We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lamai Beach
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,401)
Filter reviews
2,402 results
Traveler rating
1,945
342
78
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,945
342
78
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden pool sun hats thai night bistro restaurant fruit kebabs wedding planner koh samui on the rocks boutique resort our honeymoon beach front bbq night fresh flowers fire dancers cocktail party flip flops thai buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 2,402 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Stayed 20-11-17 for 7 nights in a beachfront villa and had such a wonderful relaxing holiday. This was apparently out of season but we found it plenty warm enough with the benefit of not overcrowded beaches etc. Luck enough to only have a small hours rain one early morning but other than that dry all the time. The resort itself IS as good as others have said and the service and friendliness of the staff is impeccable. The location is slightly outside the main drag but walkable to the closest town in about 10 minutes (although there are no paths just a painted line on the road) The 7 -11 is the same distance to get your supplies because the hotel prices are rather high comparatively).
Breakfast every day was included in our deal and it was a great selection buffet, with fresh eggs cooked in a multitude of ways available to order. We also ate every day at their "lunch deal" and the food was lovely and fresh.
A great place for anyone who wants to lounge around for a few days.

Room tip: Beach front villas are wonderful, if you want an upgrade mail the resort directly for a better price
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harcoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you,

Low season is indeed a great time to come and as Samui gets about one third of the rainfall Phuket gets its worth it. Rarely rains all day just heavy showers and out comes the sun again. Perfect

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Spent a lot of time researching and Rocky’s was sold to us mainly through the excellent reviews we read on Trip Advisor. Good to have that re-enforced by a close friend who visited a few years ago.

Our first day was a bit under-whelming due to us finding out we were the first ever people on a full-board package and if we were confused then so too were most of the staff.

Thanks to speaking directly with the GM, Martin the rules became a lot clearer but ultimately it was a poor choice we made because we didn’t need full-board and certainly opted ourselves to miss several meals whether that be lunch or evening meal.

Very happy with our room, Junior Suite Ocean View and the balcony.

Grounds are lush and well maintained and the overall ambience was very relaxed and tranquil.

Enjoyed the BBQ on the beach and both GM cocktail parties. Martin is very friendly and runs a happy ship from what we saw.

The main dining-room is in a lovely setting and service very attentive. Generally staff are very friendly as is mostly the case in Thailand.

We doubled up with another couple to enjoy the island tour offered by the hotel but were thwarted in taking the boat trip as their boat was being repaired - a real shame.

The free buses into Lamai and the once a day one to Chaweng were welcomed and the local open taxis in Lamai are reasonable at 200 Baht Per couple back to Rocky’s (200 Baht from Chaweng to Lamai).

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 11 night stay and would recommend Rocky’s for a quiet but classy stay.

Don’t opt for full-board and the price of wine and bottled water along with an automatic 10% service charge per item makes both items some of the most expensive I’ve ever paid but Rocky’s is not alone in that from past experience in the Far East.

Thanks for a great time.

G & T Nelson

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 598garryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you G&T (my favourite tipple) for your lovely review and thank you for being our guinea pigs with the full board, we learnt a lot.

Whilst our full board has many choices, we found out that because we have two restaurants and many close by your options get restricted, so I agree, full board should only be considered if you will spend 100% of your time in the resort, or happy with a picnic lunch if you go on an excursion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

We just finished our five night stay and our only complaint would be the two days of bad weather!
That said the general manager made the best of a bad situation by putting on a free cooking class with food tastings (enough for lunch!) for all who attended.
Cocktail party with the GM and staff on a Wednesday night was endless cocktails and canapés for an hour by the relaxing garden pool.
Organized a moped for a day to see the island which was also seamless and an easy process. More expensive than organizing ourselves but worth it for the drop off pick up hassle free service.
Will definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank muiro1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Robert,

Happy you enjoyed your stay despite a couple of days of rain, we always try to put on extra activities during the rare times we get inclement weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Not long returned from our lovely Holiday at Rockys. Having visited many resorts and countries, Rockys is right up there as one of the best resorts we have been lucky enough to visit, very relaxed, rooms beautiful, food excellent, pools lovely, and the Staff just can't do enough for you! Have to mention a few names, Ariana, who was our host, and was extremely helpful and accommodating (not that we wanted for anything), The chef and lady assistant (sorry can't remember all names), whom we had Thai cooking lessons with were amazing and we loved the experience, well worth a go (be warned not to eat before hand!) All the restaurant staff, "Little Jim" (we shall miss) and another young lady called Kyle I think, always had a beautiful smile on her. We also done round the island trip with our own personal guide, and he was very accommodating. Overall we would highly recommend Rocky's. We also got to have cocktails with the Manager, English gentleman called, Martin, very nice man and he runs a great establishment. Good Luck Ariana with your new Baby! x

Room tip: I think any room is lovely
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you,

You will be happy to know that Ariane had a lovely baby girl, they are both doing well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Stunningly beautiful resort and location. We stayed for a week and indulged in pure relaxation.. Gorgeous waterfront location with two small beaches nestled among rocks and wonderful gardens. Beautiful and clean rooms (we were considering the beachfront villas but were delighted with our seaview suite on hillside with private balcony and lots of light) - and thankfully without towel-swans or rose pedals. Staff were very friendly, helpful and non-intrusive - everything suited to fully let go and relax.

Enjoyed the nearby beachfront restaurants and would highly recommend renting a moped to see the island´s mountains and remote villages.

Room tip: Would recommend hillside seaview suites for privacy, nice balcony and light.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xyi_xyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, I love the ocean view rooms too, and they are a little bigger than the beach front rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews