We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$22
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$50
Booking.com$22
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
71
85
44
21
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
85
44
21
14
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 235 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the second time we stat at Sand Sea with two years between our visits. In addition I was at Lamai in 1997 and see the change towards a total tourist ghetto. Many places like Lamai is rapidly loosing it's charm in Thailand. The pressure from massive tourism wears both people, structures and nature down. Sand Sea is no exception. The smiles feels more fake every day that pass. Some staff are friendly and others are borderlning to being rude, when something is not the way they like it.
Several of the guys in the bar are nice, dazed and happy. Smokes weed and provides to the guests. Most of the food at Sand Sea is useless. They make their money anyway. Better to eat at one of the few genuine places left that you find along the street, outside the center. Just opposite the Sand Sea road you find one place with three plastic tables, that is good.
We had one par of cyclops stolen from the porch or room, so be sure to lock up what you want to keep.
In the coconut palms at Sans Sea there a plenty of coco nuts, and yet they do not serve fresh coco nut juice, but rather a mix of canned coco nut juice and coco nut fat mixed with ice. Yet another sign of the lack of ambitions at Sand Sea and large parts of the turist invaded Thailand. The snake in the bathroom or the one that fell down on another guest can not be helped - this is natural - but the residential mouse that was munching on anything edible kept in the room, is probably a result in a total lack of ambitions to keep the place clean. Disturbing that the cleaning lady did not bother to clean away the mouse [--] in the room even. It is dirty and it is falling apart. The beach basically looks like a dumping ground for building debree from the shore line to about 100 meters out. The sea water is murky and smells like [--] some days. Maybe a result of the rapid "development" of Lamai. During the last flood the sand was washed away and one could see all the drainage pipes going out in he ocean, just under the feet of the guests. You can get way more bang for the buck in Asia.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenricBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends as a good value for money hotel at popular Lamai beach. Since it was our first time to Samui we decided to stay here for the first half of our stay. Our friends stayed at the budget rooms close to the water but we decided to go for the 'Junior Suite Ocean View' in the building close to the pool.

The first impression was no thrills neither from the looks nor from the service but decent and clean enough.

The room and bathroom looked a bit oldish but were spacious and clean with a view over the pool to the sea which was only 20 meters away. The bed was comfortable and the shower was big with a huge bathtub overlooking the same view.

Breakfast was pretty ordinary with only a a few items changing besides the standards like eggs and baked beans. On the upside we were literally having breakfast on the beach so you started the day with a nice view and holiday feeling.

The a la carte menu which we often used for lunch was cheap and tasty. We often ate Thai classics as Pad Thai which tasted fresh and portions were decently sized.

A downside was the little creek running on the backside of the hotel which sometimes send a swampy smell to our room that wasn't too pleasant. Thankfully that didn't happen very often and we couldn't smell it at all from the beachfront. Some of the hotels a bit further down that have the creek directly running in front of them have a much bigger issue.

We often walked up and down the beach and I must say I was happy that we were exactly where we were. Our stretch was quiet, clean, had nice fine sand and the water was great to chill down from the hot sun. North of the hotel the beach quickly became much more narrow until hardly existent and was also quiet dirty at certain areas. To the south after the passing the smelly creek the beach was also nice but much more crowded due to the many beach restaurants and bigger hotels. We could enjoy the day in calmness and if we felt like a bit more buzz we just walked down a bit. There were some dogs at the beach which is not unusual for Thailand but they were few and kept to themselves.

Walking from the hotel for 2 minutes on a dirt road brings you to the main street where you can hop on one of the touristy buses that connect to the beaches and it took roughly 20 minutes to go to Chaweng. Walking for 10 minutes on this street and you're in the lively area of Lamai with a lot of restaurants and bars to choose from.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here at the Sand Sea Resort & Spa despite cons like average breakfast and the smelly creek at the back but with pros like a good location and most importantly to us a great clean stretch of beach.

Room tip: The rooms in the building were clean and have aircon
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nik_getmygrubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stay at this hotel at your own risk. Because the staff here don't care about you. behind the smiles, the staff here are very cynical indeed. They rented us a motorbike with a very bald front tire that had no grip on the dusty Samui road. The bike easily slipped and fell over, even from a standing position travelling at just a few miles an hour. We returned the bike and pleaded with them not to rent it out again. But the staff said they did not care. And they rented it out again. It has a licence plate ending in 73. Please dont use it. We have it on record they don't care if their customers are hurt due to the bald tire. Add to this negligence, they fined us 1000 baht for a few minor scratches. They wanted to charge a lot more. We paid just to get away from these awful people. We pleaded with them to use the money to get a new tire to protect customers, but they have refused to see they have a duty of care. Their attitude shocked us, and was very different to all of our Experiences over many decades visiting this beautiful country.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Damien46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Like one of the other reviews said if you're after a flash hotel this is not for you, but the position on the beach is so good. We stayed in a garden view room, it was quite small, really just enough room to out our suitcases on the floor and a small bathroom. My first impression was that it wasn't that good, but once I got used to it, and realized just how close to the beach and how relaxed it all was I absolutely loved it and would go back again. There is shade on the beach from some trees, the breakfast/dining area is open air and on the beach, the breakfast is basic but all you need. We had one dinner there and the food was good. If you needed something you just had to ask. The rooms do not have kettle or tea coffee making facilities, but we asked for a kettle and cups and got them, and bought our own coffee and milk. The pool is quite small but it wasn't busy when we were there and the beach is good to swim in. Small walks to shops, eating places, laundry, tesco. Sunday night is walking street which is about 100 meters from the resort, we ate there and the food was really good. The rooms were cleaned well every day, with clean sheets and towels daily. When walking around the resort and around the area there were some pretty bad smells coming from a drain and creek nearby, but there were none around our room, the beach, or the restaurant. If you're after a relaxing, no fuss getaway this is the place.

Room tip: There were better rooms right on the beach front which we would get next time, ours was one bungalow back from the beach.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arab520
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

our villa is on the beach. it was not a top fashioned one but enough for a tropical visit. there was a balcony looking to the ocean. lamai beach is not the best beach but it's more quite so you can go to the chaweng beach with a 15 minutes bike ride and back to have a rest..

Room tip: it's a bit far from the bars. they are mostly located on the chaweng beach but you can hire a motorbike from the hotel. don't forget to bargain!!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehmetcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews