We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in Lamai?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best value for money in Lamai?”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were 2 families who stayed there for 11 nights. The plan was not 11 nights though, but due to full moon party on Ko Pah Ngan there was a change in travel plans. We stayed in the main building on the top floor. We thought that was the best choice when considering privacy and bugs. The space between the building must be the best on whole Lamai beach. The path from the reception down to the beach is surrounded by building on each side. It must be 50-60 meters wide, planted by palm trees. The pool area is really nice and the restaurant is placed just on the beach. (Elevated from the beach though). The rooms are normal sized with an OK bathroom. There is a shower curtain, which is always disgusting, except when it is brand new. The breakfast is adequate, with fresh fruits, eggs in different styles made on your request, cereals and hot Thai food. The staff at breakfast seems to be a little slow. (but nice). The receptionists was very helpful and having late check out was not any problem.
Of course I will recommend this hotel based on the price, location and space between buildings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noord holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We enjoyed the sea view and the pool daily. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff polite and wonderful with our children. Quite and relaxed area in Lamai which you can enjoy with your family. Convieniently located next door to a great and quality massage place(number one massage).

Again great place for a family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

great location. great pool- straight onto beach. umbrellas arent very good- keep blowing over and could damage guests- needs to be addresses. we stayed there for 10 days and then another 6 nights after another trip to Tao. staff were friendly, except for one of the receptionists/cashiers who tried to charge us for minibar drinks that we didnt drink and got a bit cross that we wouldnt pay!! breakfasts were included and decent- nice fruit selection, eggs to order and other thai options- perfectly adequate and served outside on terrace on inside- good value for the low price.. we paid 1300baht for a double bungalow- was a bit old, but was cute- and had air con and nice and clean! free wifi would have made it perfect!! its easy to walk to good restaurants or the night market for supper- so not forced to eat always at the resort..
would recommend it if you want good value for money and a good location though still quiet section of beach..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed at their only two beachfront bungalows. It was not impressive. The best thing was the terrase towards the beach. But you have to share it with the other bungalow. We did not use the room a lot. It was veery old and torn down. The bathroom was not good. I have lived in many low standards bungalows in Thailand and i think this one was way to pricy. Location okay, but i will go for some of the other resorts nearby, because the beach is okay.

  • Liked — View from the bungalow
  • Disliked — all other things
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Gaungzhou China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The hotel is in a good location on Lamai as the entrance is right on the shopping/restaurant strip and the well presented grounds go through to the beach. The other positives are that the pool and restaurant areas are good, the food / breakfast also good. The negatives are the rooms and staff service levels. I booked three glass front Bungalows for family and friends. They look OK at first glance but on close inspection are shabby, dirty and in dire need of upgrade/ rebuilding, particularly the “bathrooms”. I expressed my dissatisfaction and looked at other rooms because I was happy to pay more if they were better but they were only marginally better and also needed a lot of work to bring them to an acceptable level. Staff were generally well intentioned and quite friendly but are poorly trained and lack customer service focus. When I asked the staff to reconfirm flights they sent me to their office over the road – not good when it’s raining. It cost 100 baht, which may be a little scam, but I was annoyed that the service level was so poor that the satff would not make a phone call to reconfirm their guest’s flights. I think that reflects the management style. It’s a shame because with some further investment in the rooms and staff training it could be a great spot. I’ll go elsewhere next time in Samui.

  • Liked — The pool/ retsurant area/ location
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colhelshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Needed a place to stay after my original booking was unacceptable. The front entrance is nothing special, but when you go through reception and down to the pool/beach, its a nice green area with views of the beach. Stayed in the main building - rooms are good - nothing flash. Comfortable and clean. Don't know what the bungalows are like. Shower is OK - you've got to press the button to get the hot water. Aircon has only one temp - full blast! That was the only annoying thing as got really cold, then when switched off, was too stuffy. Kept on getting in and out of bed to turn off and on!! Staff are really great and friendly. Breakfast is down in the restaurant near the pool and very good (I judge breakfast by bacon "crispiness" and this was 4/5!). Pool was great and right near beach. Great location at the quiter end of lamai. Pull up one of the lounge chairs and bake. Umbrellas have a tendency to run free so make sure they hammer them down into the sand. Good value for the price (1800b/night). Would definitely stay there again. Food at the little restaurant (sripak?) to the right of the hotel entrance is great. Family owned - cooked on spot and 50b for pad thai! Laundry facility to left of entrance, across road. Don't bother with the tailor opposite the hotel - more trouble than its worth!

  • Liked — pool and beach
  • Disliked — aircon!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank isys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.0 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#44 of 50 in Lamai Beach
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#37 of 62 in Maret
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#36 of 50 in Lamai Beach
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kingston Jamaica
#19 of 46 in Lamai Beach
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai House Beach
Lamai House Beach
#38 of 40 in Lamai Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Beach Resort

Property: Golden Sand Beach Resort
Address: 124/2 Lamai Beach | Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Golden Sand Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing