We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Republic The Residences
Nearby Hotels
$147
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
$766
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$61
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$79
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
$190
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manathai Koh Samui(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$60
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
545
178
57
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
178
57
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suitesunday brunch isbedroom penthousedj playingprivate poolhouse musictropical villapillow menukoh samuicoffee machinethe main pool arealarge balconyevery eveningrooms are greatoutdoor showerfantastic staywelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 802 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

2 bed penthouse = amazing

Beautiful room, very clean and spacious very modern with free wifi and docking speakers. Daily treats were also delivered to our room along with a pillow menu made our stay very pleasant :)

Free transfer with our room and drinks on pick up at the airport was very welcoming.

Our only disappointments were some service issues mainly at breakfast orders were mixed up and came out all scattered just seemed to get lost in translation what had been ordered - not to fault the wonderful staff but the manager needed to take more action not just yell at everyone making the mistakes perhaps come and clarify with us what had gone wrong as sending the wrong food back didn't help with getting what u ordered and by the last morning we just took whatever food came out to avoid dramas.

Needless to say the food was very good and the best breakfast I have had in Thailand. Having freshly made breakfast was a nice touch of luxury.

My partner and I stayed with another couple so the penthouse was perfect for us. Well equipped kitchen we whipped up cocktails in the blender and floated around our pool on the balcony. The convenience store next to the hotel was very handy for snacks and drinks

not overly far from chaweng we would get ready for our night out before heading in so we didn't have to travel back and forth. The hotel had a car doing transfers for the same price as a taxi as well as free shuttles.

Staff were all very friendly did have some issues checking out took a long time to settle the bill as we were overcharged from the restaurant. But the staff at reception spoke very good English.

all in all we loved our stay and will definitely return again and recommend the penthouse to others.


  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachem05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments here. I'm very happy and proud to read all the good comments and feedback. I understand your concerns about the quality of service and management in relation to the breakfast. I'm really sorry about this! Since your visit we have changed our management both in the kitchen and restaurant. When you stayed with us we also had just started our new upgraded breakfast and at the same time we had introduced a new order system. It was a time of change, but its much better now. And when the new team is settled in and the new menu and order system are fine tuned, we will be even better. I'm confident we can show you a great improvement upon your next visit. Thank you and I look forward to personally welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A very stylish Beach resort with a fantastic outdoor bar/lounge/restaurant area facing a shallow lagoon which stretches out a fair distance.

Suite style rooms a bit far away from the lounge but very spacious, well styled and comfortable. Very clean and the beds and pillows extremely comfortable.

The food at the restaurant is very good and the Lamb Massaman is highly recommended.
The Sunday Brunch is advertised heavly, but not as outstanding as expected with a rather limited spread.

The highlight is the beautiful out door lounge area which is decked in colours of cane, white and the hotel's trademark Red. Fabulous for relaxing on the sunbeds and sheathed beds facing an open and unpopulated beac and sea scene.

Services levels for the rooms as well as the restaurant are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gishanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We book a day promotion at Beach Republic which included lunch, a massage, use of the fitness centre and lounging at the pool. Food and massage were excellent plus relaxing at the pool with great see view & music was great!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John_O_1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived on Sunday to an efficient pickup and check-in and took advantage of the great brunch overlooking the beach. That set the scene for this holiday. We have stayed in quite a few nice places in SE Asia and this is a highlight. A beautiful pool villa with friendly attentive staff, long safe beach and great food is hard to beat. We loved stepping from the bedroom into our pool. Very luxurious.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Led by a fabulous website, we booked the Four Bedroom Presidential Pool Villa for our family. We were attracted by the large villa pool, which we thought our kids would love. The villa presents very well visually in the web photos, however having stayed there for a week, its age became obvious. Our assessment is that it looks in excess of 10 years old, so be aware of this when booking, as you will not have the same quality of accommodation as the "Modern" villas (which rate more highly on Tripadvisor).

Issues we had include door handles not working at all (maintenance fixed within 12 hours), other door handle covers falling off, swollen doors jamming in the frames, sliding doors not working at all as they have come out of the frame (refer attached photos), gas tank for cooktop leaked gas, light fitting broken, upstairs aircon tubing leaked over downstairs bathroom vanity unit, upstairs aircon unit aged and noisy, impossible to watch TV due to poor reception (thank heavens for the free wifi and IPad, and the free DVD library which were great), the roof has been patched in a number of places with fencing wire.

It would be great if the Beach Republic spent some of their very large marketing budget on maintenance of the older units.

We were also very concerned about the safety of the circular stairs leading upstairs, as these were extremely steep and narrow, making them nearly impossible to climb (in the end we all climbed them like they were a ladder, as this seemed the safest).

The main issue which impacted the enjoyment of our stay, was the constant and overwhelming stench of sewerage - this made sitting outside or swimming in the pool almost impossible. We bought and burned hundreds of incense sticks to try and overcome the stench, without success. This became a real issue, as this villa's lounge seating and dining areas are outside, so it was almost impossible to eat or sit outside. Unfortunately, there is no seating to speak of in the bedrooms, so it wasn't really an option to sit inside (unless on the beds). During our stay, two different sewerage trucks attended the restaurant and spa, but made no impact on the horrendous smell.

Unfortunately, issues with the smell of the place extended to the rooms also. One of the downstairs bedrooms constantly smelled of cigarette smoke, and alternatively whatever else the housekeeping maids were eating in their storage room, directly under the aircon unit intake. The two upstairs bedrooms both had a mouldy/musty smell (perhaps the exposed roof?). Again, we bought room deodorisers, which also had minimal impact.

I totally agree with Krich85 below, the restaurant/bar service is terrible. On our first evening at the pool, it took 40 minutes after ordering to get a [watered down] drink and 50 minutes to get a meal of pad thai and fried rice. This appalling service was consistent each time we ordered anything other than breakfast. There is no visible/active management of the staff, and there seem to be a couple of poor guys who ran like crazy whilst the rest hang out at the bar (yeah - what exactly does the English guy do apart from hang out smoking with the DJ or lounge around the bar?).

We experienced service issues well before the introduction of the new Ipod ordering system (which management, in response to Krich85 below, blamed for the poor levels of service - not true). The implementation of the Ipods occurred on the last 2 days of our stay - so we saw the impact they had, and really the service was as bad as it had always been.

The on site manager seemed to spend her time running after what must be very profitable weddings (of which there were two during the week we were there), and never once engaged with us in the 7 days we were there. Unfortunately, one of us fell ill during the week which required two separate hospital trips for two separate issues. The front desk arranged hotel cars each time (the first time complementary - thank you), but no one ever enquired or followed up as to the well being of our family member. You'd think management would be slightly interested if one of their guests was visiting the hospital...

A highlight of our stay was the Spa, where we enjoyed a number of services, all of which were very good. Other positive elements included:

- In Room Checkin was great
- Front Desk was responsive
- House Keeping was of a good standard
- Free Shuttle to Lamai and Chewang was appreciated
- Hotel Cars were the same price as Taxis (400 bht to Chewang)
- Lounges around the pool were always available - but sorry - not a fan of the repetitive DJ music others seem to enjoy

In summary, we were really disappointed in this hotel and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Don't pick the Tropical villas unless prepared for aging facilities and wildlife in your bathroom and Oh Yes, Take a Gas Mask.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear reviewer. We are always respecting our guests comments and are really sorry when our guests are leaving us unhappy. Your review is very detailed and correct in some ways but also unfair and wrong in some aspects.

We have 39 units and and we have 5 tropical style villas that are by fact as you say older than the rest of our modern units. However three out of those five villas are close to completely newly renovated but still with the tropical feel many guests appreciate. Two more villas to go - including unfortunately the one which you stayed in - and a welcome low season is now here with opportunity to gain access to those two villas for the renovation.

With regard to the service, I do not understand why you experienced such bad service - even with the implementation of the new POS system most guests still received our excellent service. The TV system is being replaced in May.

Thank you for your stay with us and I'm sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, but we hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future and make you as delighted as nearly all our guests are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews