We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but located on a too busy beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Jasmine Resort
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Arriving from a very quiet beach on Koh Phangan the hotel was initially a bit of a shock...it's squeezed in among many beachfront hotels on a busy part of Lamai beach. However the pool / bar scene overlooking the beach is stylish with groovy seating and it's easy to adapt to - even if your preference is generally more rustic. Beach restaurant in the evenings is cool, elegant and a wonderful place to relax. Our four and six year old children loved the chaise long we sat at for dinner and the hawkers selling overpriced torches and flashing lights kept them entertained. Though we didn't buy these we were easy targets for the balloon lanterns which you light with candles and send your wishes to the stars. In fact with so many lanterns gracing the skies it's evening long entertainment for the children.
The rooms were nice but the bathroom layout a bit awkward and the smell of drains was persistent and not particularly pleasant. Breakfast was included and rated as the best we had during our 3 week trip. The rooms set up for families is adjoining rooms but without connecting doors.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel to a friend..not because of the hotel itself which I'd give 7 / 10 ..but because I found Koh Samui and Lamai beach generally too busy and I disliked the prevelance of jet skis / luxury motor boats and the absence of traditional thai boats on the water. Koh Phangan would get my vote.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here the last two nights. It is a well kept place with very friendly staff. The hotel is sitting on the best part of Lamai beach. The pool is nice, and the massage provided here are amongst the best I've had so far. There are a lot of scandinavian guests staying here, and they are returning guests. We will for sure return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

On САМУИ for the first time. Had a rest with 28.09.2009-30.08. Hotel chose and reserved on the Internet. Hotel small, very pleasant and cosy on the house. In a place to an arrangement it is excellent, all nearby. Daily clean, there are slippers, a dressing gown, towels, the hair dryer, umbrellas, чайник+2 бут.бесплатной waters. It was pleasant to me. At first wanted on Chaveng but when have visited on a beach, have seen a heap to the people and where the people there and a dirt are more, have understood that were not mistaken in the choice. On Lamae on quieter and than not worse. To us for 35 years, so friends a choice for you....

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank grachevoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

This is an excellent hotel, great value for money. The room was very nice and had lots of character, felt very Asian. It was kept very clean and I have no complaints. The bathroom was also very nice and, again, had lots of character. My only complaint would be the wierd shower thay have that comes out like a hosepipe rather than a spray, a bit annoying. The breakfast was good, lots of choice and you could have omlettes and things cooked in front of you on a hot plate. The lunch menu was ok, didnt have dinner there as too many other places to try whithin 5 min walk. The staff where freindly and the service was good. My air conditioning packed up and they fixed it whitin 2 hrs.

The location is good, toward the end of the main strip so quite but only a few minutes walk to the bars. Great for solo travellers, even better for couples

go there now!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

this hotel is pure pleasure.
it is on the Lamai beach which is the quieter then chawang.
the staff was very friendly and was constantly trying to make our stay nice and pleasant.
this goes from the front desk to the waiter in the restaurant an night.
you can have dinner on the beach in a table or reclining on a beach bed.
the fish are still moving on the icy tub before they are cooked for you.
personally i preferred the rooms on the second or third floor, although the villas are more expensive becuase there is less traffic around you and you get to view the sea.
the rooms were very clean and the bathroom is nice with a shower and a tub.
the beach is a few meters away and i can't see anything more you can ask for.
the perfect romantic place or place to stay with the kids.
there is a great travel agency on the corner of the side street and lamai beach road - the owner is very reliable.
with all said, don't expect your service to be like in mid town Manhattan, it is Thailand! thing work a bit slower there and it should not affect you, if you wanted to be in Manhattan, why go to Thailand?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We absolutely loved this place, the food was great, rooms were lovely and clean. The resort pool etc is gorgeous!!
Would highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank SiobhanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Very clean, great rooms, good service, nice pool, great resterant, on the beach.
Quiet hotel but only a short walk to the night life.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank DaveD563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#5 of 51 in Lamai Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
1.5 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Jasmine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Jasmine Resort

Address: 131/8 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $114 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Jasmine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Jasmine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Resort Koh Samui
Jasmine Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Jasmine Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing