We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Bedroom with King size bed and air conditioned
The Master Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Phil R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed in a villa for a week with my friend as a break from hostel backpacking. The lady at reception (I didn't get her name unfortunately) was very friendly, as were all the staff we discovered during our stay. We were shown to our villa, given some free bottles of water, maps and dining guides, introduced to the villa facilities then left to settle in.
The villas are amazing. Clean, modern, aircon in every bedroom, smart tv in the lounge, ensuite bathrooms, cooking facilities and an amazing pool and outside lounging and seating area. The views from our villa garden were stunning! The pool was lovely and warm and a good depth to swim, and the main strip of lamai and lamai beach are just a 15 minute walk away.
There is a free shuttle bus that will take you to the local shops and surrounding area for free. Because it was low season it even waited to take us back after our shop at Tesco. The drivers were friendly and helpful.
The location of the villas are fantastic. The craziness of chaweng is just 10 mins drive away and the quieter lamai beach and stunning silver beach are both just down the road.
The front desk staff are fantastic and try their hardest to help you with any issues. Luckily we didn't have any problems, with the exception of 1.
The wifi in our villa was appalling/none existent in the evening. We couldn't so much as send a whatsapp message at night, couldn't listen to music by the pool or watch YouTube on the smart tv. Worst of all we couldn't plan the next leg of our travels without heading into lamai and finding a bar with wifi.
The receptionist tried several times to resolve the issue but nothing worked for the first 4 days of our visit. We were in villa 18 and we're told eventually that villa 18 had always had a wifi issue. We were eventually able to move to villa 17 for our last 3 days and even though the wifi wasn't amazing, it's allowed us to do want we needed to do.

It was a lovely place to stay, beautiful surroundings, great pool area and very friendly staff. My only warning would be that if you want wifi access, avoid villa 18.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Dear Phil R,
Thank you very much for your great review about our recent stay at SAWAN Pool Villa. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedbacks about our staff.
The problem with Wifi is already resolved in Villa 18 :-)))
We would be delighted to welcome you back once again for your future holidays in Koh Samui. Kind regards Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

-
The villa needs serious renovations:
- it needs a repaint
- the kitchen needs to be cleaned, it had old stains everywhere
- the pillows had black spots (mold?)
- the bathroom desing is awful, ventilation is not effective, towel rack infront of shower, mirror is waist high... shower head is clogged and sprays everywhere
- the light in the pool doesn't work, the other lights are fluorescent and harsh
- wifi works half the time, yes they warn you it might not cause its Thailand, but I had no issues in other places
- front door can be unlocked without a key you just reach over!
- you pay for water, electricity, buy your own toilet paper. In the end for 4 days ot came to 1000 baht!!! With AC only in one room and only at night.
- and so many other little annoyances.
It really is not worth it at that price (especially if you are 2). Yes they tell you it's actually cheap for a private pool villa but look around and you will see that's not true. The pictures really do not represent reality.

+
The location is nice - surrounded by palm trees yet close to Lamai.
The staff is great, went above and beyond to make our stay pleasent.
The pool is big and deep enough and the water is circulated constantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Dear David B,
I considered with care your review about your stay. Indeed, the villa's garden wall suffered from raining season but the problem is now resolved. We were fully booked until now, we need to wait to resolve the problem. Some details that you describe inside the Villa are not so serious as you mentionned and the light in the Pool working, you just have to switch on the light. I checked your bill, you don't payed this amount, I think you exagerate it. For conclude, I confirm you that we are the cheaper 3 bedrooms Pool Villa around but not interresting if you are 2 persons only. Regards Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J
2 reviews
“Sawan villa x”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As I'm on my last night I thought I'd let people know x my family party 5 adults 1 child have had a wonderful time here x the past 2 weeks have been great x the staff couldn't have been more helpful x the villa is perfect apart from the ants!! ( but I understand they get EVERYWHERE!! ) I would advise anyone to book here and also encourage people to book there selves a Traditional Thai Massage ( via reception ).... AMAZING xx

the view for my early morning cuppa x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Dear Sue J,

Thank you for your feedbacks about your recent stay in one of our Villas and about our staff.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross81UK
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice ”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Writing a review as conscious most reviews so far are French. Stayed here recently with 2 other couples. Villa was exactly as shown in pics. Still very new and good condition. Pool cleaned daily, villa cleaned once during stay. Villa itself quite private with high fences all around, ideal for small groups and families. Shuttle service to town was easy to organise, they even got us a free taxi when the driver was unwell. Town of Lamai itself is 15 min walk. Laundry service 80bh/kg which is a little more than some places but service absolutely first class. Service very good, staff very friendly and polite. On site shop decent for water, juice, beers. Only a few issues; one of our party lost an item of belongings, and staff let them look at CCTV to try and help find it, one bathroom didn't drain well, causing a puddle in it and kitchen window wouldn't lock. Overall good villas at a very good price. Thanks to Melanie & the team for a memorable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2016
Dear Ross81UK,

Thank you for choosing our Villa for your recent holidays in Koh Samui and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team take attention to deliver a quality service to all our guests. Thank you for your feedbacks about our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back once again for your future holidays in Koh Samui.

Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will W
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good villa with hotel services in a quiet area 10 minutes from Lamai Town”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

3 adults and one 4 year-old spent 3 weeks at Sawan Residences in Lamai on Ko Samui.

Good points:

We were looking for accommodation in a quiet area that provided an enclosed garden for a 4 year-old child to safely play, with a pool and space for the adults to relax inside and out. The 3-bed, 3-bath bunglaow-style villa definitely provided this, and was an ideal size for us with a generous garden.

Beautiful setting, located in a quiet village environment at the foot of the mountain.

Basic, but adequately furnished in a contemporary style

All bedrooms had sliding doors onto the garden/pool area.

2 out of 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathroom.

Electronic safe to store valuables

Effective air-con

Bath towels and pool towels provided.

Garden furniture / sun loungers all good.

Massage 'cabana' in garden; Sawan can arrange for a masseuse to visit you 'at home'

Friendly local staff on site - receptionists, pool man, cleaners all very obliging

Small shop for basic provisions in the recpetion area (cereal, water, soft drinks, beer, wine...)

Hourly complimentary bus service into Lamai town and beach - Lamai town main road 7-eleven / Family Mart / Banks + cash machines / fresh food market are a couple of minutes down the hill to the main road, Tesco Lotus is 5 minutes and beach about 10 mins.

Short walk down hill to local shop / laundry - 40 Baht for 1 kilo - very good.

Issues dealt with reasonably promptly - air-con unit failure and pool pump / filter issue resolved within 24 hours.

Although we didn't use this service, you can arrange for breakfast to be provided.

Areas for improvement

Upon arriving, we were asked for a deposit of 25,000 Baht (£500) in case of damages. This would be refunded upon departure. But who wants £500 in Baht just as you're heading home? The credit card charge for leaving a deposit would have been £12, which seemed excessive. Have not experienced this before with a holiday rental - think this can be handled better.

Whilst adequately furnished for our needs, a couple of armchairs in the living room area would have been appreciated in addition to the built-in sofa - no where else to sit in the living area. The kitchen area provided facilities for basic self-catering. It was sufficient for our breakfast-making needs, but we felt a basic welcome pack would have been useful - tea towel, washing-up liquid, for example.

We were told that cleaners would come in twice a week, although over a 2 week period we had 2 visits rather than 4. Villa was quite dusty, so could have benefited from a more thorough cleaning both prior to our arrival and during stay.

More hangers in the bedroom wardrobes, please.

Water and electricity were charged at the end of the stay, rather than incorporated into the daily rate of the property. This leaves you uncertain as to how much you might need to set aside.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa was spacious and in a quiet location, convenient for town. Pool was good.
Liked least: request for large deposit upon arrival
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Dear Will W,
Thank you for choosing SAWAN Pool Villas Residence for your holiday stay and for sharing your experience with us.
I take note of the improvements to bring in the Villa.
Thanks for providing such feedback.
I look forward to see you back again at SAWAN Pool Villas Residence.
Best Regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mline V
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in November 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2018
Bonjour Mline V,
Merci beaucoup pour votre superbe commentaire sur votre séjour au sein de notre Villa SAWAN. Je suis contente de lire que vous avez passé un agréable moment et apprécié le confort de la Villa et les differents services disponibles. Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Cordialement
Melanie
SAWAN Pool Villa's Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marieslv
Saint Ouen, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2018
Bonjour marieslv,
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire détaillé sur votre séjour au sein de l'une de nos Villas. Je suis ravie de lire que vous avez passé un agréable moment et apprécié le confort de la Villa.
Dommage pour la cafetière, nous en avions en stock sur demande des clients ;-))
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Cordialement
Melanie
SAWAN Pool Villa's Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing