We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Rocks”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Where to start.....
My wife and I have been to Samui before. We got married in Lamai just around the corner. We LOVE the island and of course have high expectations. But we aren't the type of people who complain about small things.
The pick up was smooth and the driver (Kob?) was well spoken and presented. Exactly what you want when you don't know the language/area or are very tired.
Check in was quick and first impressions as we descended the private and unassuming driveway was one of peace, quiet and a little bit more traditional (or cosie?) than many of the slick looking and overly grand resorts we've seen in the past.
The grounds are neat, full of luxurious landscaping, tonnes of flower arrangements and the pathways meandered up and down the hillside providing quaint and cute walks around the resort. Staying away from being stacked on top of each other or being laid out in a grid system adds to it's privacy and beauty. The two pools, thought not huge, were very clean and ideal in the sense that you could relax and feel like you were in a small and exclusive area. We Loved this because being in a crowded resort can be a little painful.
The room we had was very clean, well appointed and layout perfect for what we wanted. Views were almost perfect if it wasn't for the pitch of the roof and tree in front of us. Not a big deal.
Security is very important to us and we felt so much safer. Partly due to rooms and door locks and also the location itself being protected naturally.
The food was AMAZING. The cocktails too. Seriously, the food is off the hook good. Didn't get sick and every mouthful of the several meals was fantastic.
My first negative feedback is that the cocktail menu was very "old school" not a really bad thing if you're into your traditional or not-too-flamboyant cocktails. But we loved them all anyway.
We had a special night out on "the rocks" with our own private meal with the ocean lapping on the beach, a warm breeze swaying the lanterns in the trees. A magical night - thank you.
I couldn't find the gym.... I didn't ask though. It was a requirement for me but I ended up not having the time for it.
The staff were smart, friendly and helpful. Never pushy and always doing something-just a little thing that lets you know that your comfort is being looked after.
My only other bits of feedback that could have added to our amazing stay would have been to have more transfer times to and from Lamai and Chewang. I think there were only a couple of times and we were never able to get a ride. Also, when we checked out, it was a little awkward as it felt like we had three people watching over us as we used a couple of payment options. We had cash, eftpos and credit card. The ladies were speaking in Thai as we were doing this and it just felt awkward. My wife thought they were saying things about us.
Apart from that, we loved the staff, the location, the resort and the very casual and free activities that were available from the Cabaret (burlesque) show, free cocktail night to the snorkling gear too.
Perfect for able bodied people that love to relax, have privacy, like it quiet and also love to indulge in the finer things in life.
Romm and Rhi

Room Tip: If you are worried about budget or having less quality in the junior suites or garden view rooms, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rommhulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    284
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
472
1,135
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

To Martin and his wonderful staff. Have just spend 7 days at Rocky's 5 were great but 2 were the resort from hell. Lets talk about the first 5 days, picked up from airport in Rocky's limo taken to the resort, check in was smooth and efficient staff were friendly, stayed in the family bungalow for 5 nights then changed to a beach front deluxe room. The staff at this hotel are all fantastic never without a smile on there face, the setting is wonderful with a private beach and has 2 swimming pools, one is located at the top of the resort and the other is located near the beach, the meals are fantastic the theme nights are even better. While we were there they had two weddings one from New Zealand and one from the USA who were both fantastic and a lot of fun. On the downside the air con is a little loud and the mosquitoes were friendly. During the first 5 days everybody could use the swimming pool the dining room and bar, without any hassle it was pleasant and quiet. NOW the downside there is a wedding this Saturday for 60 guests 40 adult's and 20 children most of the children are under 7 years of age. I do understand that the resort needs to make money, BUT to let 20 children completely take over the beach area, pool and private beach is not a good look. Also the adults have taken over the pool bar and have driven other guests away from these areas. You can not walk around the paths use the steps, sit on the beach or the swimming pool, because the children are completely out of control. When we left the resort this morning there were 19 children screaming in the beach pool doing back flips wetting other guests, phones I pads, personally belonging and the adults did not care. Other guests were not happy. I understand you need to tread a fine line, BUT to drive other guests away from these areas is not a good look. Rocky's is a great place but if you are going to book in check to see if there is a wedding planed and check to see how many CHILDREN are invited to the wedding. For the first 5 days thankyou for the great time the last 2 not so good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback.

When people book rooms with us, we do not always know who is actually in that room, indeed this wedding booked many rooms in advance and we only knew how many children a few months ago when it was too late. We understand that everyone has their own particular needs on holiday, and managing children is never easy.

We are considering our next move regarding this situation and will put in place a system that will please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The attention to detail is what makes staying at Rocky's an absolute dream. From the moment you arrive the staff do everything possible to make your stay special. Upon check in they provide you with cold face towels and iced drinks, this was so sorely needed as I was incredibly hot and stressed as my luggage had not made it to the island. I was assured by the staff that this was fairly common and that they were sure it would arrive shortly, they were right, as within 10 mins of getting to my room, staff appeared at the door with my luggage.
The room I had was a mini suite situated right on the beach. It was beautiful. Again the attention to detail was evident. Complimentary beach bag, flip flops and straw sun hats, along with plenty of bottled water and fruit.

When on the beach you are attended with cold face towels, iced water and fruit kebabs ensuring you stay hydrated. The staff are always friendly and never walk by without saying hello and asking how you are. It's pitched well, not overly attentive so as to feel stifling, but you know that if you need anything, the staff are close by and will do all they can to fulfill your every need.

It's an incredibly romantic setting and so is mainly frequented by couples. There were two weddings on the private and secluded beach during the week that I was there. They were beautiful events, but I would be careful to ensure booking during the dry season. The wind whips up very quickly and fiercely with sudden heavy downpours. Both weddings that I saw remained dry, but one of them was incredibly windy and I think only narrowly missed being rained on. It would be a shame to have your special day tempered by bad weather.

The breakfast was great, with lots to choose from (I particularly loved the french toast). I didn't try lunch, but dinner in the dining room was lovely. Great food, and the staff were always attentive. In particular Tien. Always on the ball, and chatted naturally with all of the guests.
Guest relations manager Lucas, makes sure everyone is happy during his daily breakfast rounds, and is happy to arrange trips and give advice on what to do around the island.

All in all a beautiful hotel in a stunning setting with fabulous staff. I arrived feeling tired, stressed and irritable, and left feeling completely relaxed and with a tear in my eye. I do hope to return again one day, and who knows, I might even return as one side of a romantic couple - fingers crossed! ;-)

Room Tip: Beach front suites are lovely, but rooms around the upper pool are also great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-B_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely detailed review.

We do get a few showers in June and a little wind too, which can also be refreshingly cool.

We are so lucky with weddings here, after 3 years and nearly 200 weddings, we have only had 2 (1%) affected by rain, we do have alternatives and the weddings still took place with the wedding couple overly happy with what we did. The other 198 were perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

this is a great place to vacation, you can enjoy the happy moments with friends and family here, very good breakfast, bedroom will bring a deep sleep and energetic, I will be back next year with my family to enjoy again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard1965340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you Richard, I hope you journey back to Amsterdam was uneventful.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odeafamily1
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I write this review with a heavy heart, as we leave Rocky's tomorrow.
We knew we were on to something very special as we turned off the road into a tree lined driveway, with lovely red lanterns moving in the beautiful sea breeze.
Bellboy to tend to our luggage, we were ushered into a lovely reception room where we were presented with welcome drinks and cold towels.
We were given a wifi password, a resort newsletter to advise us of weekly events and shown to our rooms via the tropical gardens arriving at a pool view deluxe room that was so beautiful it took our breath away.
Eve in the kids room was so kind and inviting to our children (4 and 6), that they were comfortable enough to stay and play whilst we went to the beach bar for 'happy hour'!
It was here that we met a very special man, the guests relations manager called Lucas, who welcomed us and put at us ease, kindly putting himself at our service and letting us know of the resorts facilities and events.
We really have enjoyed every aspect of Rocky's, Ton and Tien at breakfast, Petch from the front office, all of the ever smiling pool staff.
We made great use of the pool table, ate at the resort most nights in the Thai Bistro which was superb.
The gardens at Rocky's are spectacular, the floral arrangements are just beautiful,
And the room attendants thorough and seamless.
I guess what made the stay so special was the friendly service and attention to detail which is lacking in so many resorts in Thailand.
What started as a three night stay escalated into a seven night stay for our family of four.
Thankyou so much Rocky's and especially Lucas for making our stay so meaningful.
We shall spread the word!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odeafamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

There is so much to like about Rocky's Boutique Resort. Beautful setting, facilities, gardens. Located south of Lamai - 30 min walk or 5 min by car. Rooms were well appointed - we had a beach suite which was beautiful if a little bit small for a suite (yes I was aware of the room size when booking). Had breakfast each day at the restaurant and the food is fresh although on occassion there is that mixup with orders. Had dinner on one occassion (cabaret night - which was a lot of fun) and they didn't have the wine we wanted and the food was okay but not sensational. The pool and beach setting is beautiful but don't expect a normal swimming beach because you won't get it. There is a resort provided shuttle bus that goes into Lamai 3 times a day with pickup. Outside of the times it's either taxi, walk or own transport. Staff are friendly and helpful. However, I don't like to be pressured to undertake certain activities offered by the Resort whilst wanting to have a peaceful breakfast. This happened on 2 occassions and frankly it made me not want to go. Overall a beautiful and intimate resort but ........Good to Very Good for me.

Room Tip: Beach Suites are a great setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I absolutely loved Rocky’s. The hotel was beautiful, the staff very accommodating and friendly, the grounds impeccably maintained, every detail thought of. You will feel completely spoiled at this hotel unless you are used to people waiting on you hand and foot every day.

What to expect:
- Airport transfers through hotel are available for $900 Baht and can be arranged in advance. Taxi's are about $600 Baht. The hotel driver will show up with cold towels and ice-cold water for you in the car which is kind of nice.
- Entertainment most nights of the week – a cabaret night, social mixer, Thai night, etc.
- Free shuttle from hotel into Lamai and Chaweng (although at limited times).
- Restaurant on premise one of the best on the island (although expensive).
- Rooms are beautiful, spacious, with A/C and fans to keep the rooms plenty cool, mini bar with fridge, spacious bathrooms.
- Beach/Pool – plenty of space on the beach even if it is small. If you need miles of beach to look at, Lamai beach is just down the road. For sitting and reading a book or soaking up the sun, Rocky’s beach is fine. The pool areas are very nice, clean and has plenty of chairs. They also have kayaks available if you want to venture out to the reef.
- You don’t need to carry money with you around the hotel, you can charge it all to your room if that’s your preference. Also, be aware the hotel automatically adds a 10% gratuity to your food/beverage bills.
- It’s a short walk to the nearest “mini mart” if you want to get water, beer, snacks, etc. And downtown Lamai is about a 15-20 minute walk away.
- There are also a couple good restaurants within very short walking distance to the hotel and a water sports place close by as well (in case you want to rent a paddle board, jet ski’s, etc).
- Hotel also has scooter rental for $300 Baht. They’re available for rent literally everywhere in town though and for about half the price.
- No gym unfortunately. There are a couple in town though.
- No spa per se, but they do offer massages and manicure/pedicure services.
- Small library with computers and children's room.

Take the bad reviews posted here with a grain of salt – these are basically people who had some unfortunate experiences (some not even related to the hotel) but don’t speak for the majority of people who stay at Rocky’s.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are the best.... just steps from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vgAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
755 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing