We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY HOME AWAY FROM HOME IN KOH SAMUI!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thai House Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Herentals,Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“MY HOME AWAY FROM HOME IN KOH SAMUI!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I keep on coming back to this wonderful hotel in Lamai beach, in my opinion this hotel deserve the number one position on Koh Samui, Lamai Beach! This was my third time in a row, my first in Januari and everything was excellent as usual! The staff of the thai house beach hotel are all wonderful, they take care you the best from the doorman to the manager Jintana they all go that extra mile to please you in anyway there is! The facilities are great a nice swimming pool and of course situated right on the beach....you don't have to walk some time to swim....no, after just twenty meters the water is deep enough to have a decent swim! The city center is also close by as the shops, bank, pharmacy etc. So this is the ideal hotel to have a very nice holiday one you will remember for a very long time, Jintana and her staff wil look after you the best! So for me this is my NUMBER ONE on KOH SAMUI! Without any question!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but only a few have seeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai House Beac... K, General Manager at Thai House Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear K. Suntara & K, Andrea,

Thank you for sharing us your experience, Me and my entire team were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your stayed in Koh Samui.

Being in this industry of service, we believe in providing our guests the highest satisfaction, and nothing makes us happier than received a confirmation from you.

We hope to welcome you back again in January 2015 to our Thai House Beach Resort and to provide you the best service.

With the best regards,
Jintana S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    225
    71
    25
    10
See reviews for
202
274
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel located on lamai beach. Great location and nice small hotel.

Beachside massages were great and reasonably priced.

On site food was ok for what it was but you are better served walking down the street and trying other places out.


Staff was friendly but their English is very broken. So know this going in if that is a big issue for you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai House Beac... K, General Manager at Thai House Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for sharing us your experience through tripadvisor , your comment is appreciate us.

it is unfortunate sadly to hear that you experiencing the lack of English from some of our team , we will take appropriate action to resolve and it is in our budget plan already to have an English class for staff in low season.

We hope to welcome you back again and to provide the better service...

Best regards,
Jintana S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and i and our friends from Australia have stayed at the Thai House for the last 2 Novembers. We can not say enough great things about the Thai House. The rooms are simple but nice. The pool and beach area are great as is the location. Above all we found the staff to be excellent. Starting with the front desk to the restaurant to the cleaners. They are all super friendly and efficient. We are all looking forward to returning next fall.
Sincerely,
Scott, Lynn-Canada
Pete, Suzie-Australia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai House Beac... K, General Manager at Thai House Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Scott, Lynn & Pete, Suzie,

Thank you for your returning to Thai House Beach Resort and thank you for your time writing a very nice comment of your experience with us.

It is our great pleasure to know that you appreciated our resort and staff f has been efficient and helpful we will definitely share with our team.

We are more than happy to welcome you back to our Resort and to provide you the best service once again.

With the best regards,
Jintanan S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 31/12/13-4/1/14. All in all had a great experience. We got upgraded for the first two nights to a Deluxe family as there were no Deluxe rooms available. Then moved rooms two nights later to a Deluxe which we have to say was ALOT better in terms of decor and bathroom. The resort must be slowly undergoing room renovations as the Deluxe family wasnt as good as the Deluxe.
Wifi was pretty good. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Location is excellent being right on the beach, but if you want to head to Chaweng it's a 15 minute drive which isn't necessarily so bad if you want to stay away and have a relaxing holiday. The pool area is lovely and massages are readily available at the resort's outside massage station. They charge only slightly more than other beach massage huts but the ladies are very professional and the hut is alot nicer. Photos on the Website are a good representation of the resort. We didn't get to try the restaurant as we were on a detox program with another resort nearby. Price wise - a little more on the expensive side (it was high season as well) but for the level of service and cleanliness (much like you'd receive at bigger hotels) its OK. Would recommend staying here and If visiting Lamai again in future I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pros: amazing location on Lamai beach. We saw some of the other beaches on the island, and wouldn't have traded our location on Lamai for any other beach. The staff was very nice. Our villa was spacious. Free breakfast. Great bars and restaurants on the road parallel to the beach.

Cons: Hotel staff's English was lacking, out of all of the hotels we stayed in while in Thailand, their English was by far the weakest (I also realize that we should not expect everyone to speak perfect English, but compared to the other places we stayed... this one was at times a struggle to communicate). Hotel food was mediocre at best. There was something near the pool that smelled like a septic tank... not sure what/where it was coming from but I was glad we didn't spend time near there. Could be true for most of the resorts in the area (I have no idea) but we saw a very large cockroach in our room the last day. I realize this type of stuff happens in certain locations and climates, but it was disappointing considering we spent a good deal of money staying there.

Other notes: points about reserving lounge chairs early is true. It wasn't an issue for us because we were up at 7 almost every morning. But if you go out to the beach (at least while we were there) at 9 or 10 expecting a chair, good luck. However, one morning we did an activity and when we came back around lunch there were no chairs so we put our towels on the sand and a hotel employee came up to us about 5 minutes later and told us he had chairs for us. I have no idea if people vacated the chairs or he put them there but it was very nice of him and nice that we didn't have to spend hardly any time at all in the sand!

Room Tip: Seemed the Villas were the best bet. We had villa J and loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson_jenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked this hotel 3 months in advance for a week-long stay, mostly based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. Upon arrival, they put us in a room on the 1st fl - very, very small (they crammed 4 beds together - so much about (as advertised) "deluxe family room" (!). A tiny balcony was facing a dirty wall and the bathroom was smelling of sewage. We asked to change rooms and were told that we would have to wait for 3 days before they could put us in one of the rooms facing the garden on the 2nd fl (needless to say, we could have not survived in that first room for one, let alone two nights, with such an terrible smell permeating everything). The only alternative was a 2nd fl room in the same section (facing two water tanks and some service area, including garbage collection/recycling area), but at least that did not smell. We decided to take it since our reservation was non-refundable (otherwise, we would have definitely left for another hotel). Although the bathroom in the second room did not smell, it had other problems. The water in the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, very often there wasn't enough hot water for 4 people to take showers, the furniture was shabby and dirty (a beige upholstered chair was badly stained, we did not dare sitting on it), we had to "fiddle" with the TV cable to get a good reception/picture, the phone did not work at first, neither did the safe (both were fixed, but the "damage" was already done, as far as we were concerned). Furthermore, the pool is small and gets crowded, beach is narrow and often very dirty (the hotel loungers are worn out, everything just looks sad and tired).... all together, not worth the money we paid. Lesson learned: never book a non-refundable stay. Here are some (albeit very few) positives: breakfast buffet was decent, staff at the restaurant is very pleasant and friendly, and the proximity to the restaurant row in Lamai was a plus. Sadly, the negatives outweigh the positives - we would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Deluxe Family Double with breakfast at the Thai House Beach Resort for 5 nights at the beginning of our vacation.

In summary, stay here for the location on the beach. The rooms are ok/average, at best. There was never much hot water in the evenings and the bathroom fixtures were not maintained. Our bathroom faucet never really shut off and the lever to flush the toilet was chipped and barely got the job done. Despite the room, we would probably go back if we got a good deal. We enjoyed Lamai beach as compared to Mai Nam and Bo Phut where we also stayed on this trip.

Pros: great beach location and easy walking distance to the main Lamai shopping/ restaurant street. Very convenient. Hotel lounge chairs right on the beach...but get there early as people claim their spots for the day pretty early. Room was a nice size since we opted for the family room which had a small day bed that we used to dump our stuff. Breakfast was also decent; however the centerpiece was certainly the beach as the restaurant sat right on the beach so you had a wonderful view every morning. Staff was nice and courteous.

Cons: Average rooms in need of maintenance. Be careful of the location as the first room they tried to give us was on the first floor had a view of a wall (no kidding)! Well, to their credit, they moved us to a second floor with garden view - which looked much better after seeing the first room. Not much privacy, though, as the balcony looked upon the hallways to the other rooms so people were constantly walking in view of our balcony. Additionally, scooter rental was a more expensive than outside (which I don't mind); however I would expect some quality control for that extra charge. The scooter we got was a bit worn and had problems starting. Mind you, I understand that these are all subcontracted out; but again, I would expect that they do some basic quality control before accepting on behalf of their customers for the premium that they charge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jilojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
7.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai House Beach Resort

Property: Thai House Beach Resort
Address: 131 Moo3, T.Maret, Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach 84310 | Koh samui, Suratthai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai House Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai House Beach Resort is located at Lamai Beach on beautiful island of Koh Samui. Only 35 kilometers from the main land, it is easily accessible from all major airports in Thailand. Transfer time from Koh Samui airport approximately 30 minutes. Bus from Bangkok to Samui will take 12 hours. Daily Ferry Service will take one hour and half for every trip duration 08.00 am to 06.00 pm. We can arrange transport for you by the budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thai House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai House Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Thai Hotel Beach
Thai House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing