We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go if a backpacker or with a young family”
Review of Bill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bill Resort
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only go if a backpacker or with a young family”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff at reception had poor English. The resort itself was old and dated and desperately needed an upgrade. Breakfast was rubbish. We stayed in a bungalow which was cramped and suffocating. Kids everywhere. Pool was revolting. For what we paid a backpackers hostel would have been nicer. Beach was nice but on the lowest end of nice for lamai.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse_janny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    108
    54
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
89
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The resort has a great location, and the bungalows were quite nice, clean.
Nothing was stolen, water was hot, and the linen was clean.
Breakfast buffet was a nice touch.
The provide a shuttle to the main road so you can grab a taxi, or you can rent a motorbike for 200baht a day.

Room Tip: Rooms 120,121 a joined which is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Never again! Maybe the resort itself is good but had there the worse pizza (so they call it) in my life and although my friend' s masaman was ok I am not forgetting they charged 250thb for what is an insult to Italian cuisine. Personel was already packing although 2 other tables where still eating.
To be avoided

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very good place situated at the top of Lamai beach so, when you do decide to explore you're in an ideal location. Swimming pool was clean and well kept with a nice cool jacuzzi.

Staff friendly and helpful and rooms are well kept with good air conditioning. Make sure you bring anti mosquito spray as the bugs in that region are a lot worse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hi,just sepnt 12 nights a bill resort August 2012. This place is like a home away from home. We had a great family bungalow (connecting) room 122 & 123 located only metres from the pool and a few more metres to the lovely beach (best piece of beach along that stretch)
While we were there the owner BILL was there. I think it says a lot when the owner is hanging around and keeping an eye on things. All the staff were very helpful and a happy bunch, willing to please you from morning to night. If you are looking for a 5 star place this is not for you but in my eyes it is just the place that you can treat like home and feel comfortable. bill resort is in the quieter area of Lamai but only a short walk up the beach and through the vacant lot and your in the thick of it. There a plenty of restaurants along the beach to chose from and very reasonably priced.( Restaurant at Bill Resort is also reasonable and good). If you are booking here , the better positioned bunglows are near the pool and beach (otherwise, its a walk down to pool or beach and then back up a hill to your room) from what I saw , most of the rooms looked good and well kept, Mr Bill did say that over the coming months a few were being renovated. We hired a little suzuki jeep from the resort (A$24.00 a day all inclusive), it was well worth it as there were 3 of us and a trip into Chaweng for the 3 of us was about 400 baht one way . With the jeep we got to exlore the whole island at our own pace, stop wherever and whenever we liked. For the two weeks we spent $A45.00 on petrol and saved our legs plenty of k's and climbs up the hill to reception. We would definately stay at Bill Resort again.

Room Tip: rooms near pool or beach are best location, otherwise you have a hill to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place was very quiet and greatly located. We could walk to the main town area along the beach and buy fruit at the market. It was also close the the grandmother/grandfather rocks. Very good rooms and great service. The staff offered umbrellas for getting around. Also the rooms are high up on a hill. so safer from tsunamis, just in case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taisia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel isn't bad. The bungalows are very cute, the restaurant and pool are very good, staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and its located right on Lamai Beach.

Only fault would be that it is quite far from the center of town.
But its would be a perfect place to stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of the "touristy" area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinf0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#42 of 50 in Lamai Beach
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#36 of 50 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Lamai Beach
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Resort

Property: Bill Resort
Address: 127 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bill Hotel Lamai Beach
Bill Hotel Koh Samui
Bill Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing