We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic resort full of friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic resort full of friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had an amazing stay at rockys, got to know tye etsff who are just amazing. Its the small things that differentiate rockys to other resorts, the service by the pool, the friendly gestures, and the honest advise when you ask them questions. The rooms are just perfect, along with the food and bars. Prices are not unreasonable, you pay a little more than outside but the quality is worthvit. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyhuhbdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you Emily, so kind of you to write such nice words, my staff thank you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    278
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
458
1,097
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good 14 night stay.
Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Ocean View Suite which was fantastic, very spacious, huge bed and wonderful walk in shower in the bathroom.

As we arrived around 10.30/11pm we were delighted to be welcomed by a large fruit display and a bottle of sparkling wine.

The gardens are fantastic and lovingly cared for.

The staff are first class and service is great in every area from cleaning ladies to bar staff.

Wide choice for breakfast and something for every palate. My wife enjoyed squeezing the oranges every morning for her juice!

The Al a carte menu was expansive and the food really good although expensive by Samui standards. Despite this it still represented good value for money. The food on the event nights was very good, the Thai buffet was especially good.

We asked Lucas the Guest services manager for restaurant recommendations but he was reluctant to give any information which was a little sad but I guess he thought he was "protecting" the resorts interests. After 14 nights I found him very repetitive and a contributory factor for the rating of the hotel has to be his rather shameless plea's for every guest to go on Trip Advisor and praise the resort. It isn't necessary. The resort says it all IMO.

We also ate out on several occasions and the food was very good and very cheap.

An excellent bonus was the continuos supply of iced water by the pool plus the fruit skewers.

The massages by the sea were great although not particularly relaxing during but felt much better afterwards. The lady standing on me was certainly a surprise!

It was good there was such a strong mix of nationalities. Brits, French, Germans, Dutch, Chinese, Australians, Russians and many more.

Outside the hotel I loved Walking on Lamai Beach. Chaweng is much bigger but dominated by the hotels that back on to the beach. It is livelier, but that isn't everyone's preference. Elephant trekking was a fun day and a visit to the Big Buddha was very enjoyable

Overall we loved Koh Samui, the people and the resort.

Any questions please feel free to ask

Room Tip: Our room, 901, wasn't overlooked and very private. Seen some say those close to the garden pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinerGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding Lucas, he is a guy that really cares and wants to make sure that you have the very best experience here. Local restaurants are very inconsistent with their quality, hence Lucas's reluctance to recommend one in case your experience was not what you wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

After many months of organising our dream wedding we arrived at Rocky's, and we were left speechless.... I had looked at so many photographs on-line (almost obsessively), but honestly the pictures do not do this beautiful resort justice. The team at Rocky's just pay so much attention to the fine details of the resort, even down to the scent in the rooms, and the flowers and twinkly lights used all around the lush gardens and pools. We had arrived in paradise and didn't want to leave. I couldn't wait to see the expression on my family's faces when they arrived for our wedding.

Our wedding was beautiful, in fact it was faultless. This was thanks to Ann Lim the wedding planner who responded to all my emails and made the wedding of our dreams a reality. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and the tide which meant we could have the ceremony and the evening reception on the beach.

We stayed at Rocky's for 3 days over the wedding period and then the wedding party all went their separate ways; including ourselves. We left Rocky's to to go away to another resort for our honeymoon (which we had prepaid for a week), but were so disappointed on arrival that we contacted the reservations team at Rocky to "Rescue Us". They were very sympathetic and helpful. They offered us a deal that we could not refuse, and asked them to come pick us up ASAP. We spent 5 glorious days in a beach front villa, and instantly felt relaxed and 'at home' when we returned. It was the best decision of our holiday, and I will never forget it.

The other members of our party are already planning holidays back to Rocky's in the near future; and that says a lot about the resort and the staff. Everyone repeatedly said we could not have picked a more perfect place for a wedding ceremony and a place for friends and family from all around the world to meet. It was worth the journey. Thank you.

Hopefully one day we will return.....

Room Tip: we had a pool view room (top floor which I preferred, ground floor would be good with children for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you, I remember you coming back looking so relieved. Wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start!
I stayed at the Rocky's with my partner and I'm sure I will never forget my time there.
As We pulled into the entrance the word that sprung to mind was WOW!!
As we stepped out of the taxi we were met by smiling friendly staff who took our bags, as we stepped into reception we were immediately handed a ice cold drink and cold wet towels and we were informed that we had been upgraded for free to a beach front room! (Bonus) I would certainly recommend staying in a beach front room it's a little bit more pricey but it's worth it! Our room was spectacular, with an amazing view and the sound of the sea to fall asleep to.
The resort itself has it's own impeccably clean private beach, 2 kayaks and snorkelling equipment for the guests. There are 2 pools, 2 bars and 2 dining area's to choose from, we preferred the bar on the beach, with friendly service and stunning views across the ocean!
From the moment I stepped into the Rocky's I felt relaxed and happy and I fell in love with this place!
The food was amazing and they have different themed nights like tapas and lobster nights with entertainment which was just brilliant!!
We saw a wedding while we were at the Rockys and what a place to get married!
The hospitality at this resort is 5 star. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. All the little details just made our stay great, the extra effort the Rocky's goes to certainly makes the whole experience a memorable one!!
I really don't have a bad word to say about this place, we only booked 2 nights initially, but liked it that much we stayed for the rest of our holiday!
I will certainly been returning the the Rocky's. It really is paradise!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

After arriving in Samui to find we had booked the most awful hotel, we found and booked Rocky's on our second day. With it's amazing breakfast, helpful staff, beautiful rooms, great pools and relaxing atmosphere, Rocky's was the best choice we could have made!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukewilliams90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Rocky's boutique resort is delightful! The Rockys has everything from fantastic views, beautiful rooms, lovely gardens and pools, private beaches, 2 restaurants producing mouth watering food, a few kayaks which you are free to use, the staff are very kind and helpful and every care is taken to ensure your stay is unforgettable!

Me and my girlfriend were blown away when we first arrived and had fallen in love with the resort by the time we left. We went for a reunion but it felt as if we were on our honeymoon.
The price is very fair considering the fantastic accomadation and service you recieve, it was truly a breath of fresh and i look forward to returning to this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerJohnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we try to treat everyone the same, particularly honeymooners of which we have many, so I understand how you felt here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Kuoni UK and was recommended this hotel!! Absolutely lovely hotel! It is located about 30 minutes from the airport and about 5 minutes taxi from Lamai.

Beautiful rooms, housekeeping do a great job. I was greeted with a lovely birthday cake as I arrived on my 24th birthday!

There is a hot breakfast offered that is a la carte which is fab for a 4*. Cereal, pastries, fruit etc is also available. The lunch menu is great, you're looking at about 300 baht for a snack style meal - burger/sandwiches etc. Didn't try the dinner menu as we went out but it looked good.

It is 200 baht fixed price to get to Lamai centre and there is a free shuttle bus about 3 times a day, last one at 5pm. It is 500 baht fixed price to Choweng. All the taxi drivers know and agree to these prices.

You can't just walk from the resort because of a sharp bed in the road but a taxi being the equivalent of £4 to get to Lamai doesn't break the bank. There's loads of shops, bars, spas and restaurants here.

Happy hour is between 5.30-6.30pm and you can mix the drinks which is fab!! Always enough sun loungers for everyone, complimentary water around the pool and in the rooms. Complimentary wifi all around the hotel.

All the hotel staff went above and beyond to help us organise things such as a boat over to Koh Phangan and even helped our friend who wasn't staying in the hotel. Everyone was pleasant and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The reservations manager Lucas was always checking we were ok at breakfast - really nice touch! Boat who worked on the bar was a fab waiter and all the girls that worked on reception were lovely and helpful!!

The night we arrived there was a free cocktail hour to meet the hotel management which was great and then another night there was a Cabaret show!

I wouldn't stay here if you were a massive beachy person (this didn't bother me at all) but the beach rocky and small (hence the name) but there is a small cove with sun loungers and the sea is clean and swimable and there are kayaks to take out. The massages on the tent overlooking the beach are a must!!

**Please be aware of the 10% service charge and 7% tax on top of the menu prices** not anything massive and it is at the bottom of the menu but we were caught out a little - we may have had one too many drinks mind ;)

Overall fantastic hotel, typical Thai style and I really don't have anything negative to stay about it. Oh also I was travelling with a friend and we felt totally comfortable - it wasn't too "coupley" there was a real range of people there from all over the world which was lovely!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgeous097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockysmartin, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, Don't forget our free shuttle service to Lamai. It's there for your benefit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing