We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Nearby Hotels
$113
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manathai Koh Samui(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$84
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
$739
$614
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$61
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$98
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$505
$192
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$88
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,161)
Filter reviews
2,161 results
Traveler rating
1,747
305
74
27
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,747
305
74
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolsun hatsthai nightfruit kebabswedding plannerour honeymoonkoh samuion the rocksfresh flowersbeach frontboutique resortfire dancersbbq nightcocktail partythai dancersbeach bagthai buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,605 - 1,610 of 2,161 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I came across Rocky's a year ago on the internet when i was looking for places for us to get married and what a lucky find it was.
We have just held our wedding there and i have to say it was perfect in everyway. The amount of detail and effort that was put into it was out of this world! I will be suggesting to all my friends to get married here just so i have an excuse to come back. The resort is well maintained and the rooms are spectacular, Nothing is too much trouble for anyone to help you with. We would like to say a big thank you to all those kind, helpful people that we didn't get to know names of and to those who we did Rio, Luke, Carter,Blair and Noi thank, thank you for all of your contribution's to our special day you made all of our dreams come true!! We will be back, we have started saving already.

Georgia and Mathew Tiller 4th April 09

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaSydney_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Rocky was perfect: the staff went over their way to make you feel welcome and relax. The setting is fantastic, the food at the restaurant is first level (great breakfasts) and very fresh at reasonable prices -much less than what you would pay for the same meal in a similar setting in Sydney-. The rooms and the landscape are just what you see in the pictures -if not better!- and they offer everything you may need without having to go outside to look for it yourself (from a tour, or a spa, to motorbike rentals) The boutique has very high quality objects without having to be doing a lot of shopping outside -specially if you don't want to spend a long time shopping-, as in Koh Samui you have to walk a lot to find very good quality -if you don't know what everything is-. They will pick you up at the airport with a blissful cold towel, complimentary drinking water, flowers... it was a dream of a place. When you arrive at the hotel, also a complimentary cocktail that tasted like heaven. If you are looking for a relaxing place, this IS the place to stay. We did our reasearch here in TripAdvisor and was exactly what we looked for. For some comments that say that the place is a long way out of Chaweng and Lamai -not distance walking- it is true, but moving around is very cheap. The other places we saw there are just in the middle of too much "action", sourrounded by huge brick walls, and not near as nice as this resort which is very natural, quiet and very high quality. Plus in less than five minutes by bike or car, you are there if you want to. Oh, the massages by the sea are another bliss, and for $10... they are really worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroandCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and found the standard of the room, restaurant and location to be absolutely gorgeous. The staff laid out rose petals in the room for our arrival which was a lovely touch. The grounds of the resort are very green with lots of different varieties of flowering plants and they make extensive use of orchids and other flowers as decoration.

We stayed for 10 nights and mostly ate at the hotel restaurant. The standard of food and service was good, perhaps not as good as in Europe but well above the standard of the other restaurants we ate at on the island. There was a good variety of Thai and international dishes and a reasonable range of cocktails. The resort puts on 2 themed buffets a week and has live entertainment each night.

The other guests were mainly couples and families with younger children (all of whom were well behaved) and the place has a relaxed romantic vibe. There were a couple of weddings hosted at the resort while we were there, which were exciting to watch and didn't really interfere with the enjoyment of the other guests.

The resort offers in-house massage services and the masseuses are good at their job!

We booked various tours through the resort and found that the resort's island tour wasn't really a guided tour, just a driver, however the tour company used for a tour to the Ang Thong marine park was excellent. The staff were always willing to help with any requests however sometimes there were minor difficulties in being understood in English.

The only note of caution is that the resort adds 10 percent service and 7 percent VAT to all items on the bill, including tours booked through the resort and minibar items. A bit cheeky!

Overall we really enjoyed this resort and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Rocky's is heaven on earth! So, nothing's perfect, but Rocky's comes pretty close!

The friendly, helpful, welcoming, but not over-attentive staff; the beautiful gardens; the spotlessly clean pools; the superb rooms and the luxurious massage sala perched up on the rocks with the sound of waves lapping at the shore in the background. The extra touches like fresh flowers in your cocktails, cooling tea-tree infused flannels brought to you at the poolside at the hottest part of the day, the nightly turn-down service, the tea-light candles dotted throughout the resort at night...we could go on forever!

Really, at Rocky's they had thought of everything to make sure you do nothing but relax and feel completely spoiled. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone takes a real pride in Rocky's, and so they should! We had a truly fabulous stay there, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as the ONLY place to stay on Koh samui. After days out, we felt so lucky to be going back to Rocky's.

We always use Tripadvisor before booking and so it seems only fair to add this review ourselves to help others. We can't imagine anyone going to Rocky's and being disappointed. Okay, if you looked hard enough there may have been some tiny niggles - but when reading these, bear in mind that regardless, Rocky's never deserves less than 5 stars.

The niggles;
- You can't walk far out into the sea before hitting lots of sea grass; but hey you get over it!
- The snorkelling from the beach is poor, but go on a boat trip to Angthong National Marine Park..
- The hotel restaurant is relatively expensive (by Thai standards), but the food is fantastic - and anyway, there are some reasonably priced restaurants 5-10 minutes walk away (especially if you turn right out of the main gates and go to the 1st big restaurant on the right had side of the road)
- There were several power cuts whilst we were there - but they were short-lived, and anyway, you are on a tropical island - who cares!
- The cocktails were expensive - but delicious!

We also went on Mr Ungs Jungle Safari, which was fun (apart from the zoo which a lot of people didn’t seem to like), but preferred the day when we hired Rocky’s own jeep and took off round the island ourselves. This is well worth doing, but beware some of those roads into the Mountains can stop very suddenly!

Lamai is about 10 minutes taxi ride away (about 200 bahts) and is worth visiting for a night of cheaper cocktails, plenty of restaurants or ridiculously cheap street food (40 baht, about 80p for an amazing Green Curry with Rice). You can expect to get stopped by Tailors trying to entice you into their shops which can be come a bit wearing, but they are only trying to make a living, so just smile and be friendly and they won’t hassle you any more.

We’d also recommend a trip over to the west coast of Samui in time for the sunset – stunning!!! And, don’t leave Rocky’s without having at least one massage in their own sala. And, finally please enjoy a Lime Daiquiri at the bar for us!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plainville07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband, myself and 25 of our closest family and friends have all recently returned from a wonderful stay at Rocky's.

The purpose of our stay was to marry in the beautiful secluded beach that Rocky's has to offer. This experience was the icing on the cake to an amazing stay in a wonderful little resort, with the most attentive and friendly staff I have ever come across.

Rio, Luke and the whole team at Rocky's were terrific, not only during the build up to the wedding, but on the day itself and for the remainder of the holiday.

Our friends and family all commented on the helpful nature of the team at Rocky’s and most have commented that they would happily return.

I would thoroughly recommend Rocky’s as a wedding and holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrimp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews