We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lamai Beach
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,402)
Filter reviews
2,402 results
Traveler rating
1,945
342
78
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,945
342
78
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden pool sun hats thai night bistro restaurant fruit kebabs wedding planner koh samui on the rocks boutique resort our honeymoon beach front bbq night fresh flowers fire dancers cocktail party flip flops thai buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 2,402 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Rocky’s is everything you’d want from a paradise Hideway. Great location, lovely rooms, fantastic food and awesome service. From pickup at the airport to drop off again everything was great. We would recommend to all

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank j0hnabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockys_Samui, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear J0hnbaker,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your precious holiday and for taking the time to share your lovely comment on trip advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived till your last full day with us.

It's definitely worth to share with the entire team to motivate them to continue delivering Rocky's standard service to all our guests.

If you have anything to ask, please feel free to email us anytime or follow our Facebook and Instagram page.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.


Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

There's nothing missing in Rocky's, beautiful landscaped gardens, swimming pools with amenities, private beaches, lovely buffet breakfast with an ocean view, restaurant with nightly attractions, bistro, massage boutique, daily transport to Lamai and Chaweng.

The rooms are stunning, kept daily.

But above all, like many other great places, it's the staffs that make the place more memorable and authentic.

Thanks to Alex, Ariane, Ying aka "C" and others for making our vacation such a memorable one. We'll be back, count on it.... ;)

Sincerely
Jonathan Liew YC

Room tip: Garden view rooms are quiet and worth every penny.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanliewyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockys_Samui, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear Jonathanliewyc,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your precious holiday and for taking the time to share your beautiful review with us.

What more can we say? Thank you so much for giving the details about our resort to those following trip advisor and planning to spend their holiday in Koh Samui.

We are delighted to see our names mentioned here, and we are glad that you were satisfied and happy with our service.

We treat all our guests like family and we are proud of that.

For any updates, you can follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Again, Thank you for staying with us.

Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with private beach. The environment during the night is stunning. I truly recommend to stay here if you visit Samui.
Also would like to appreciate the staff and Alex Magaton his kindness.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sightsee245065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockys_Samui, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Sightsee245065,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!

Thank you for choosing us to spend your precious holiday.

We are pleased to know that you had a great time during your stay with us.

Alex is very thrilled to read your review and to learn that you were satisfied with everything that Rocky's has to offer.
You rate us 4 star, is it possible to know that reason?

For any updates, please follow us on Facebook and Insgtram.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My partner and I stayed at Rocky's for a week in a Junior Suite Ocean View room. What sets aside the rooms from other hotels is the attention to detail, amenities and furnishings . The rooms are absoloutely gorgeous, serviced daily and a nightly turndown, and everything you could possibly need provided including a beach bag and hats. The resort itself is spectacular and impeccable, with over 300 candles being lit every night throughout the resort. The 2 x pools are small but being a boutique resort we had the pool to ourselves most afternoons. As soon as we would arrive by the pool, we would be delivered towels and iced water. At night the scene is serene and peaceful with the glow of red lanterns and candles throughout the property. Buffet breakfast is sensational, and instead of the traditional egg station, there is an a la carte egg menu that you can order from as well as asian station, fresh fruit, pastries, continental breakfast and more. The stunning dining room overlooks the ocean. Lamai is in a quiter part of the island so not close to the bars and restaurants of Chaweng. Chaweng (the busy area) is about 20 min by taxi and costs about AUD$20 one way. Lamai has a busy area too (not as busy as Chaweng) which is 5 min and about AUD$10 by taxi. We hired motor scooters so would just tour around ourselves which is very easy to do. The resort can arrange any tours for you and Ariane (the guest relation manager) is extremely professional, friendly and helpful. We arrange two tours with her and also requested beach front seats for the BBQ fire show at the resort in which she arranged. Alecs, the Assistant Manager is also very friendly and you get to meet the staff on the complimentary cocktail night each Wednesday that also serves amazing canapes. Overall we loved the resort and would definately visit again!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMadson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockys_Samui, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear AMadson,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing us to spend your precious holiday and for taking the time to share your lovely comment on trip advisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and well pleased with our personalised service.

Most of the guests will say that when you're at Rocky's, it feels like Christmas every night because of candles and fairy lights around the resort. It is very relaxing to see those lights and candles every night and listen to the sound of the waves whilst having your favorite wine in our dining room table on the rocks.

Thank you for giving ideas to other travelers how beautiful Rocky's is. We really appreciate your time you took to post this review.

If you have anything to ask about your next visit to Rocky's, please feel free to email us anytime or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.


Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

After a 30 year absence from Koh Samui, my wife and I decided to make a return trip for a 1 week drop and flop holiday.

Unfortunately, the increasing number of visitors coupled with unregulated tourism has had a negative effect on this once idyllic island paradise. Consequently travelers with the explorer spirit will need to go much further afield. That said, this small resort is an absolute godsend amongst the garish bars, crass attractions and animal shows that now draw the crowds.

That said, from check-in to check-out the Rocky's team were friendly, professional and always helpful. We stayed in a junior suite with an ocean view which was well appointed, a good sized bathroom along with a small but comfortable balcony that over looked the beach. It was cleaned daily with a turn down service each night.

The pools and beach area were perfect for us with ample sun beds and beach towels, regular top ups of ice water and fruit skewers offered to those feeling a little hungry. The small beach was picture perfect, you just need to catch the right tide, and the lounges placed on the path above the beachfront are perfect places to relax with a cocktail and watch a beautiful sunset.

We also borrowed a kayak to paddle from Rocky's up to the middle of Lamai beach which was great fun on a warm and sunny day. We stopped at the Weekender Resort on Lamai which was where we stayed 30 years ago. It had subsequently been remodeled to become just another lifeless hotel, however it was great to see one of the original beach huts from 30 years ago still standing in a field right beside it. Yes I probably do sound like an old fart . . . . . but hey :-)

Others have commented on the quality and quantity of the buffet breakfast, and we just filled up over breakfast and were able to get through to dinner without another meal. We ate in the resort on BBQ night, and whilst the atmosphere and fire dancing show were terrific, the food did not live up to the same quality. It was not bad, perhaps I just set my expectations a little to high. The beach bar is very comfortable and the location and comfortable seating is hard to beat.

We ate out most nights and would recommend the Cliff and Dr Frogs as 2 restaurants worth a visit. Both have great food and magnificent views. If you need the nightlife it is a 400B (AUD$18) return trip if you go to Lamai, and 1000B (AUD$43) return trip if you go up to Chaweng.

So, Rocky's resort is a fantastic hotel which I would recommend to couples and families with older children who wanted to be away from the crowds and noise of the larger towns, but close enough to visit with a quick taxi ride.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockys_Samui, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Narrabundah,


Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your precious holiday and for taking the time to share your comment to those planning to spend their precious holiday to the beautiful Koh Samui.

What a pleasure to welcome the guests who came to Koh Samui 30 years ago. We are delighted to have you with us and to know that you had a lovely stay with us.

Thank you for the time you took to make this review, it is much appreciated.

As you were very impressed with our breakfast selection and so you set your expectation very high on the night of our bbq on the beach. We make every food from our heart and we want to make sure everything is perfect. I have passed your kind feedback to our Food and Beverage team. Will surely take it very seriously and do our best to improve it as its one of our best nights. We treasure every comment because it will lead us to success.

For any updates or if you require any information, you can follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Again, thank you for choosing us to spend your precious holiday.


Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews