We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$58
View deal
Expedia.com
$52
View deal
FindHotel
$48
View deal
Hotels.com$52
Priceline$62
Trip.com$53
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveler rating
1,233
123
26
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,233
123
26
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill blue ginger our honeymoon mobile phone koh samui private pool taxi service milk bath free shuttle thai and western food heaven on earth chai bedroom villa main pool robert pon plumeria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This review is aimed at middle aged couples who want peace and quiet and a romantic escape together. You don't have to be young to enjoy Sandalwood. We're mid 50's and staying here makes you feel young.
We stayed for 6 wonderful days and nights in late September in the Plumeria villa. We were met at the airport by a driver in a Sandalwood 4WD that was just immaculate. We were given ice cold bottled water for the drive to Sandalwood from the airport. The drive takes about 20 minutes to and from the airport.
We booked the honeymoon package as after 31 years we decided this was to good to pass up. The bed was decorated with rose petals spelling the word LOVE and there was fresh fruit and a bottle of wine. We were shown how to work the lights and air con etc. and left to unwind.
We met Robert (co-owner) the next morning and we constantly picked his brain as to what to see and what to eat and where to eat etc. His recomendations were invaluable. When I said I'd like to try the asian breakfast he said the rice soup with a scrambled egg on top was the best way to start. Honestly, you wouldn't need to eat until dinner. It was delicious, as were all the breakfasts we had in the open air restaurant.We even went out with him one night and ate local at arestaurant that specialized in Isan food which is the northeast part of Thailand. If any of you are familiar with the show "Bizarre Foods" on the Travel channel, this place is for you. The best was the sticky rice which you ate with your hands and dipped into the chicken mince. Robert knew what to order and we were all fine.
When my wife and I went out at night to eat I would ask Pon or Jip to ask for the best tables by the beach and each and every time we were shown to exactly what we had asked for. Tables next to the sand where you could watch the waves lapping at the shore.We were never dissappointed.We literally had the best tables you could ask for.
I suggest if you want a meal in, then have it on your balcony if you're in the Plumeria villa.Candlelit 3 course dinner over looking Chaweng beach is priceless.Everynow and then you could also see fireworks going off randomly as you ate.
The infamous hill. It is steep and unless you're in triathalon shape, don't even think about walking up this hill. Sandalwood have immaculate vehicles to take you up and down.
You don't need to be stuck by the once a day free shuttle down and then back up the hill. Sandalwood have scooters (If you're brave) and nice cars for rental. Whilst we didn't avail ourselves of these, we didn't mind the 400 baht out of hours to get to where we wanted to go. The car and driver were always there whenever we called to be picked up, and you had the peace of mind of knowing the hotel is picking you up. When you consider what you're paying per night, the 400 baht here and there shouldn't deter you. You are given an old phone(not an i phone or smart phone) that has the front desk number stored in the contacts list and Sandalwood will come and get you.
The service and kindness you get here is 2nd to none. Everynight little elves would make their way into the room to turn down the bed and leave chocolates and tidied up. Sometimes you may have to ask them to repeat things, but generally their English is very good and they bend over backwards to please you.
We also did the cooking class and we went to the market in Lamai to get our lunch and the whole experience was unforgettable. My wife and i are both foodies and what we thought we knew, we now know.
We also had a 90 min massage each as part of the package. We broke it up into 1 hr and 1/2 hr blocks on separate days. You don't need to have it all at one time.
No better feeling in the afternoons or early evening than being on the deck or in the infinity pool overlooking the beach below.
Finally to Pon,Jip,Fon,and our little girl "R" we thank you for a truly memorable week.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigAl55Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There is nothing that I can say that has not already been said.
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon from Sept 12-17 in the Plumeria Villa.
Pon and the staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. They were always smiling and asking us about our day on the island, and what we were planning the next day.
The first night we had wine in our room, breakfast on our balcony and they had a happy honeymoon cake in our refrigerator. They offer anything that you could need including a computer, first aid kit, mosquito coils and bug spray, a beach bag with towels, and a cell phone to contact a driver when you needed to be picked up in town.
We had breakfast here every morning and it was delicious. We enjoyed having our own private pool, however we did go into the main pool one day. We hardly ever saw any other people and it often felt like we had our own private hotel. On our last day we decided we wanted to go stand up paddle boarding and they helped us arrange that at the last minute. There arent enough good things that I can say about this hotel. We have never stayed any where like this, and it was so perfect we would love to stay here again if we are ever on that side of the world. Thank you all for everything and for making our honeymoon so special.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a 25th wedding anniversary for us. We never dreamed of a more romantic, quite, and picturesque location like the Sandlewood Resort.
.Everything was more than we could have imagined, from the time we were picked up from the airport till the day they took us back. We even extended our stay 2 days. Wish it could have been 2 weeks. How often does the owner of a hotel, however small, make a point to take the time to talk with you every day, make suggestions, and help plan your day for you. Robert was great along with the rest of the staff. Impossible to go wrong here. Safe, comfortable, and relaxing. It was all the little things they did that made the difference. Didn't matter if you only left the room for a hour, when you got back your room was made up and each night they always left you a nice little surprise,candy, flower, with a little personalized note such as "Sweet dreams" Like everyone else I could go on but if you go to Koh Samui stay at the Sandlewood. See for yourself, and plan to stay longer than you anticipate.

Room tip: All rooms as far as we could tell had a beatifull view and each room had its own theme. We stayed in the Malee Room. Highly recomend.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana_MJackson_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in the Plumeria villa for ten nights in October 2012. We were looking for a relaxing holiday to simply chill out and were absolutely delighted with our choice. Sandalwood is not an 'offically rated' five-star resort and we note that some of the few negative comments on TA try to compare it to such. This is completely unfair as for the same size of rooms, amenities and location/views, you could easily pay three times the price at a 'proper' five star resort. We have certainly done so when staying at a Banyan Tree in Phuket and Rayavadee in Krabi on previous Thai holidays.

Once you understand this, you can really appreciate what a little gem Sandalwood is. The location is stunning and the rooms are large, well-appointed and have everything you need. Most important of all are the staff who without exception, cannot do enough to make your stay a memorable one. With only ten rooms, this creates a really intimate and charming atmosphere that you simply do not get at a larger resort.

If you want to spend all day on the beach or out on the town every night, then this location is probably not the best choice, although they will arrange transport whenever you need. However, as a place to relax where you feel really welcomed and special, it is very hard to beat.

Our only small criticism is that some of the villas like ours are two-storey and for a couple of days we had a family with young children above us. Quite why you would choose a resort like Sandalwood for small children completely escapes me, but with nothing to do except the pool, they were naturally running around which created quite a lot of noise on the wooden floor above.

That aside, we thought Sandalwood was just about perfect to relax and enjoy outstanding Thai luxury, hospitality and service.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ollie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We made our way to Sandalwood in the comfortable car sent to pick us up. Yes it is up quite a hill but it is not that bad. The vilas are down another hill and it is steep but totally walkable for the average person. Lovely drink on arrival and then we made our way to that amazing villa. We stayed in Leelawadee with our own infinity pool, spa bath, 3bedrooms and kitchen living room. We ate at the restaurant on two evenings and it was beautiful. The Thai set menus are highly recommended in fact everything was delicious. At breakfast the staff were very keen to make whatever you wanted - everything delicious. Lovely goodnight treats left on your bed and the most beautiful personalised gift on departure. If you are looking for the party scene this probably isn't for you. If you are looking for the most relaxing place with exceptional views then look no further- you will not be disappointed. Can't wait to convince some friends to come back here with us so we can share the most beautiful view in Samui.

Room tip: They are all beautiful but Leelawadee is the jewel in the crown.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews