We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in wonderful settings”
Review of Lamai Wanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel in wonderful settings”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. I was staying with my boyfriend on the island and had prebooked Lamai Wanta for 4 days to start our trip. Everything was great - lovely room, welcoming staff and a nice location off the busy strip but very easily accessible. The pool was never too busy and we always managed to get sun loungers together. There was a nice mixture of couples and families and everyone was very friendly. It is directly on the beach so we felt we had the best of both worlds. We travelled to Koh Tao for a few days then came back to the hotel (having booked into another on Samui and left during the check in process as the staff were so rude) and we were so happy we did so. Can't rate Lamai Wanta highly enough and would definitely come back and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Nearer the pool the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    252
    87
    15
    9
See reviews for
100
216
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The whole process of booking the rooms to arranging the pick-up with the 500 Baht taxi went so smoothly even although we arrived late 10pm everything went smoothly at check-in. This is a small resort in the heart of the town however there is no noise from the bustling street life. Pool was rather small but it was under used since a lot of the customers were Thai. Restaurant was another hidden jem were you could sit having a lovely meal over looking the pool onto the beach. We choose to hire a car which we organised with hotel and it turned up on time and hassle free at hand back stage. We did have a power failure due accident in he main road which balked out the neighbourhood, the hotel was quick to hand out hand lamps to all the rooms. Rooms were clean although basic there is a safe deposit box in the room, bed are lovely and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weescotsguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for our honeymoon. Initially we were in a room which was ok however it was up the stairs, this was a little awkward for my husband who has had a knee replacement. We were then placed into our original request of a bungalow and that made the end of our honeymoon wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyPaul3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot in Lamai Beach. But it is getting old. The price is a bit much for what you get. There are no phones in the rooms we stayed in. The television reception is poor. The channel selection is also pretty ordinary but standard at the price.

My bathroom smelled of stale urine. My friends' rooms didn't have that problem though. Otherwise well cleaned rooms.

Aircon works well.

Restaurant is standard for the area. But I'd recommend a 50m walk up the soi to the Bakery place just before the pub on the corner for good local food at a reasonable price.

The staff were fine.

Breakfast is reasonable and standard for the price.

It's just a shame that a little bit of maintenance wouldn't go amiss.

Tip - if you book via the website, there's a free airport transfers which will save about $12 per person and will avoid the inevitable stuff around when the Clampett family from Russia end up in the wrong shuttle from the airport...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the staff were also very courteous. The restaurant had good food at reasonable prices as well. The pool was clean and the beach was raked daily. Scooters were available to rent at the front desk which made getting around very easy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelightedtoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights, bungalow room was very spacious but was dark. However not in the room for long periods. The hotel is very relaxing with all you need two minutes away. Staff are lovely friendly and helpful. Downside is there is no atmosphere at night, the bar closed at nine pm.

Breakfast usual stuff but looks less interesting than what is available outside the hotel. For the price cannot complain too much. Pool needs a clean though.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NSTSAFETY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this was my second stay at the wanta and i must say i was a little disappointed this time, the room rate has gone up and the standard has gone down, i may have been in an older part of the hotel this time but my room looked as if it needed a right good coat of paint, there was black mould in the shower area and the towels looked grey, having said that it is still a nice place to stay all the staff are pleasant the rooms are set amongst lovely gardens and the pool area is lovely, breakfast is served between 07.00 and 10.30 with a selection of juices, omlettes, cereal, fried dishes and thai dishes, the hotel is just a short walk from all the nightlife and shops, so all in all i would say give it a go and enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#32 of 50 in Lamai Beach
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Property: Lamai Wanta
Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing