We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great times at Beach Republic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great times at Beach Republic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for the third year running for 2.5 weeks at Beach Republic and this was the best year yet... The staff, especially Tat, Lek, Sing, Nai and Aung are great and really make you feel welcome and are very helpful at all times. The western management team have made significant changes in the last twelve months and it has made a great difference. Julie and her team do a fabulous job on the residences and the housekeeping services are spot on - the evening sweet treats are just a really nice touch. Cannot say enough about how good the rooms are; We stay in the two bed sky pool villa and it is just lush, great sofas and fabulous deck to just chill out on.. It is worthy every penny. Food is always good but the Sunday Sessions buffet is just wonderful with an amazing selection of foods all freshly prepared and all accompanied by nice chill out tunes at the pool...the location is also just right, not too close to the noisy towns but literally five minutes from Lamai and ten minutes from Chaweng, by taxi , car or bike. Local shops and restaurants nearby ensure you are never far from anything but you have a fabulous beachside locations to chill out and enjoy Samui... Not to be missed if you visit Samui

Room Tip: Any of the pool villas or apartments are spectacular and you cannot go wrong....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkijo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    159
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
167
314
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We probably would have enjoyed our stay at Beach Republic a lot more, if we hadnt just come from our favourite place Anantara. Some points below:

- Reservation process – Slow responses to email requests. Also, we didn’t end up using our voucher for a free lunch or dinner. Unfortunately on the day we went to use it, we were informed that we had to order the set menu, however I was not able to eat some of things on the set menu and apparently It was too much trouble to accommodate any changes.

- Check in/check out – The reception area was small and cramped, not a great first impression. During check out the one couch was full, so we were left standing until we requested chairs. Floor space was taken up by other guests’ bags so our bags were left out on the road.

- Room – Our room was good, although the air con was extremely noisy during the night. On our first day I commented to my husband that the bathroom floor tiles appeared to be very slippery, and unfortunately a few days later I slipped in the shower. There are no bars to hold onto so I took a very painful blow to my knee, which is still strained two weeks later. I think the hotel should be more responsible; I suggest installing railings or non-slip titles in the shower.

- Spa – Beautiful waiting area, and I can’t fault the skill of the therapists. Unfortunately that’s where it ends. On both visits to the spa, I was rushed into a room without completing a form disclosing any allergies, medical conditions etc. nor did the therapist ask my about any of these things – unacceptable. The other concerns were smaller, for example not being shown a place to hang up my clothes, not being talked through the procedure, and not being offered refreshment. I would liken the experience to the one I had in a Thai massage place in main Chaweng town (except that cost about 300 baht).

- Staff – For the most part, everyone we dealt with was lovely, particularly the concierge girls at the Beach Club and the drivers we had. However, there were huge difficulties with the language barrier, which I can understand to an extent. At least, I would expect the reception/reservations staff to speak/understand fluent English. Not the case. We struggled to understand them at times and in return received many blank looks.

- Room service - It was a headache to order anything from room service – each time, our order was misunderstood. I was continually calling room service to re-explain myself, send back something I hadn’t requested, or ask for something that wasn’t sent.

- Housekeeping – On our second last day, housekeeping called us out of the blue to ask if we could leave so they could clean our room. This was annoying in itself, but trying to converse with the person on the other end of the line was near impossible – after 3 minutes of trying to communicate she actually hung the phone up on me.

- Best thing about Beach Republic was the Sunday brunch buffet – outstanding. Well done on this one. We thoroughly enjoyed it. DJ, pool area, pool and restaurant staff were all excellent.

- Location - Lamai Beach is truly beautiful but I prefer to stay closer to Chaweng.

All in all, on our next trip to Samui we will be staying elsewhere but booking in for the Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goddess230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay at Beach Republic. Our involved staff members remember you well and it was relatively straightforward to investigate the issues described in your review. I'm sorry to hear that you found our restaurant staff to be not helpful enough when you wanted to change the set menu into something different. Our staff are normally very flexible, but we do have to have some guidelines and when the changes requested are far from that which is included in the package, unfortunately we are not always able to accommodate such requests.

I totally agree that our reception is too small and that is why we have built a new reception in the Beach Club. This new reception has been completed and once the staff are trained we will be able to offer two receptions. The new reception is four times as large as the current reception and has a fantastic ocean view. We are also building a luggage room right now to be able to store our guests luggage in a more effective way. I'm sorry that these new additions were not yet complete during your stay.

It makes me really sad to hear that you slipped in the shower and hurt your knee. We have tried many different rubber mats and grip tapes to prevent our guests from slipping on the wet floors. I have to admit that it has unfortunately not easy to find a long lasting solution. We have just recently sourced rubber mats that are included on the balconies outside the pools in the Penthouses. I am happy to report that these same mats will soon be added to all of our bathrooms.

We have been searching for the right Spa Manager for quite some time and I can only apologies for any shortcomings that you experienced. Normally our girls hold it together very well but I have no excuses for the comments you have. I am however happy to report that we have now signed a contract with a very experienced Spa Manager who will help to take us to the next level.

We are proud of our staff and normally even when speaking to those who don't speak fluent English, with just a little patience, they are able to make themselves perfectly understood. Having said this, many of our staff speak near fluent English and there are also of course native English speaking managers on the premises at all times.

I do hope that you decide to give us another chance and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to show you a better and improved Beach Republic. We take comments from our guests very seriously and you can rest assured that any shortcomings will be swiftly addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 1 night in a modern 1 bedroom & it was lovely,can't fault it at all but....
Stayed 1 night in the 2 bed sky pool villa.
WOW.!!!!!! can't say enough good things about it - it's expensive yes but if you can afford it or like me for a birthday treat it's Amazing.
Huge 50ft balcony with pool ( although cold as it didn't get the sun at all ) huge living room / kitchen with nice sea views & great bathrooms & bedrooms & another bathroom off the lounge.
I would stay here again at the drop of a hat.
Breakfast is varied & very good & the facilities although i wasn't there for long were fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the Sky Pool Penthouses - you won't regret it.!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked early and got a basic apartment which more than adequate for a couple. From start to finish we couldn't have asked for more. The service, friendliness and beautiful private facilities means we will return for sure. Lounging in the sun, only meters from the sand and sea with staff at hand to serve food and drinks all day was fantastic. The resident DJ, daily 2 hour happy hours and two beautiful pools to cool off in, meant this weeks break was one our best ever. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recentlyspent a week here in a lovely sky pool villa.It had 2 bedrooms ( king beds in each room,they had to bring in another bed as we had our two adult children staying with us.and we were under the impression that we would have single beds. It was all worked out in the end even though this caused great confusion.). and 3 huge bathrooms. Fully self contained kitchen and lounge/dining area. Everything was well appointed.The balcony was massive with our own pool.Views out over the sea.Bottled water was provided free every day and there was always a little sweet surprise in your room at night.These villas are at the back of the resort ,so you walk down to the restaurant and pool areas(not far).They have great double day beds which are reserved for their guests as well as single lounges.All towels supplied. There are 2 pools to cool off in,most people do this but there is a beach right in front of the property and it was lovely to swim in the warm water.You could lay on the sand, but no-one does.Along the beach you can find a massage,drinks/bar and restaurants.We dined in at the rsort restaurant a couple of nights,the food was very good quality and reasonably priced by Australian standards.Of course if you want to eat at the local restaurants it is much cheaper.From here you can go into Lamai beach shops or to Chaweng beach(busier and far more popular)It costs about $10 to get to Chaweng,taxis everywhere. We had decided to stay at the quieter beach and were happy with our decision.If you wanted bars,shopping, restaurants galore it was only 15 mins. away. The staff were very helpful and would do anything to make sure you were having a good time. They could also arrange any tours, private cars,taxis that we needed.Happy hour drinks every night was good value.All the tour companies pick up from this resort. The resort also has a gym and spa/massage centre. We did a whole day tour to Angthong National Marine Park,snorkelling,swimming,canoeing(great but very rough seas in Jan.)another to Koh Tao a smaller island,great snorkelling off the main beach,(i would like to go back there) and another day we went to swim in the 2 waterfalls in the centre of the island(fun) by getting our own driver. Its the way to go if you don't want to be rushed by a tour.The only thing that annoyed us a little was the Dj that played most days from 12,it wasn't really our sort of music and it was a bit loud.We would have been happy with no music.

Room Tip: Just check the bedding configurations when you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank startinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic The Residences, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Beach Republic and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Regarding the music, I'm pleased to announce that we have just a few days ago brought on a new Resident DJ Dan Cook. Dan specializes in mellow grooves perfect for relaxing poolside and is a master at matching the tunes to the environment. Dan brings with him over 10 years of DJing experience and Beach Republic is extremely proud to have him on board. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Beach Republic soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

When we decided that the holiday was going to Koh Samui, several pointed at Lamai Beach as the place with small kids and we fell immediately for Beach Republic, which have a unique expression. It was obvious after only a short time on the resort that nothing was oversold and everything was as it is displayed on the website. The villa was very clean, well maintained and generally just super delicious. The terressen at the beach and pool area, up to the restaurant was a perfect contrast with the worm wind, the sound of the ocean and the sound of soft funky jazzy house music from the DJ's created all a very cool and chill atmosphere.
Great cuisine, nice done, tasty wine and cold drinks, this was a holiday we will remember.
A place we want to visit again and recommend to friends and acquaintances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brumsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had such a great time here, and will be back for sure!

The hotel is about 5 mins from the main town in Lamai, and is located on the beach. The feature of this hotel is defiantly the 'beach club' area which is set out with beautiful cabanas and beach chairs facing the ocean. The dj mixes some great chill out tunes while you're laying in the sun sipping on a mojito :) what else could you want!

The rooms are spacious and very clean. There was a comfortable feeling about the room layout.

Scooters can be hired from reception for those who want to head out for dinner or lunch (the hotel restaurant is a little pricey compared to other places in Lamai - as usual).

I think this place is perfect for all ages, and also couples or families! It's a great place to relax and have fun at the same time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABOzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
11.1 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Property: Beach Republic The Residences
Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing