We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place without the construction going on”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place without the construction going on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resort is located right of the beach, but there is some major construction going right at the beach. To access the beach or the pool we had to walk past the construction, construction materials and construction worker which ruined the experience. The beach itself was nice and quiet though the sea was quite rough compared to other beaches on the island.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location in Lamai was also good, close to everything you need but still away from the busy Chaweng area.

The room itself was quite good, clean and a good size. However the bed was terrible, you could feel the springs by just laying your hands on it. Needless to say we couldn't sleep and had a terrible backache the whole time. There are also hundred of lizards on the walls/celing which may not bother some but terrified me to get to the room walking under them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    142
    53
    21
    29
See reviews for
37
199
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've stayed here for 3 days and got what we expected when we saw photos and reviews on the internet.:)
The place is a bungalow resort just at the beach with its own pool and restaurant, you get fresh pool towels each day and maids clean your room every day. You can make coffee or tea in the room and sit on a little porch to enjoy the morning before going to breakfast.
The bed is really big, but the cushions are hard as rock so you might have problems with your neck in the morning. But it is such a minor thing, depending on the taste of people that you can't just take it for minus.
I gave the location 5**** since I appreciate peace and quiet, but it is pretty far from the main Lamai walking street so those who like partying and drinking, find another place to stay. Yes, you can rent a motorbike here but don't drunk driving.
The place is run by an Englishman who welcomes you on your arrival and the place is altogether very friendly.
No deposit safe in the room, but you can place them at the reception desk.
And beware of giant mosquitos everywhere on Thailand, put on a repellent lotion!
I'd stayed here again! Sooo nice:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notanotherbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at Samui Beach Resort and the location was perfect - right on Lamai beach, the best area in Samui. We stayed in an ocean view room over New Years and in the six nights we were there the staff became like a family to us. John went out of his way to do everything he could for us and Poo and the other guys from the bar made us feel right at home. The room was immaculate and newly renovated with AC, a nice bathroom, and a huge TV (not that we ever had to use it!). Treat the people here with kindness and respect and you'll have a home away from home to return to for years!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed there one night, quite tricky to find behind another hotel if you come by yourself. Staff was friendly, showed me around hotel which is right at the beach, pool and restaurant with ocean view. Rooms are ok sized and clean. Kitchens closed around 8pm so drinks only after that. Party/restaurant area is about 5 minutes by taxi. Nothing fancy but totally alright for a few nights..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolltreppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

What can I say ' well we cancelled 2 hotels just to come back to here ' I love everything about this place ' it's just absolutely perfect 'felt like a home away from home ' great location 'the most amazing food you could eat 'especially the pad thai ' out of this world & to wash it down with a glass of Chang !looking out at the beach !just want to say thanks to yve john & staff for making our stay enjoyable ' counting down the days till I'm back 'really missing this place happy new year to you all :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Des Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

i was a litte late booking my samui new year trip and then i found samui beach resort on line , WOW, amazing beachfront rooms WOW.
i was really impressed any closer too the beach and i would have got my shoes wet.
the management and staff could not have been more helpfull, along with free beach towells and loungers.
what a great place to spend a week or so,
i will be back.
thank you samui beach resort

Room Tip: beach front are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

i rarely give awful reviews as can mostly find the good in a place to at least give a balanced view. I cannot on this occasion say anything good about this resort.

- i booked for 13 nights, of which my first 6 were to be spent alone. they clearly gave me the worst room from the off as i was placed in a room directly next to the staff quarters, where they all keep exotic song birds that do not stop singing, even to draw air. it felt like i was living in the middle of some beserk bird colony.
- my next room had a broken air conditioner, door lock and shower
- my third room within my first 24 hours was apparently an 'upgrade' to a bungalow with a half finished bathroom, and an airconditioner that was more of a fan to say the least. two massive spiders the size of my hand were great companions.
- the entire front of the hotel on the beach is under construction from morning til late, none of this was explained at booking or at check in. the pathway through the length of the resort is being paved with cement & builders everywhere, it truly is like living on a construction site.
- my bungalow neighbours spent 3 nights entertaining two thai ladies LOUDLY in their room and on the balcony between the delightful hours of 12am - 4:30am, fuelled by copious amounts of alcohol and the rest. this resort should be advertised as a backpackers paradise not a quiet / off the beaten track hotel.

all of this would be understandable or tolerable if it werent for the rudeness of the reception staff. every request is treated as though asking for the donation of a kidney & yet it is the resort with some explaining to do.

absolutely never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolecostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Blu' Beach Bungalows
#30 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Property: Samui Beach Resort
Address: 124/11 Moo 3 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing