We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely resort! Was a last minute choice as we arrived in koh samui three days before our hotel could accommodate us to my annoyance. I emailed the resort to establish a few things and the owner replied (a truly charming decent man!) he explained what room we would have and arranged an airport pick up for us which was way more reasonable than doing it ourselves.
The location is perfect a 2 minute if that drive to lamai beach which has a few more bars and cares etc or ideally can be sought by walking along the beach for a few minutes.
On arrivals the lovely receptionist informed us that the owner had upgraded us From a standard ac room to an ac garden view bungalow which was lovely! Huge bed,clean, flat screen tv with clear channels and huge clean bathroom as well as fridge and hot drink bits and bobs. Best room we've stayed in during our travels and an absolute bargain.
The pool and restaurant area was a mere 20 second walk from our hut and quiet even at night. The restaurants had a decent menu with the western to thai mix of food and drink. Couldn't fault the resort was perfect, thanks guys!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    142
    53
    21
    29
See reviews for
37
199
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a nice stay here in June 2013. Huge room, good air con, massive bed! Bathroom was clean and nice enough! Nice patio area with table an chairs outside room. Resort is cute and quirky with nice garden areas with different statues dotted around! Pool was nice and seemed clean! We were there in low season so it was quiet and some rooms were undergoing renovations but we weren't affected by the noise at all!

Pool bar has good food at reasonable price and staff were lovely! Especially one lady who always came and had a chat and a laugh!

Great location on beautiful Lamai beach! Walk along the beach to find other bad and restaurants... It was perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the Samui Beach Resort for 1 week in June and loved it!

The resort is very beautiful and right on the beach. We stayed in a superior bungalow and it was great.

For the price we paid, we thought this resort was spot on! The area is very quiet...as in..VERY! but we didnt mind as this was what we wanted. For a small charge its possible to get a taxi to Chaweng and the madness that is!
The food in the resort was fab and well priced, we ate there for every meal! The staff were a little quiet at first but as we got to know them all, they were great! The rooms were cleaned everyday and if you were not early risers, the staff didnt bother you and came back when you were out to clean. The only small problem we had was the shower gave up after the 5th day but we managed and didnt even bother complaining about it!

Obviously there are bigger and better boutique hotels in Koh Samui so if you want real luxury then perhpas they would suit better but I would have no problem recommending Samui Beach Resort and for sure will stay there again!

Room Tip: I would opt for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When we arrived to the hostel, we wanted to get a room that we found on one of the major booking sites. However, the receptionist offered us a higher price instead of the lower price we found online. So, instead of making it easy for us we had to make a booking online to get the price we wanted. The difference was about 100THB (not much, but still...). After that, the staff was really unhelpful. Also, they pretended to not have a printer when we asked to make a printout of our plane tickets...

(There is a really good guesthouse nearby (Buathong house) where you can get a more spacious room with air con and fridge inlcuding free water for 600TBH where we stayed 2 nights. Also the staff and owners are really friendly and helpful.)

Overall, the place isn't bad. There is a nice little restaurant by the sea with really friendly staff. The pool is not really a pool... but the location just by the sea at Lamai beach is very nice.

Room Tip: Book online in advance! This place is really full! The fan rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Samui Beach Resort in a double private beach hut. The resort was slightly out of town but the main town was easily accessible in 10-15 minutes by foot via the beach. Our beach hut was just 30 seconds from the pool and bar area which overlooked the beach, probably the closest we have ever stayed to the beach on any holiday. The room was basic and was only fan cooled and did look dated but for 550B a night was exceptional value for money. One of the beach huts was currently being renovated and looked very swanky, we just hope the prices don't rocket when they are all complete. You would be hard pushed to find anywhere else on the beach front in Lamai that offers such good value for money. We would recommend Samui Beach Resort to other travellers.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Samui Beach Resort for 4 nights and loved it! The bungalows and rooms are set in a lush tropical garden which are a few steps away from the beach.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. By the time we came back from breakfast, the room was already serviced, we couldn't have asked for more.

And the pool was perfect! You could lounge in and around the pool while overlooking the beach. And with the restaurant right by the pool, you could enjoy great food while taking in the views.

The owner and staff were very friendly and efficient. Anything we needed was dealt with straight away (information, bookings, etc).

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to stay. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJI1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not be more impressed by this place. It is set in a very quiet part of town, near the Grandfather and Grandmother rocks and has the most amazing pool and beach right on your door step.

The rooms are located amongst a tropical garden with some great statues along the way. They were very big, super clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and right by the beach.

The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly and even gave us a lift into town one afternoon.
We will def come back and visit them again one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Blu' Beach Bungalows
#31 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Property: Samui Beach Resort
Address: 124/11 Moo 3 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samui Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing