We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach front resort on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Beach Resort to your Saves list
Samui Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   124/11 Moo 3 T Maret Lamai, , 84140 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best beach front resort on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Positives: Price, beachfront location, clean rooms. Negatives: both very minor - sometimes unreliable wifi in room, restaurant food mediocre.

Much of Ko Samui's beachfront is taken over by high-end resorts, leaving those of us on a budget to find a place that doesn't require walking too far to access the beach. Fortunately, Samui Beach Resort is literally right on Lamai Beach. Even better is a nice pool and restaurant right on the beach. We stayed in one of the remodeled bungalows, 40 steps from the pool. It was very clean, housekeeping was on-top-of-it, AC was nice refrigerator, hot water pot, free instant coffee, tea, TV. The only issue was the electrical wiring to the bathroom - sometimes the switch worked...sometimes we had to hit the box quite hard to make the connection. Our other minor issue was the spotty wifi. It wasn't always reliably working in our room. Oh well. The property rents out scooters for 200 baht/day - well worth it to get around town. The restaurant on site was so-so. Our pizzas were burnt. Chicken salad came with the driest, smallest, flattest strips of chicken that I thought it was chicken jerky. It was inedible. Prices are basic resort food prices, but you can walk 2 minutes to the main street and find 2 authentic Thai restaurants where we ate most of our meals for less 250 baht/2 people including drinks! If you want a swanky experience, walk south on the beach for 3 minutes, climb onto the rocks towards the pink neon Dinky Rock Bar sign. Felt like we were in Miami. So, all-in-all, can't find a better place in all of Samui on a budget. We would stay here again for sure. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Remco the dutch manager is awesome. He advised us about car hire and was genuinely a top bloke. A fantastic yet unintrusive presence he is forever helpful..even giving me a lift back to the hotel on the back of his scooter after I dropped the hire car off. Cheap and cheerful accommodation right near to the beach. Nice food from the beachside restaurant with free use of the hotel canoe available to all guests to go and explore the famous grandmother and grandfather rock right next to the hotel. Lovely and quiet with a chilled atmosphere. Just what you want on holiday. We stayed for 3 days during our travels around southern thailand. Go visit there. Remco is a cracking bloke that deserves the business.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatieA_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmurano, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose this hotel based on distance from airport so it wouldbe quiet, but also on the beach. Price. Was great, restaurant was good, massage hut was perfect, right on the sand, I literally had one every day. Hotel owner very involved and attentive we would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank allsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The resort is away from the main street in lamai so it isn't so loud. It is also about 15 walk from the main town in lamai on the beach. The staff here is very nice and the rooms are wonderful. For the price we paid we definitely got a bang for our buck. It was a least 2/3 cheaper than the resort around it and just as nice. The pool is great and so is the restaurant. However a little pricey for travelers on a budget. It is quiet but also fun if you are looking to meet some people. They have their own private beach and free kayaks. Its also located directly next to the grandmother and grandfather rocks. The staff will help you plan any excursion and will went scooters for 200baht a day.

We originally booked two nights but because it was so nice for the price we extended 6 more days. I highly recommend it for anyone on a budget or those just looking for a simple nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The superior bungalows have very thin walls you can hear your neighbors. The Double beds are two tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for one week in mid-August. The owner, Remco, is just a happy-go-lucky guy who makes you feel at ease during the stay. The room was spacious and cheap with strong A/C and fresh linens changed daily. The beach is a 3-4 minute walk from your door and there's also a nice swimming pool that seemed to be popular. It's a bit of a walk to Lamai Town, but the immediate area has some nice mom-and-pop Thai restaurants to try out, there are two convenience stores on the main road and if you head up to the top of the rock formation you can do a lot of souvenir shopping along the way. Plus, the locale made for quiet nights with no distractions. Overall, a great resort for those not wishing to spend a mint on a trip to Ko Samui, with the added bonus of a nice owner and a very chill vibe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Samui Beach Resort ist located on the lamai beach, next to the grandmother and grandfather rocks. We stayed there for three days, in a standard room which was very close to the beach. They also have an very nice pool and a restaurant (which is a little bit expensive). You also get free beachtowels every day! The room and the bathroom were clean and it was also very quite at night. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tillandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamai Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

the resort is , in my more than ten years experiencev as a visitor to the thai islands, head and shoulders above the others i have stayed at.
the owner- manager, a dutchman, seems never to sleep- he is always around and available to help with any and all questions and problems- in mt opinion- the ultimate manager.
i am staying for a month, so my opinion is rather well rounded and i believe reflects the opinion of all who are lucky enough to stay here.
the restaurant serves tasty value for money meals, the rooms are practical and the entire resort is spotless. the most proffesionally managed resort i have visited, and this encludes america- where i spent three months touing and staying in motels that did not come close.
bottom line- great place- location-beach-price.

Room Tip: specify a room with airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.7 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#28 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#18 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 52 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#32 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#22 of 52 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Address: 124/11 Moo 3 T Maret Lamai, , 84140 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Samui Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#