We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have just spent 5 days at Rockys Boutique with my boyfriend and his mum and step dad. We had an absolutely fantastic time.
The resort; Was so beautiful and especially at night with all the fairy lights draped around the resort, the rooms were great size, spotless clean (cleaners come in twice a day if you want) everything was perfect around the resort, the staff work very hard everyday to ensure everything around the resort is perfect.
The staff; were so attentive, friendly and nothing was a problem - Lucas was our host in the morning who would always come round at breakfast ask how we were, recommend thighs to do places to eat in Lami etc wa really good to have someone like that.
The area; Lami was a nice area to go into for dinner at night there was is a bistro in the resort but it's nice to get out, there was free shuttle taxis into Lami everyday which was really handy. It was only a 5 min drive.
We went on a boat trip one of the days which was run by the resort we hired a private boat for just us and they took us to a lovely area to snorkel and then had some lunch which was included in the price and then stopped at a beach and done some fishing too was a lovely day out and definately a highlight of out holiday here.
Overall had a great holiday and would definately recommend this place to anyone this resort is suits to all ages, couples and families. Big thumbs up from us!! Thanks to all the staff at Rockys we had a great time keep up your hard work!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemcam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you. And thanks for giving our boat, Josephine a mention. she really is only for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Rocky's Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

If You want to spend a beautiful time in paradise we recommend to visit this hotel. It was for us the first place where the reality is better then photos from hotel web. The whole hotel is made like a design jewel, you are not able to find two equal places, every nook is another but beautiful. But the most valuable in this hotel is unbelievable level of guest care. You will be cherished all the time by plenty of sweet pushovers. Many thanks to management and all hotel employees.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juraj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just returning from 8 days at rocky boutique resort i can understand why this in at the top of this list on Trip Advisor. After hunting around for accommodation we settles on Rockys due to a friends wedding being held there.

To be honest the photos I saw on trip advisor made me feel a little average about the resort but on arrive i was blown away by the unique oasis that is Rocky s. We arranged the hotel transfer which I recommend paying for (air-con coach 1000baht) who waited for our bags to arrive on a second flight. On arriving at 11:00pm we were greeted by staff as soon as we got out of the coach and led to reception (10 meters walk) and met by an additional two staff who warmly welcomed us and were given a cold towel with some type of red drink that I could have drank gallons of (tasty). Then we were upgrade to the Villa which was awesome considering how many days we would be staying.

We walked to our villa and on entering the Villa the back door opened and our bags were delivered. Its a small thing but i hate waiting for bags to be delivered once in the room. The villa was massive with two master bedrooms, ultra cool bathrooms and 2 separate livingrooms. Everything you could ask for is in the villa... it is a self contained apartment.

The next day we wandered around the grounds which the attention to detail just blows you away, beautiful gardens, flower fountains, sitting areas and 3 pools with cocktail bars. The gardens are epic! To get around town we requested for a scooter which was delivered within 5 minutes and my drivers licence copy held with the hotel. No need to leave your passport with some company if you hire from the street.
Throughout the stay the service is top notch, a shout out for Jacky, this guy was always on hand (day & night) smiling friendly and I don't know when he sleeps!

Whenever we ordered room service the food was excellent and delivered within 10-15 minutes. I ordered Ice for some pre party drinks and it was at our door within 1 minuet (not kidding). Dinner and Breakfast at the restaurant(s) is also delectable... i could not find fault in any dish and we had plenty.

The staff are always smiling and always happy to help with whatever request you have. The owners and management put on free cocktails at the pool bar friday night and you can always see them walking around the Resort... that is why this place runs with a polished fluency.
We visited the Phenix hotel where some friends were staying 10mins walk down the road and the service was horrendous, slow and confused.. it was day and night compared to Rockys.
Its a great resort to just zone out by the pool or as we did the private villa pool, its not action packed full of backpackers but if thats what you are after book Arcbar in Chaweng. Getting around the island is simple just jump on a scooter or grab a taxi for 500 Bhat.

Now the negatives: They are small:

1.Our villa rooms (1102) didn't have any mosquito net over the bed and never thought about it until we noticed the hook on our last night. We kept all the doors closed day and night but they kept getting in (strangely in the bottom onsite). This was annoying getting bitten when trying to sleep, villa next door had no mosquitos 1101. We used the mosquito devises also, i think they may be getting in through wall gap, pipe work, door gaps or something (needs looking into).
2.The beach is nice to chill out at but its not the best for swimming.
3.The location is 15-20mins away from the action.. but we had no issue with that.
3.Kids we all were one at some stage but as DINK`s (double income no kids) its always nice to stay at a resort that has a kid free pool. I would recommend that the lower pool by the beach be a kid designated pool leaving the top pool for the adults or the other way around. It only takes one child to kick off to ruin everyones relaxation by the pool & when paying to relax this should not be impacted by children.

Well done to the staff and management of Rocky`s .. we will be back!

Room Tip: Villa 1002 had the best sun option over villa 1001
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Rocky's unfortunately did not live up to our expectations. Sorry to say this, but it turned out to be the worst place we have stayed in Thailand, EVER....
Arriving late thursday evening, 6. feb 2014, we were hungry and went to The Dining Room and ordered a steak (Well done), which came out half raw. Unfortunately we didn't noticed this in time because of the light in the restaurent. We did however notise the dead spider on the plate under the bread, and send it back out to the kitchen.
Going to bed for a good night's sleep, we were deprived of our sleep due to a wedding party taking place over The Dining Room. Apparently they don't mind loud music from wedingparties, keeping the other paying guests awake, and our complaint to the receptionist at the front desk were ignored.
Next morning and very tired, we had breakfast in the same restaurent, Scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and fried egg.
The scrambled egg was more egg-soup than scrambled, and the fried egg was partly raw and cold. So was bacon and sausage.
4 hours later we had a first ever in Thailand, DIARRHEA...walking up and down the street of Chaweng, wisiting one toilet after another and had to get pills at the local farmacia. Now, whenever we visit our family in Bangkok and explore the city, we often just grab something to eat at one of the streetkitchens that are everywhere, and we have never had anny kind of problems doing that, so you can probably understand our surprise to the fact that a 4 Star Hotel with an awardwinning kitchen can't cook egg's.....
Now, it might have been just a mistake on the first day, so on saturday we gave the same order for breakfast, and got the same crap. Needles to say, the dishes never got to touch the table before we sent everything right back to the kitchen.
For the rest of our holiday, we made do with anything the chef did not have to cook. Toast, youghurt, cake, whatever food had to originate from outside the hotel. I meen, who can posibly mess up taking bread out of a plasticbag???

Going to bed monday evening, there was yet another wedding, and again we didn't get to go to sleep befor past 1am. And like on thursday there was absolutely no assistance from the front desk when we complained about the noise. Apparently only the manager could do something about the noise and he was home sleeping.... We could talk to him in the morning at 8am. (Same time we got picked up for our prebooked tour to Ang Thon National Park).
Thanks for nothing....
After our tour to the National Park, I went looking for the manager, who was busy doing a fotoshoot, but I did talk to an assistant (or at least I think he was. I was frankly too tired and angry to notice). I presented him with our complaints and he did offer us free dinner at The Dining Room that same evening. It was supposed to be safe as it was Thai-evening....Please read that last part again....that's actualy what the man said...I declined the offer and kept wanting to talk to the manager. The assistant accepted my refusal and said that he would return with an answer from the manager soon.
I am writing this on friday 7. marts 2014 at home in denmark, still waiting for the reply....

It's not that we wanted to be overly compensated in any way. All we wanted was for our last 24 hours in Thailand to be perfect and to get an honest apology for Rocky's attempt to ruin our vacation. Nothing Rocky's could ever offer us would give us back the days/nights we have lost.

Now, not everything at Rocky's is a mess.
The girls at the front desk are just as helpful as they are at any other 4-5 star resort, and the garden surroundings are absolutely wonderful with breakfast in the sunrise on the cliffs right by the water. Beautiful.

Rocky's motto is: WHEN YOU'RE AT ROCKY'S YOU'RE FAMILY
We paid about 36.000 Bath for 6 nights to be treated "like family".
Now, if this is how you are beeing treated for 36.000 Bath I'm glad I'm not related. The fact that Rocky's are unable to plan and execute a weddingparty in respect to ALL their paying guests is completely unacceptable. But you know, the largest moneybag gets to decide whats right and whats not.

I have a feeling the Hotel is going to write some kind response to this review, so to help them remember who we were, we stayed in room 407 from thursday 6. marts 2014 to wednesday evening 12. marts 2014
Everything written here has also been written on Rocky's own evaluation form (and then some), so I should think, that they have had sufficient warning. Have Rocky's mislaid the form, we can allways send them a copy. Got a picture of it before handing it over at the front disk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Henrik9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We really want to recoment your hotel, we have stayed there twice
You provided an exelent and friendly service. Your beach houses
Are more than nice. Garden, beach and the whole area are nicely
Keept.
Brgds
Marianne Christiansen

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from our first trip to Rockys. Everything the other reviews are saying is true. The resort is beautiful, thoughtfully designed with extra special touches e.g. unlimited iced water served by the pool and on the beach, fruit on sticks brought to you twice a day, ice cold flannels brought to you in late afternoon to cool you down. The gardens are stunning, with little statues and water features dotted around. There are two pools, the beachfront one is smaller than the garden pool. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean, again with finishing touches such as incense sticks supplied and when the turn down service is done, they light a small oil burner so that when you come back, your room smells amazing. There are flowers everywhere! Outside each room is a bowl of water, full of flowers, with a ladle so you can wash your feet before entering. The food is delicious in both the Dining Room and the Bistro, but is expensive by Thai standards. Do try these restaurants out though. One downside is that the property is set on a VERY steep slope, and many paths are uneven. This could make it unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues. Beachfront rooms are really nice, a bit more private and at the bottom of the hill, close to the Dining room where breakfast is served. Staff are very attentive and friendly. I would like to give a special mention to the following staff members: Thank you to Tien (food and beverages), a truly great guy who will help you not only with food related matters, but on anything you need help or advice with to make your holiday better. Thank you also to Jacky (food and beverages) who seemed to work tirelessly. Thank you also to Kott (beachside pool) for keeping us hydrated. Huge thanks to Eve for keeping our room spotlessly clean, and for putting endless orchids in our room because she knew we liked them. It is good to see a high presence from managers around the hotel. The free shuttle buses into Lamai and Chewang are very useful. There are some good restaurants within walking distance but if you do decide to hire a scooter, do it via hotel reception. Be aware that driving here is not for the faint hearted! Petrol is sold in glass bottles at the roadside!! Health and safety have not yet made it to Koh Samui, but don't let that put you off. Go and visit other places, drive through the craziness of Lamai and Chewang, knowing that at the end of the journey you will be returning to Rockys ~ your very own island in a sea of madness. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms offer the most privacy and have stunning views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ionlytravelfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We celebrated my 50th birthday here at Rockys resort. Beautiful setting with dinner on the rocks, attentive staff and a surprise birthday cake from the kitchen. We stayed in a Garden pool view room. The rooms were spotless, beautiful decor, plenty of room, fresh bottled water. The pools and surrounding gardens are immaculatly presented. The massages are well worth the experience on the beach or in the garden setting. The staff in every department are always smiling, so helpful. Truly memorable holiday for us

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
744 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
773 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $122 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing