We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor service in paradise”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We arrived at Rocky's on an evening and first impressions - WOW - amazing! It is in a beautiful location and the resort, grounds and rooms have been designed and built to the highest and most tasteful of standards in contemporary Thai design. We were made to feel really welcome and taken to our gorgeous beach front accomodation which was filled with orchids and, again, wonderfully decorated and spacious.
We opened our front door onto the beach of a small cove which looked like it was right out of a bounty advert.
Of course none of this comes cheap at £220 per night including breakfast. Rocky's obviously pride themselves on their service - in the resort information pack the owner says he's visited hotels around the world and was fed up of bad service so he opened Rocky's as somewhere you could be treated as one of the family - a lot to live up to and they fail miserably. The staff are all friendly, willing and smiley - lovely people - what they obviously are not is well trained and they don't speak much English at all which leads to communication problems.
The food is really good, breakfast is a hot and cold buffet with everything you could ever want and all of a high standard. There are two restaurants - the Dining Room which is high end European/French style food and a Bistro which serves Thai and European and is more informal. Again, service is poor and haphazard - we waited 20 minutes to be served with Tea/Coffee at breakfast and had bad service at both restaurants and we really are not bothered about the odd error but we were given small bottles of beer when we ordered large (costs a lot more to drink it this way), an amuse bouche was forgottern so brought with our starters, they forgot which wine we ordered, couldn't understand when we asked to wait to look at the desert menu and then got the billing wrong by charging us for our and the next tables meals. It's not what you expect for the prices you pay.
This all sounds negative but we did have a great time at Rocky's and I am sure these problems are easily sorted with a few English lessons and a bit of training, it's a real shame cos Rocky's could be truly great.
There is another issue we had though - in 7 days there were 4 weddings. This means that the little cove in front of our accommdation resembled a building site and we were turfed off the beach at midday and couldn't really sit outside our rooms. Again, for the price they should at least have warned us. I recommend that if you stay there you request to be away from where the weddings are peformed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bralee, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear FifiLincolnshire,

Thank you for your review post and letting us know about your experience at our restaurant. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and did not live up to our own high standards.

We would like you to know that we value your comments and will take whatever steps are necessary to ensure that incidences such as this do not happen again in the future. In the restaurant business our reputation and success is built one meal at a time and your continued patronage is very important to us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you agai.

Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    284
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
472
1,135
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is an excellent small resort, run by the of the Olsen family who pay personal, close and detailed attention to every aspect of its operation. It is not in the hurly-burly part of Samui which is easily accessible should you feel the need ! For once, the resort lived up to and exceeded our expectations, based on our 'research' before we arrived. We were given one of the recently opened Garden View rooms which are large, exceptionally well furnished and in which meticulous attention has been paid to the small details. You will be hard put to find anything lacking ! The quality of the food is of a very high standard in both restaurants and the variety on offer is impressive. The staff provide a smiling and friendly service and nothing is too much trouble but remember you are in SE Asia and the staff are not fluent in all the 'foreign' languages they encounter ! Be patient and this will ensure very attentive service throughout your stay. They were wonderful to us. You are bound to meet the owners and managers of the resort, if you do have a problem let them know and within reason, they will sort it out in pretty short order. We stumbled on Rocky's and regard it as one of our finds. I f the opportunity occurs we will definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. (We've already done so !)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballistics_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We decided to get married at Rockys after some research and could not have made a better choice. We had been here before and the place is set in a beautiful location on a private beach with the restaurant set on a big rock, fantastic views. The food in the restaurant is some of the best we have ever tasted, 5* quality and exceptional entertainment.

Rio the wedding co-ordinator was fantastic from the start, gave us details of all of the options, extras etc we could add and communication was very good.

The wedding itself was on the beach and then we had a reception and 6 course meal in the private banquet room, guitarist, lady boy show followed by fireworks on the beach.

Everything was arranged by Rio with ease and our friends and family commented on the professionalism of the staff and beauty of the resort. The food is amazing and everything is reasonably priced.

We highly recommend Rockys for your wedding, you will have a hassle free and memorable day, nothing is a problem for Rio to organise.

We will be back:)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaigonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik_Rockys, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear SaigonRob,

Thank you so much for posting such a complimentary review on this website following your recent stay. I am pleased that you felt the staff, especially Rio and our team who were trying hard and doing their best to please and meet to guest expectation. Feedback is very important to us so that we can build on the positives and make improvements where required. Its good to hear that the team here made the difference to your stay which is what we always aim to do. I hope we can welcome you back to Rocky's Boutique Resort in the near future.

Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This was the third resort I stayed in while in Samui and was by far the best. No need to describe the rooms or bathrooms etc as it surpassed all expectations.

Before coming to Rocky's we spent 4 nights at Samui Yacht Club and then 3 nights at Amari in Chewang to get a taste of the "city" life and beach dining etc. I also spent a day at Anantara and Zezan in Bophut and visited several other resorts. Early in our holiday we went to Rockys just for dinner and liked the place so much we immediately booked the last 4 nights of our holiday there.

We stayed in the new Family villa which was magnificent. No noise or other problems. The attention to detail inside the villa and throughout the gardens was impressive. The only fault? The upstairs bar fridge had no bottle opener so had to go downstairs to open a beer! :( Oh, and couldn't find the remote control to change the channel on the tv but that didn't matter cos we were happy to watch ABC on the odd occasion when we turned it on. I wish the overhead fans had variable speed settings.

I loved every second I was at Rocky's. Until staying there I had no intention of ever returning to Samui. Now I am seriously considering going back. I never had trouble getting a poolside lounge, and I found the shade provided by the extensive gardens a blessing rather than a problem. If you really want to get toasted there are plenty of places to lie in the sun.

Because it is so easy to stay up at the Garden pool it wasn't until day 4 that I took a swim in the ocean at the nice cove near the ocean pool. Some might call this beach small but I'd prefer secluded. It was private to the resort so was never crowded. Maybe not quite big enough to play football on, but big enough for all the usual beach activities. And to those people who complain about the beaches - why did you stay at this resort or indeed on Samui at all?? If you really need excellent beaches head for Australia, Fiji or even Vietnam. Unfortunately I found no fantastic beaches on Samui - just average and less than average. Even the beaches in France are better. At every samui resort I visited most people didn't enter the pool let alone put a foot in the ocean. The high tide will take out the beaches at Bophut and even Chewang just as much as Rocky's. One good thing about Rocky's - no obnoxious jet skis or noisy longtails. I've seen some reviews where people complain about mosquitos, so you might be surprised to hear that mosquitos are not exclusive to any particular resort but actually thrive throughout the tropics.

If you think the remoteness of Rocky's is a downside then simply spend a couple of nights in noisy dirty Chewang where you constantly get hassled by street/beach vendors and touts and you will probably change your mind. Hiring a car is easy and cheap and preferable to taxis and scooters. You will want to do this after a few days no matter what resort you end up at. The family villas have their own driveway and car park.

All the staff there were fantastic, especially the lady who came up to help with our early bird checkout. The "Kids Club" staff were excellent and kept our little ones happily occupied whenever they tired of the pool. In response to the comment about the positions vacant board at the front gate - I saw similar signs at other resorts but they were not in English so not so easy to spot.

Finally, the food. Congratulations to the chef and kitchen. You will struggle to find better cooking anywhere on the island. At breakfast, there is no bain-marie. All the hot dishes are ordered a-la-carte and are cooked just for you! Dinning on the seaside granite rock at dusk is something I already miss greatly. The live entertainment at dinner is a bonus. And this place actually makes decent pizzas!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bralee, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Moof66,

It is always a thrill to get comment from our guests particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay including meal and a marvelous time at our resort and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and to everyone on our staff.

While compliments are always appreciated, we also hope that you would tell us if we ever disappoint you. Your comments regarding the facilities has been drawn to our attention. Our chef; Aziz who we are very proud of him to provide the wonder meal for you and family as well as our other guests. I have to say that your opinion is highly valued especially as we are always striving to improve what we do to please our guests. Once again thank you for posting your review and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Rocky's Boutique Resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The attention to detail in this hotel was outstanding!!!It had many thoughtful and special touches.
Beautifully and tastefully decorated, good location with very attentive and friendly staff.
This hotel is located only a few minutes from Lamai where you will find several shops, pharmacies and restaurants.
I celebrated my Birthday whilst in Koh Samui and Rockys made sure i had a very special day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wishing a special and memorable stay in Koh Samui

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BButterfly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bralee, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear FernyB,

Thank you so much for posting such a complimentary review on this well-known website regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us so that we can build on the positives and make improvements where required. Its good to hear that our team made the difference to your stay which is what we always aim to do. I hope we can welcome you back to Rocky's Boutique Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The resort is beautiful and well located. Depending on your tastes it is either exclusive or too hermetically sealed from the "real" world outside. We had a fantastic family villa which was huge, and the hotel happily supplied an extra bed in the second bedroom so our boys didn't have to share a double bed. Pools are very nice although not huge. The beach by the hotel is small- water clarity depends on weather, on calm days it is clear and flat. Not much to see snorkelling though. We borrowed the hotel kayak and had a good couple of hours at nearby rocks.
The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful
Food is international in style. I would have liked more Thai choices at breakfast and on the other menus - I think the cuisine is modified to suit older Europeans' tastes so curries very mild by Thai standards. The Thai beachfront restaurant a few doors down the road is good.
You can walk to some shops (pharmacy and convenience stores, restaurants) in about 5 minutes, but the main Lamai strip is 20 mins walk away.
Piped music in public areas is a bit dire.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik_Rockys, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Tolls22

Thank you to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Everything about this resort so far surpassed our expectations. It is perfection. The beach is beautiful and private, the grounds are lush and so well maintained. The rooms are GORGEOUS, and beautifully decorated. The food is like nothing I've had before....everything that comes out of the kitchen is magic!! The attention to detail is amazing, there are such nice touches everywhere in this resort. I love that the decor is all from Thailand, beautiful tapestries, silk pillows, carvings, etc. It retains the Thai feeling that so many resorts loose.
The staff is amazing. We were just married there last week and I have not even one complaint.....it was outstanding and I wholehearted recommend everything about this resort. Just go. You'll LOVE THIS PLACE!
I can't wait to go back, and everywhere I visit in the meantime will be compared to Rocky's....and I doubt anywhere will ever come close.

Oh, and it really does look like the photos on their website....it is that nice!!!
.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephandchris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bralee, Front Office Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear stephandchris2011,

Glad to here you went home back safely.

Thank you very much indeed for taking your time to let us know how you impress our accommodation as well as your wedding set up and romantic dinner on the beach. Your feedback is a motivation for our further work! We´re looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards,
Rocky's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
755 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing