We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy base with good Thai food”
Review of Bill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bill Resort
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Duration of stay at this hotel 08/03/13 - 29/03/13 travelling with partner.

Arrival
Arrived at Bill resort having travelled for 24hrs from Manchester, flying with Ethiad and Bangkok Air. We were greeted with smiles and fruit juice, booked in quickly and then swiftly taken to our room via golf buggy.

Accomodation
We were upgraded to a bungalow (704) so that was a nice surprise. Found the room to be perfectly adequate for what we wanted and needed, large bed, air conditioning, lighting, dressing table with light and mirrors. There was a well stocked small fridge with soft drinks and small selection of alcolic drinks. Lots of windows. W/C, shower, basin, toilet, little hose next to toilet! My only gripe with the room would be that there wasn't enough storage for clothing as there were limited hangers and no shelving in the wardrobe. There was a TV in the room but that didn't really work - no issue for us because we didn't want to watch TV. The rooms were cleaned right through, with changes of bedding and towels whenever you leave the tag on the outside door handle. On day 10 we came back from a day out on the scooter to find a colony of ants had moved in. I went down to reception and reported the problem (using Google Translate). A staff member came to have a look and promptly offered a move of bungalows. This was done in around 10 minutes without any fuss. We then moved up the path to room 708.

Restaurant, food & drink
The restaurant is found next to the beach and looks out directly onto the white beaches and aqua blue sea. Pretty impressive location. We were on bed and breakfast so ate here probably half of the mornings of our stay. Breakfast is served up to 10am but we went in on occasion at around 1030am and got breakfast without issue. There was plenty to chose from, cereal, fruit, breads, pasta and rice. There is a (friendly) chef who will make eggs in whatever way you like. I generally had Thai style omelette. We had lunch there on several occasions and found the selection to be very good, particularly the Thai options, which is what you would expect from a Thai establishment. Having read some reviews based solely on pizza we decided to have one one afternoon, wondering how a pizza could be so bad. I can say it wasn't the best pizza I've had in my life, but certainly wasn't the worst. The restaurant staff a generally decent people if not a little aloof on first meeting but I found that our usual friendly approach worked well and before long we were getting on very well. We never ate here at night opting to walk or scooter to Lamai.

The site
The beach in front of the restaurant is clean and the sea water clear and warm. Beach sellers pass by but a the friendliest I've ever encountered. One fella that passes by carries a ridiculously heavy rig which contains an ice box and another box with coals for roasting corn. He will do pineapple, mango, corn. All very nice and very cheap. He's a pleasure to watch at work. The pool is a decent size and is suitable for swimming at around 15m. On most days it was crystal clear and a nice temperature. We always found there to be plenty of sun loungers available. The site is set in woods and the grounds are being swept every day. There is an interesting selection of wildlife in the area. A snake fell from a tree onto my wifes back on day one, on the beach. Interesting. We also saw a 5ft coconut snake slither off under our bungalow. There were also, lizards and geckos flitting around. We were fully aware that we were in a tropical island and therefore there was a chance we would see some of the wildlife. We were not let down. There were some domesticated cats and a couple of dogs who were friendly and I dare say help maintain the balance on the site as they do throughout Thailand. Much has been written of the hills. There is a steep hill which is the road that runs down from reception to the restaurant / pool but there is also a set of steps which are not too much problem for anyone who is of even moderate fitness. While we were staying at Bill Resort we were the only UK guests which for us was no problem. The majority were Russian or German.

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel for anyone who hasn't been to Koh Samui and is happy to take the short walk along the beach to the busier areas of Lamai, or a short walk onto the road and into the busier part of Lamai. There were a few families with young children and they all seemed to have great fun here. It is clean and tidy and is a good base to get out and see just how amazing the rest of Koh Samui is.

Room Tip: The bungalows a good and help to make you feel your not on top of other guests
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eZandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Bill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 254 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Bill's resort twice.( 2009 and 2012 ). Unfortunatelly second time the resort was packed with russian package tours, so we were quite happy to move away from that area. Except that Bill Resort it not a bad option. It's got nice beach, nice bungallows and rooms, but food is very avarage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viki273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent the day here. We wanted to use their sun beds which were free provided you bought drinks from the bar. Having bought a couple of drinks we decided to have lunch in the restaurant. Big mistake was ordering pizza. It was terrible far too much tomato, had to search for the pineapple and to top it off it was cold in the middle. The staff did not seem too friendly in the restaurant.

Use of the sunbed's was great as once we had bought a drink they were free and they were in a good spot, however I will stick to drinks in future!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

i stayed at Bill resort several weeks ago when i arrived in Samui. i have stayed in Chaweng previously and i found Lamai beach to be quite relaxing and peaceful compared to Chaweng beach which is quite crowded at this time of the year - high season. For the price i think the bungalows are lovely! i really like the design of the rooms and the beachside restaurant was a pleasure to have breakfast in. yeh same days the sea was abit rough but i enjoy the ocean and being lulled to sleep at night by it. the best part of my day was sunrise and sunset ( though you cant see the sunset you can see the colors in the sky and sea). If you want luxury and western service-this place is not for you. i would stay here again mainly for the awesome views however would see if the beachfront rooms available at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: beach front room are awesome views but theres only a couple and they can be pricey during high seaso...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLI A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

the resort sits on a hill so youll probably have a real hike getting to and from the sea. Sits on the end of lamai beach wich is pretty far, up and down from lamai happening and night life.
dirty pool. poor english. overpriced restorant specially breakfast.
been overcharged. charged me additional night. realized next day wouldnt hear about it.. terribly overpriced boat&mbus ticket to koh phare nagn (450bht).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamjanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for several nights in January 2013.
The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was ok, but the tap was loose and the shower was weak, but hey, this is Thailand, get used to it :p

The breakfast at the restaurant was nice, they had a good selection of food and freshly made pancakes by a superb chef who was also a nice guy and very chatty.
The beach was lovely although in Jan & Feb the winds are quite strong so I was unable to go swimming, nothing the hotel can do about that one I am afraid.
Because the place is in quite a nice natural setting, on the quieter side of Lamai there is quite a lot of background noise in the evening, from the sea and the animals, so take ear plugs with you!
My ONLY criticism was that the bed was rock hard, just a nice mattress topper would have made it better.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and when I checked out days earlier than I had booked (Because I wanted to move to Chaweng) they accommodated me with no hassle and no HIDDEN expenses like so many other places would have done.

There is a place across the main road that hire out a jeep for 800 Baht per day, but test it first, the one they gave me was knackered and did not turn properly (Just an heads up)

Room Tip: If you go early in the year be aware of the strong winds, the sea may keep you awake at night as it...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and booked an air con room. Although it was a little more expensive then other places in the area, it was very nice. The room was comfortable, the air con was great.

If staying in the area, have a look around for other places that have air con as it might be a little more cheaper, but all in all a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powersmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#41 of 51 in Lamai Beach
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#35 of 63 in Maret
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#37 of 51 in Lamai Beach
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 51 in Lamai Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Resort

Address: 127 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $21 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bill Hotel Lamai Beach
Bill Hotel Koh Samui
Bill Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing