We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good central location, on the beach!”
Review of Lamai Wanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good central location, on the beach!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at Lamai Wanta hotel from 22nd Jan 2013 for the first 3 of a six night stay on the island of Koh Samui, I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I was not disappointed, what a lovely pleasant hotel in a great location right on the beach and a 2 min stroll to the high street which you can see from the hotel entrance. The hotel has a nice relaxed feel with pretty grounds leading to hotel rooms, Infinity pool is nice size with a beach towel service along side, nice touch, other hotels should take note!

Staff provided the usual friendly Thai service we all expect, I stayed room only so can’t comment on their buffet breakfast, I had a few lunch time meals from the hotel restaurant which were good.
This is a good quality 3 star hotel which is great value for money which I would definitely use again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpool63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    241
    83
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
210
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my 5th time staying at Lamai Wanta since 2010. Still well maintained. Discreet but friendly, helpful staff. Rooms still in good condition, minimalist but comfortable.

Breakfast selection is ok, but good enough. It is the location of the restaurant with the perfect sea breeze that always makes it a pleasure to eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar road for a better nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice pool close to the beach. Was a bit small though.

Good beach which wasn't too busy but big waves that can knock you over ... so not much swimming in the sea, I'm afraid. Massage on the beach starts at Bht 250.

Adequate rooms and comfortable beds. A 5-10 minute walk to Lamai town for shops, restaurants etc.

Staff are friendly. Food was fine. Breakfast offerings did not change much over the 4 days I was there. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunkuHalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Lamai Wanta is located right on the beach and is made up of a few small buildings and several bungalows. I was located in the building at the back of the compound. The room was fine but I would recommend that you request a room in one of the buildings closer to the beach. The rooms were clean and simple and had free wifi and a safe inside. The breakfast was included and had a good selection to get you started every day. There were plenty of sun loungers for everyone so issues at all getting one.

Be warned that if you are eating at the restaurants on the beach right next to the hotel, although the food is quite good the service is extremely slow. Be prepared to wait close to 1 hour plus to get your food.

This trip was the first time that I had flown into Surat Thani instead of Samui Airport and I must say I wouldn't do that journey again. From the Airport in Surat Thani you can buy a ticket at the airport and gets you right to the pier on Samui for I believe 350 Baht. It's a long journey and not really worth the extra time in my mind. We had booked a transfer with the same operator to get us from the pier in Samui to Lamai beach for another 150 baht per person. On the return journey back, we got a taxi from the hotel for 500 baht right to the pier. From there you just buy a ticket at the pier for 150 baht each to get to the other side. If you're lucky you'll arrive at a time when there is a bus straight to the airport but most likely you'll end up having to take a bus to Surat Thani town (100 baht) and then an airport bus from the town to the airport or take a Tuktuk/Taxi (400 baht). Where bus from the airport drops you off, the bus to the airport leaves within a block from there. It's not marked at all so you'll need to ask around.

Room Tip: Get a room in a building closer to the beach. The rooms at the back are facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited some friends who lives close to Lamai beach so I don't have a lot comments related to the bars and resturants in the area next to the hotel. The hotel was just like another beach hotel no more no less. Pool was ok and next to the resturant and beach. Beach as such was quite busy. Service was ok although some staff could not understand English. Breakfast was as expected. We had a "De Lux Room" but there is no "De Lux" associated with it.
All in all - quite average.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back end of the resort since they are next to the Jetski repair- and maintena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoLeWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I know this resort from his grand opening 9 years ago. I would say that i stayed in the first sea view villa - no building, restaurant or swimming pool.

Since then, I always stay at lamai wanta when i'm coming to Samuai (every year). The location is perfect - rather than other beaches, this hotel is in the centrer of lamai beach and you would think because the closeness to the main road you will have noises, surprisedly it's extremely quite.

Just imagine you having breakfast when the view of the sea just in front of you - with enjoyable food.

Whether you are looking for an adventure holiday as a couple or looking for a solo vacation Lamai wanta is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Right on the beach front in Lamai and close to lots of bars, restaurants. We found the rooms clean and spacious, even with the extra bed. The well planted grounds means mosquitoes were a problem, the rooms should be sprayed more often. The pool was ok and right on the beachfront. My wife had a good massage from them on the beach and our friends rented scooters easily. We got a good deal on the room price and we enjoyed our 3 night stay with 2 small kids, we'll probably consider coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbozmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Property: Lamai Wanta
Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing