We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service. Better than I expected. Traditional Pool Villa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Republic The Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Republic The Residences
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service. Better than I expected. Traditional Pool Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

In Summary. The hotel service was incredible, the resort and rooms were very very clean, food was really good in quality and variety, rooms were very spacious, modern and well priced. Great for singles, couples and families who want something that has a younger feel to it with a live DJ playing poolside. It is not a full on dance party with 18 year olds running around, most of the days it is laid back funky music adding atmosphere to the resort. The hotel has a great Spa and an average gym area. Highly recommend it.
Now in more detail. As other reviewers point out, Beach Republic is located in Lamai, which is about 15 minutes away from the main strip of Chaweng Beach Road. Lamai for me was not anything special. The hotel is located right on the beach but the beach is average and not exactly an ideal island swim. Initial impressions was this hotel felt more like serviced apartments but as time went on, I fell in love with Beach Republic and all the great staff that made my holiday. Firstly the hotel reception is a bit of a let down, looking more like a sales office than an exotic Thai resort. The accommodation is split into 3 distinct types. The majority are in an apartment like building with all room types very spacious and modern. Very stylish, great furniture and if anything negative, lacks the traditional "resort, hotel' feel. Then you have the older style pool villas. We stayed in one of those. Unbelievable how big these Villas are. The plunge pool is more like a normal home pool and loved by my 9 year old boy and us. You would be hard pressed to find such accommodation in Samui, especially for the price. The design is a standard size room down the bottom next to the pool, with a second bedroom on top. The downside is that the toilet and kitchen are outdoors and are exposed to mosquitos, weather etc. Also they are not luxurious fitted out amenities. The upstairs was not kid friendly as the stairs to the room were only accessible from the outside and were very steep and narrow. The room also did not have adequate curtains to block out the sun light so anyone sleeping there would be woken in the morning. Apart from that, you felt like a king with the very relaxing surroundings and outdoor lounge area. Great if you had friends because you could actually entertain in your own Villa. The other style of accommodation is the modern pool villas which are of course a modern version of what I just explained. The resort is small and has a boutique feel to it. Only one restaurant but the variety and quality is fantastic. Breakfast was a good 7.5 to 8 out of 10. The pool menu was also well priced with great quality and selection. Important when you dont have a choice to walk out and grab a meal from the outside. Their famous Sunday buffet was also good. Not a big fan of buffets, but I thought this was one of the best ones I have been too. More people, more music, mixed crowd and surprisingly families with kids.
This resort really impressed me by the end of my stay. The cleaning of the room was impeccable, their food was much better than the next highly priced hotel I stayed in, cocktails and drinks were great, and like I said before, ALL the staff were fantastic and really wanted to serve the customer. Oh I forget to mention we also used their in house Spa on two occasions. Very good and also added to the joy of staying at Beach Republic. If you dont mind being away from the main area of Chaweng, this is definitely worth considering

Room Tip: Traditional Pool villas have do not got a great second room. They are located above the main room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lex2987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    156
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
166
311
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koh Samui
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great resort, fabulous staff, I stayed in the penthouse room, the room was stunning with everything needed for a perfect relaxing holiday, the staff seemed just happy to please, the spa treatments I had where excellent , great resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights at the end of june after buying a cudo voucher last year. when i went to make the booking ( approx 10mths after i had purchased the voucher) i was told that the room with the voucher ( club suite i think) was fully booed at time i wanted. They offered to upgrade to the next size room at a small cost or extend the voucher by a further 12 months. i was impresed straight away. after exchanging a few emails i went ahead and booked on the dates i wanted and upgraded to a 1 bedroom modern pool villa it was aprox a extra $120 per night including our daughter ( the voucher was just for 2) i was very happy to pay that as the previous year i had paid a lot more for a pool villa at sala samui.
the deal included airport transfers, sparkiling wine and fruit, 2 massages,breakfast,wi fi, 20% voucher for next time. 1 set dinner etc... all for a orginal $499
we arrived at samui airport and the driver was there waiting with cold water and clothes to refreh us during the hot day.
the drive to Lamai was maybe 30 mins the resort is just off the main ring road ( deal for the local taxi truck) as we arrived at the resort the receptionist greeted us as we got out of the car and took us straight to the villa to check in. she opened the gate and boy i was blown away !! the pool was stunning and pretty big, there was a garden area with tables and loungers also a sun roof. inside there was a kitchenette with all modern appliances and the lounge are was great and comfy.
1 bedroom with a kingsize bed that was so big i couldnt reach my wife !!
bathroom was big the bath was huge and 2 outdoor showers.
the place was stunning and looked brand new still ) well maintained and very clean)
each day the room is turned down and they give you a complimntry dessert creme brullee, choc brownie etc.... our 6 yr old loved it

the restaurant was located by the beach though the actual beach here is pretty much non exsistant. we are not beach lovers so didnt worry us at all
breakfast was pretty good !! i am a chef and even i enjoyed what was on offer in paticular the cumberland sausages !! as a english man living in sydney i miss cumberland sausages ( i was born in cumberland) sausages in OZ are generally rubbish and i was amazed that these sausges were soo good. they use organic eggs for brekky that r cooked to order and the yolks are so creamy ( very immpressed)
we also had dinner 1 night and tried some thai dishes and we were all very dissapointed !! tastless really was ! we had a lobster pad thai and the lobster was like it had been deep fried last week and they recooked again ! was inedible ! and like i said tasteless seriously bland ! im sure they cater for white man taste but i love spice and my wife is asian.
the tapas dishes on offer were mostly good as were the cocktails.

they also offer free DVD which my 6yr old made the most off during our stay.

lamai is around 20 mins walk in the heat or a 40bht taxi truck ride away. plenty of good local food to have in lamai.
the staff here are all polite and friendly and never stop smiling ! really was a beautiful quiet resort.
i will for sure go back there again !
i just wish i stayed here longer ! i had bought 2 vouchers 1 for another resort ( see seperate review) that was no where in the same league as here)

almost forgot beach reublic transffered us to cheongmon and only charged us 100bht as we had airport transfers as part of the deal. i expceted to pay full prize as it was not part of the deal !

Room Tip: we stayed at room 106 1 bedroom poll villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamb528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Highlight of our stay has to be the large residence, we stay as a group of four.

Our friends on the ground floor and the two of us in the 'attic' room, very romantic and spacious. The second floor comes with two sun lounges and sunshine all day long on a beautiful terrace.

The ground floor has a pool with two sun lounges and a group sitting area.

This place is perfect.

Sunday brunch absolutely outstanding, deserves the reputation it has.
The beach club is tranquil yet lively, sitting in the pool drinking cocktails with friends with great dj's and a very happy atmosphere.

Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and I spent a fantastic week at Beach Republic doing absolutely nothing apart from relaxing, swimming, reading, eating wonderful food and soaking up the sun. We stayed in a superior room that was incredibly roomy and very very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and bent over backwards to be at our service, even to the point we were quickly assisted if wanting to raise an umbrella or to move it due to the suns position. We ate most meals at the restaurant (buffet breakfast was included) and all meals were very high quality and very tasty. The DJ was a really groovy touch that spun cool tunes every afternoon from 5 - 9. This made for a very great atmosphere around the pool every afternoon. the two infinity pools provided plenty of room for guests to comfortably swim without being all over other guests. The only small negative if you can really identify a negative was the amount of children present...not that they really effected the experience but it was surprising to see so many when there is nothing for children under 16 to do. Through out the week, they had a Thai buffet at night that again provided many tasty dish selections. Daniel the General Manager also familiarized himself with guests ensuring that everyone's stay was of the highest standard. This was a CUDO deal that also provided a complimentary couples massage. All in all it proved fantastic value for money and an awesome relaxing experience that I would definitely go back to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Beach republic through a Cudo deal. Airport transfers were great with a cold towel and drink on the way to the resort. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and kept immaculate during our stay. We had our 3 year old with us and still had plenty of room.
The staff were amazing and we cannot praise them enough for all of their efforts. A special thank you to Nuong, Tu and Sun for the time they took with our daughter every day.
The breakfasts were beautiful with a great range, the pool meals were excellent and the two evening meals exceptional.
The reception staff were extremely helpful.
The day spa was incredible - a definate if you are staying there.
Internet was easy and fast.
Would definately return.

Room Tip: Try a villa if you want to be closer to the beach. Mind you the club suites are a one minute walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Satine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarneit, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Beach Republic as part of a CUDO deal.

The whole experience was fantastic from the pick up from the airport to the dropping us off at our next location.

We stayed in a deluxe room however wished we had upgraded to one of the villas with a private pool or jacuzzi.

Rooms were spacious, very clean and modern and bright. Balcony adjoining. Beach club facilities were nice with 2 pools, restaurant, bar and spa.

Beach was nice however not really a section of the beach it seemed people were using for swimming although we did see a few people venture out.

Housekeeping were fantastic.

Reception staff were great and attentive.

Restaurant and pool staff were friendly and quickly recognized you after repeat visit.

Shuttle into Lamai 2 x per day. Great service however evening shuttle is only a 2 hour visit and I think 3-4 hours would be better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
4.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
0.4 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Republic The Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Republic The Residences

Property: Beach Republic The Residences
Address: 176/34 Moo 4, Tambon Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Republic The Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your choice of deluxe one, two or four bedroom villas, stunning penthouses, and spacious suites. The villas and the penthouses have private chemical and salt water-free pools and all units are afforded the comforts of home with kitchens, coffee and tea making facilities, iPod docks, and free WiFi in every room. Guests enjoy privileged access to Samui's premier beach destination - the Beach Republic Ocean Club featuring fine dining, superb wines, fitness room, and the Asian Fusion Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Republic The Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Republic The Residences Hotel Lamai Beach
Beach Republic The Residences Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing