We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the calm after the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Worcs
1 review
“the calm after the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

After over twelve months of organising our fabulous wedding, The anticipation of our honeymoon we wished was the place that we could be alone, without the family and friends pressures away from us, and a time, in a long time to let all the pressures go, and from the moment we arrived at rockys all our stresses and worries disappeared!! The room was out of this world, with gorgeous views over the ocean and also the bungalows are well seperated so you feel like your on your own! Our first visit to the restaurant was one we wanted to repeat night after night, delicious food ( I will never eat a thai curry again....unless its at rocky's)!! The bar staff and restaurant staff were so helpful and just wanted to please. we had a small problem with the room, i have been to other resorts / hotels in the past, now that may take all of your stay to fix ,but within fifteen mins the problem was resolved, and a inumerate amount of appologies where given.
I have to say that the owners of this place where on hand and would not rest unless we where happy. I can quite safely and without any shadow of a doubt recomend this place, ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    278
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
457
1,096
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

From the moment we arrived at Rockys I knew we would really enjoy our stay.

Arriving at night we were treated to the most amazing views with beautiful lanterns and fairy lights everywhere and the effect was wonderful. Check in was charming and we were escorted to our beachfront villa which was amazing. Right on the beach so we could hear the ocean from our bed. ( We were in Room 304 which in my opinion was the best located of all beachfront villas)

The accommodation is charming. We had a lovely and large bedroom and amazing bathroom with so many plants it felt like a garden! The bed was so comfortable. The room also had lots of lovely Thai art and was very tastefully designed.

The hotel has a lovely pool ( and another adults only one in the hillside garden) The hotel is located on 3 or 4 small beaches and they are just lovely.

The grounds are delightful. Everywhere you look there is colour and art. Again the design is top notch.

The bar and restaurant service was excellent. Every meal was really top rate and service was faultless. Indeed all staff were excellent and a credit to the hotel. The Thai buffet and the BBQ nights are not to be missed.

We had a Thai cookery class with the Head Chef and I really recommend doing this.

The hotel provides entertainment most nights and it is excellent.

There are so many nice touches too. The hotel supplies very good quality toiletries as well as bathrobes/slippers/beach shoes and beach bags. We travelled with Kuoni and enjoyed a free meal/massage/spa as part of our package.

The owner, Colette was always on hand and ensured that every guest was completely happy with their stay. She welcomed any feedback and was keen to identify any areas at all that could be improved. ( We could think of none)

Value for moneywise the hotel was spot on. We ate and drank there every day and our bill was really very reasonable indeed.

Rockys is a 4* hotel and as a rule we generally stay at 5* establishments. I would say Rockys is up there with the best of them, indeed we stayed at Rockys for 2 weeks then transferred for a final week to Melati Hotel and Spa which is 5* . It was good but not better than Rockys.

I would highly recommend Rockys and hope to return soon.

Please email if you have any questions

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

We chose Rockys as our wedding venue after popping in to have a look around on a previous trip to samui. we fell in love with the place straight away as well as the absolutely fantastic staff who make you feel so very welcome. after a look around and a chat with luke, we felt sure that rockys was the place for us. both luke and rio were amazing at co-ordinating the events of the day from so many thousands of miles away - we emailed back and forth with rio all the time and felt like we knew her before we even arrived! we had absolutely none of the usual nightmare wedding planning, it was all arranged so well. when we arrived at rockys a week before our big day, everything was ready for us and truthfully, i have never seen a more beautiful wedding - how lovely that it was ours! everything went incredibly smoothly and was the greatest day of our lives. thank you so much to all the amazing people at rockys who looked after myself, my husband, our little girl Eva and all our family and friends so well. we'll see you next time for a Lychee Martini at the pool bar! Rachel & Ed Brown. Wedding 2.3.09

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craggsy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

after looking on the net at most of the hotels ko samui at to affer we came across the web site for Rockys boutique, the web site showed all the hotel in its glory, its set in tropical surrounds with two fab pools one bieng a quiet pool for relaxing .The rooms have been furnished to a very high standered with wares from asia, the staff all (96 i believe ) cater for your every whim nothing is to much trouble, All the staff are very friendly and helpful, what i found even better is that the management are always on hand to give you good tips on places to visit and how to get there, you almost start to feel like family.A cocktail eve is held on a friday night where the managment meet you for a drink and ask if all is well. The food is even better, some might say a little on the expensive side but i feel worth every penny. Breakfast is a array of dishes all freshly made a great choice for all rockys guests. nothing is to much trouble for its guests, a great time, would i visit rockys again ? you bet!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyJaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights at Rockys resort. We had such a great time. The resort is built on rocks (why its called Rockys I guess!!) With the rooms spaced between tropical plants, very beautiful. It is a boutique style hotel with only 34 rooms. Each furnished to such a high standard, every little detail has been carefully thought through, down to the slippers, dressing gowns, flip flops and beach hat & bag in each room. Nothing was too much trouble. I celebrated a special birthday whilst at Rockys, we had a champagne breakfast, sala dinner, which was fantastic, the food is a very high standard - even my birthday cake !!
Our bed had been decorated that evening which was so thoughtful and charming. On our last evening the owners and management invited all guests to a cocktail party on the beach, they spent a few hours chating with all the guests asking them how they could improve their establishment and requesting feedback. We were not able to offer any suggestions as we were enjoying every minute of it.
I guess it was quite out of season for our trip so the hotel was not completely full, but to be honest most people that arrive at Rockys tend to go on tours some days, chill the next, there was always plenty of room by the pool. I'm a sun worshipper and most people chose a shadey spot !! There are many tours that the hotel can arrange for you. We took a boat trip and an island tour which were both very good. The thai massage at rockys was lovely !
We never ventured into Chaweng as not really my scene, however Lamai was a great place to eat out, go to the beach and shop. Just a nice size with good restaurants and bars.
We really enjoyed our time at Rockys and would highly recommend this as a top class hotel to stay in on Koh Samui - very personal service and nothing too much trouble - pina coladas to die for !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkNik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Rockys is by far the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. We got married here in October 08 and at least 20 of our friends and family stayed here for a few days. You really cant fault anything about the resort as you get what you pay for + more. Pretty much all of our wedding was organised via email to Rio and when we arrived 2 days before the big day all we had to do was meet the celebrant and confirm seating plan! The food is gorgeous and some people have said pricey but I really dont agree. I know there are cheaper places in Lamaii and Chaweng but you have a choice where to eat dont you! The hotel is a good walk to Lamaii so at night you would need to get a taxi which costs about €3 or get a tuk tuk bus for about €1 each. The hotel also do great tours and our driver gave us an extra hour to see all the places we wanted to go on the island - it was so private and relaxing. We also had some pretty wild late nights in Rockys after the wedding and this was never a problem (even though Im sure we were pretty loud) - the staff here are so accomodating and it is so chilled out and laid back we felt like we were in paradise and ended up staying an extra 3 nights - totalling a 12 night stay! We are going back this year for our Wedding anniversary and cant wait!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

I wish I could be more creative in describing this place, but the word "paradise" is all that kept popping into my head while here. Never before have I chosen not to leave the grounds of a place I stayed, but my friend and I saw no reason to leave Paradise during our three-day stay. We stayed in a Jr. Suite Beachfront. We were glad our room was not the one next to the pool, as that would have been less private. The room was gorgeously appointed, with orchids everywhere. The bathroom was huge and had a small garden in it!

The private beach was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed using the free kayak. The water was very warm and a little silty, but clear enough to snorkel. It's not the best snorkeling, but it satisfied me with crab, sea cucumbers, and several species of small fish.

The restaurant was expensive and of reasonable quality, but one cannot beat the beach view. The breakfast buffet included fresh fruit, pastries, eggs to order, some Asian dishes, meats, cereal, juices. My only complaint is indeed only a minor irritation: every salt shaker had just one hole that was clogged!

Service was excelllent and the massage therapists wonderful. I felt my stresses melt away here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing