We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise for a budget hotel!”
Review of Lamai Wanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lamai Wanta
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise for a budget hotel!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We loved our 7 day stay at Lamai Wanta. Our expectations weren't high as the daily rate was so low - and when we arrived late and were taken to our beautiful private suite by two well-dressed porters I thought I had a mistake.

The hotel is right on the beach, with a lovely pool and restaurant overlooking the sea. The gardens are lush and well-maintained giving one the impression that you're away from the hustle and bustle, when in fact you are at the centre of a very 'happening' spot. Our room was at the back, and not ground level which gave us privacy. Room was spacious, beautifully decorated, light and clean. Private balcony furnished with lovely wood suite.

The only downside were the Russian tourists who hogged all the loungers under the tree and growled at anyone who would attempt to share their shade and those awful sex-tourists (white, old, flabby and socially inept men) with their young Thai escorts (easily identifiable by the evident language barrier and age difference) - but this applies to Koh Samui as a whole.

Tip: Breakfast at the Aussie bar on the corner was delicious and carried us through to dinner time.

I highly recommend Lamai Wanta and will visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    243
    83
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
211
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really enjoyed this stay. Full of atmosphere and the location and pool was excellent. Lamai is a very busy place at night and very fun. Certainly a great night out

The resorts service was also very good and I highly recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 293974Mohdakbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were booked into Lamai Wanta for 2 nights tonight and tomorrow night and we were really looking forward to our visit however with electricity blackout on the island for a few days due a damaged cable under the sea we had to cancel our trip and re-arrange our bus / ferry transfer. I want to thank the hotel for accomodating our cancellation at such short notice, we are very grateful to A who we spoke to last night and the lady in reservations this morning.

We hope things get back to normal for the hotel very quickly and we look forward to a visit there on our next trip as we originally booked Lamai Wanta because of the excellent reviews you received. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub_Dee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff were friendly and the cleaning staff were very freindly. The room was nice, although we did not pick a beach front hut, so we were right at the back of the hotel, and we did get a bit of noise from the main road music at night. But the beds were the softest we have had in Thailand, which was very good after sleeping on some that were like cement. Breakfast was very limited, there is no buffet style, although there is bread and rolls and a bit of fruit you can have. The pool was nice and cold, but it would have been good to have it open past 6 or 7 at night. Also there is no shade apart from beach umbrellas, so as it is very hot in Koh Samui it would have been nice if there was some kind of shady trees or pool in part shade as well. The restaurant was also a bit of a let down as well, as it closed at 6.30pm. So if you feel like a nice drink at the pool after dinner, forget it. I have never heard of a restaurant in a hotel closing so early. It is like they couldn't be bothered or don't need the money. So I can't comment on the dinners there as have never tried them. I see now why the bars along the beach not far from them are quite full, as nothing is happening at this hotel. Having said that, the room we stayed in was always cleaned nice, and we had a little balcony that over looked the grounds with lots of greenery. It was nice and peacful. If they just changes a few things like the restaurant times and a bit more shade around the pool, and introduce room service, it would be a nice little place to stay, as it is I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in November. A lovely clean place and had no trouble with noise. Rooms are good and modern with great little balcony. I guess we should have checked first but there is no room service and the last orders for the restrauant are at 6:30pm. Having said that, the location is fantastic and it is a short walk to anything you need. People are lovely and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Oh and the beds were the best we have ever had in Thailand!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the complex and had no issues with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The owner was a real nice Thai lady who was very accommodating with all our request. The room was clean and spacious and the restaurant was very good! The view of the beach is great and it is close enough to walk only a few minutes to the main road in Lamai. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wicked_me_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Overall a well maintained property, the beachfront villas are the best, followed by the pool facing ones. Rooms are great, but ask for fresh linen everyday. Their restaurant serves buffet, so go for it.
Included breakfast buffet, coz there are no other restaurants on the property thats decent to even peep into.. You'd just end up spending more money too if you opt for a meal after you land and their room service is quite sad. You could end up having lunch, walking for breakfast ! Rooms are awesome and so was the attentive staff.

Room Tip: Pick the more expensive rooms, since given the currency exchange, it is still very reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Lamai Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Wanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Wanta

Property: Lamai Wanta
Address: 124/264 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Wanta 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, flowers, smile and momentums of happiness is all about our boutique beach resort “Lamai Wanta Beach Resort”.Located at the main coast of Lamai, at the heart of Koh Samui. Lamai Wanta provides a perfect atmosphere to rejuvenate your soul, reward a floral holiday, recharge your batteries and relax at the most cozy private beach of Lamai Wanta. The Boutique Resorts offer 74 most convenient room on floral theme with plush amenities and spacious size of bed. A floral sunbath, and smile therapies are just a few activity to name about, but lots to see when you are here. Reawaken your freshness of mind with the subtle rhythms of waves softly lapping the pristine aroma of herbs and flower. Enjoy the warmness of hospitality Lamai Wanta Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamai Wanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Wanta Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Wanta Beach
Lamai Wanta Hotel Beach
Lamai Wanta Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing