also no drinks besides water at the dedicated beach bar!
There was no kids club!
The games room can only be used by kids when there isn't football or something on the TV!
There is no kettle /drink making facility in room!
No safe (you have to pay for one)
(I might add that the online site has been updated since I booked but if you are lucky to find an original brochure with the details in you would know that this was advertised as having the not included items (Included).another guest has a copy and is sending me a copy!
Food Awful my child lived on French bread the entire week, not a basic hotel toaster in sight!
In the kids disco which is downstairs in a room with no windows or doors , people are allowed to smoke and yet in the main bar they are not?????
So stuffy and bad for children , my son has asthma so struggled to breath which meant having to not go to evening entertainment which in a way was a blessing as it could only be described as cringeworthy! There are 4 members of the entertainment staff who do all the entertainment! So every show / performance consists of them!
There is a guy obviously trying to promote the hotel walking around photographing the children and groups of people!
BIG PROBLEM TOO if your not French , this hotel treats the French like royalty , waiting on them at tables ,reserving certain tables , we are left to get on with it! And before we are finished they take your plates away if they can! The hotel was playing French music 95% of the time ,French entertainment etc and if you have a problem there is no one English to talk to except the Thomas Cook rep who comes by once a day for an hour who is inundated with complaints!
It almost feels like they don't really want the English here but because of the recent problems etc they have had to let us in to help with the funding!
We met many families and couples alike that we're all disappointed and angry with ThomasCook.
French food,French entertainment,french language ,French arrogance is what you will receive on this holiday!
If I wanted this kind of treatment I'd have gone to bloody France at half the cost!
Thomas Cook rep sells the excursions at over double the price that you can get them from the guy on the beach!
Overall I am beyond disappointed ,I'm appalled that Thomas Cook could put this on their books!
Badly organised hotel and minimum staff, this hotel will not cope well in peak season, it will be completely out of its depth!
This was not a 3 star holiday by any stretch of the imagination and we could not wait to go home!
This has not been an enjoyable holiday! I paid over £2500 for this holiday and I feel robbed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Arrived 18th May 2014. This has got to be the worst hotel l have ever been to. Staff rude and unhelpful. Arrived 10.30 to be handed a key and left to find room on are own. indoor pool had birds nesting and flying around while some guests tried to swim in there (obviously not bothered on hygiene). Advertised as All Inclusive this covers beer, wine, tea, coffee and very basic food ( none labeled in English). No beach towels. Ladies remember hair dryer or pay for privilege. The list of complaints for this hotel could go on for a long time. Health and safety was a joke. Best part of this stay was leaving on the 19th May, after having to endure a nights stay. To continue are holiday at the Mehari, where they understand customer service and ensured every body had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have just returned from 2 weeks in this hotel. We arrived at the hotel to a welcome drink. We then filled in some forms. We were then shown to our room which was spotless and spacious. there was a big wardrobe and cupboard to put clothing although you did have to fight to keep dresses on the hangers. We then went for lunch although there was not a big selection there was plenty to eat and it was hot. we then enjoyed an afternoon around the pool which again was nice and clean. up till this point we had only had soft drinks. then came the welcome meeting where it came to light that there were a few teething problems with the all inclusive package. the torrent of abuse that was then aimed at the rep was awful and was uncalled for. he did however offer us a move to another hotel for a fee. we decided to stay where we were as we were not to bothered about the lack of local brands. we went on two trips whilst on the holiday. the first one was the pirate ship which was great and defiantly value for money. the second was the island explorer which again was value for money. the all inclusive eventually had other drinks added to it towards the end of our holiday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks because all though there were issues with the all inclusive i really could not fault anything else in the hotel. so please disregard other reviews saying the hotel is disgusting because it is the cleanest hotel i have been in. the cleaners were on the go day and night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lilwelshgal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived at this Hotel around 12 noon on Sunday the 18th May and by 1.30 pm i was phoning the Thomas Cook rep requesting to either go home or be moved. Never in my life have i seen a more disgusting hotel than this. The staff think we are complaining about the all inclusive, (that's only one part) the beach towels are not FREE as we were informed that they were and therefore didn't bring any with us. Hairdryers, sun lounger cushions were also payable locally. There were no snacks available and the only drinks were were offered was beer and wine. The staff were rude and couldn't give a dam about British guests. There was not a wide variety of food available at the restaurant, but was on offer was horrible and inedible. We there resigned to taking bread to our room and eating that with a packet of crisps. We attempted to take photographs of the appropriate areas but were continually being harrassed by members of staff. Jamal (the Rep), said he had 32 years of experience being a Thomas Cook rep. I would strongly suggest to Thomas Cook that their staff traijing needs looking into and sorting out asap. We constantly complained to the rep and would not receive a reply by just avoiding the questioning/suggestions. 22+ guests attended the meeting complaining and this so called Thomas Cook Rep blatantly ignored the complaints but carried on attempting to sell us day trips. The meeting got heated and there were times when guests were becoming visibly upset one of them was myself. The reception at the hotel blamed Thomas Cook and Thomas Cook rep blamed the hotel. We therefore had to pay an extra £237 cash to be moved to the Iberostar Mehari which is a 3* hotel with 5* service. Overall Thomas Cook missold this holiday and would not recommend this to anyone. All 22 guests moved to the Mehari on the Monday (having to pay for our own taxis too) and continued with what I can only describe as a perfect holiday. Thomas Cook....whats your explanation?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghir
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Azur
Hotel Palm Azur
#20 of 104 in Djerba Island
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Djerba Castille
4.6 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bravo Djerba
Hotel Bravo Djerba
#52 of 104 in Djerba Island
183 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Mouradi Djerba Menzel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Golf Beach & Spa
Hotel Golf Beach & Spa
#12 of 46 in Midoun
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homere Hotel

Address: Bp 162, Aghir, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Aghir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aghir
Hotel Class:3 star — Homere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Homere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homere Hotel Aghir
Homere Hotel Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing