We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a lovely hotel for the relaxing holiday we came for. The food was lovely and very fairly priced (although food at Lamai beach was cheaper). All the staff were lovely and you were often remembered by most which provided a nice family atmosphere. You were always made to feel welcome and no request was unacceptable. We had a house room with a pool which was lovely, it was in the garden area so we had some nice trees to provide a lovely shade to give a break from the 35 degree heat! The service could sometimes be a little slow in the Dining Room restaurant, but nothing too bad. Also, on the lobster night we complained that the lobsters were quite small and they were happy to provide us with free desserts to make up for it. On the whole, a lovely hotel. Although, if you're a beach lover, probably not the island for you as it was quite dirty and had some rubbish on it. We didn't mind because of our private pool but the beach was definitely not a good part. We were also given a complimentary Thai massage each! It was lovely and we had it with a view of the ocean.

Room Tip: The larger house villas with a pool are great if you like privacy and/or are in a larger group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you, Happy you enjoyed your stay, I am confused about your comment regarding the dirty beach, certainly not ours, it's cleaned every day. Could you let me know please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

After five days in Phuket we arrived at Rocky's and straight away I knew I was going to enjoy the next seven days here. Gorgeously landscaped gardens, small pots with flowers picked fresh each day, the staff were so friendly and the views from the pools amazing. This is the kind of place you go to just get away from it all. Breakfast menu is delicious, coffee is the best I have had in Thailand.

Rooms are very basic but I quite liked them, the bathroom was very well laid out and really enjoyed spending time in the room when it got a little hot and humid outside. We had our own little balcony which was nice to sit and enjoy a drink or two! We had fruit and champagne delivered for our honeymoon and were also given a free oil massage each and a dinner at the Bistro (think our travel agent helped with this) but truly was a lovely surprise.

If you like to eat at the hotel you will not be disappointed by the Bistro for the Thai dishes, try the beef cheek rending, so delicious. The cheeseburger also is divine if you fancy a little western cuisine. Breakfast you get to choose from an amazing menu of eggs benedict, thai omelette, pancakes and there is fresh juice, croissants, cereals, yoghurts etc.. your day will always start with a full tummy plus the view from the restaurant overlooking the beach is a gorgeous way to start any day.

The beach area is quite small and the beach is a little rocky (hence the name) so if you are a big beach lover you would be best doing day trips to the smaller islands which have white sandy beaches. We did the Josephine boat trip and had a fun day snorkelling and swimming off two islands which was really lovely and picturesque and then came back to enjoy some cocktails at the Garden Pool bar (near the Bistro).

For those who like to explore you can hire a moped which comes with helmets and there is also a free shuttle bus to Lamai Beach and also Chaweng. We found a great restaurant just left out of Rocky's called Chao Krao Ban, mostly locals go there but the food is super cheap and so very good, I would recommend highly, gorgeous sunset view over the beach, 150bt cocktails.

If you are after a massage there is a place just down the road to the right of Rocky's that is across from the Family Mart called Number One - great massage, firm, pressure points and my feet have never experienced a proper reflexology massage like this. Recommend.

If you are after a bit more of a pamper session I say start saving to head to Tamarind Springs spa. I did a four hour rainforest package whilst the husband did deep sea fishing and the best decision ever! For $200 Australian dollars I got a four hours of bliss. Swimming in man made rock pools, with herbal steam room and some of the best homemade scrubs I have ever used - made with tamarind, sesame oil you could just relax, give yourself a scrub, then a steam and swim in the pools. Fresh ginger tea and mango smoothies, water to enjoy for 1.5hrs until your massage. You are whisked up to a gorgeous little open private hut in the mountain and pampered. I was so relaxed during my 1.5hr massage I didn't realise she had braided the top of my hair ready for my hour facial. Ask for Chai! She is lovely and has good firm hands.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Pool room if you want close access to the pool and library (that has internet, free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaJones2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you, and congratulations again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

It's difficult to comment this hotel... From one side: very nice, comfy and we'll decorated and furnished.... But that's it... No swim at all: beach is more a decoration, shallow, corals and stones... Pools are very small and water in it become hot by 10:30... If you are looking for water based vocation, with no hassles to ride to proper beach, that's definitely not an option... Location: closest 7/11 and pharma in around 15 min walk which make a hell under the sun.... Breakfast is good, mix of a-la cart and buffet (fruits and pastries). Rooms are good, but sheets are dirty, had big grey spots on sheets. Stuff is kind of trying to be attentive: full day water refill near sun beds, fruit treats... But they are not smiling, always looking quite tired and bored and all my 5 days of stay I felt not welcomed... So different vs. Chaweng stuff, who are much more nice... Wifi is very poor, air condition was very load.... In general, was very disappointed by choosing this hotel, as had 5 days of no water stay... Will never come back...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I have looked at it 20 times now and I really do not know how to respond to it.

Even the sea gets warm.......................sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is such a lovely, picturesque hotel. The service was exceptional, the rooms are very stylish (even the most basic rooms are very luxurious), the food was delicious (particularly the Bistro for Thai dishes), I honestly can't fault it.
Sitting out on the rocks next to the restaurant for dinner was just stunning.
I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBrucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Miss Brucey

Thank you for choosing Rocky's Boutique Resort.

It was a pleasure to read your kind review. Thank you for your recommendation of our rooms, service and restaurants. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner on the rocks at "The Dinning Room" and our Thai food at "The Bistro". I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff in both restaurants.
We look forward to hopefully welcome you back again soon.

With kindest regards,

Martin Fells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is not our first time to Rockys we were here 4 years ago and it is still amazing as ever the staff are the best in the world. Thank you Martin, Lucas also Cherry and Joe who I looked forward to seeing every morning for breakfast. We will be back again some day soon. Thank you again for looking after the both of us.

Susan and Keith Australia

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suewashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear Sue

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Rocky's during your trip to Koh Samui and for taking the time to post your feedback.

Your very uplifting comments are well received and are a testament to our hard working associates.Thanks for mentioning Lucas, Cherry, Joe and me, we appreciate it greatly.

So thank you again and we shall look forward to your return.

Best regards

Martin Fells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Paul and I have just returned from Rocky's boutique Resort. Our room was right on the beach front. The room was well furnished with a lovely walk in shower bathroom. Our day started with a lovely breakfast. Sometimes the order was not quite what was asked for but what we got was still nice. The waiting staff were so attentive and helpful. During the day, whilst sunbathing, you were constantly offered iced water and fresh fruit sticks as well as chilled cloths to cool you off. There were plenty of loungers around the pool and on the beach. As soon as one was vacated it was replenished with fresh towels. We had a couples massage on the beach. That was a lovely experience but would suggest having it before 5pm as the bugs start showing up then!
There is a free shuttle bus into Lamai and Chaweng but outwith the shuttle times the hotel will drive you at a taxi cost.
We did the boat trip on the Josephine. It was good value. We saw lots of fish and actually caught a few small ones whilst fishing. Lunch on board was ok. Just not very interesting. A sandwich and a bowl of pasta with some fruit. You are taken to a beach for sunbathing so take something to lie on. You are provided with water shoes and a dry bag to keep your possessions safe and dry.
We had a couple of evening meals at the hotel. The tasting menu was amazing. The other night was the Thai themed evening. Other than the special nights on offer, the hotel is 'very' quiet in the evening. Even if you want to have a drink at the bar before going out, it will be quiet. We opted for going into town. It would have been nice if even one of the bars had some music in the evening. The whole resort looks like a fairy land in the evening with twinkly lights all over the trees and plants. I have read reports that there was no beach. I think that must be a seasonal problem. In May, there is a beach. Albeit a small one. It is kept very clean.
I would recommend this resort if you want a quiet resort with added luxuries.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel was lovely and so picturesque - especially at night. The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried.

The only downfall was that a taxi into town cost us about £7 each way which can mount up over a week's stay and the food prices were expensive at the hotel.

As it was our honeymoon we have a meal on the beach and a massage on the beach. I would definitely recommend both of these and it was a truly outstanding experience.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The garden view room was very private with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
762 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
778 reviews
6.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $123 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing