We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a return visit to Rocky's and I am pleased to say this resort is as good as ever - the staff are excellent - friendly and efficient. Special mentions to Tien - a wealth of information on Thailand and its culture and Lucas who goes out of his way to chat, arrange and sort things out. There is a real culture here that the guest comes first - there are few places we have stayed where the manager (Martin) is happy to sit at the bat and chat.

The resort its self is small, well set up and kept immaculate. There is no road noise and plenty of space to chill by one of the two pools on or the beach.

The food is very good and there are a couple of excellent local restaurants as well - frequented by the locals - offering amazing meals looking out over the beach.

Overall we cannot fault Rocky's and we will no doubt be back again soon!

Room Tip: The pool view rooms can be noisier during the day - but then you should be out and about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    278
    69
    25
    7
See reviews for
457
1,096
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came to marry two friends, the ceremony was incredible !! A luxurious place, nice rooms, nice small buildings, 2 extremely beautiful swimming pools with nice gardens, great thai bistrot, wonderful breakfast looking at the sea. Little downsides : the rooms are humid, pool view rooms are a little noisy on the ground floor, the pools are closed during the night, the little rocks on the beach, the unfriendly and expansive public taxis to go the shopping area in the island. We stayed in the hotel during our 3-day trip, in this paradise, away from the too urban Koh Samui island.

Room Tip: garden view better than pool view at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anais C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

we arive to Rocky's after staying in 3 other 4-5 star hotels, and planened to stay for 3 days. we end up staying 9 and wish we could stay some more. the location is unbelivable,day and night.
we came with a 2 year old child. the kids club is very nice with activities, the garden pool is great for kids and to beach pool is right near the sea. the tai resterant is reletive O.K. price wise, with the best tai food we ate. the oriental resterant is right on the beach is the most beutiful place, great food but expencive.
the servise is very personal, this is not a big resort and all the staff are extrimly nice and polite and helpful.
everything is always clean and service is always with a smile !!!
most evening they have some enterteiment.
the resort is little remote from other places and the food and drinks are reletivly high, however, the cost of rooms are not very expencive reletive to other 4-5 start hotels, so even with additional cost for food/drinks/taxi this is the best value per monay location we have being to. we staying in a garden view room wihic was beutiful.
I hope we will be able to come back some day.

one thing they need to improve - kids pool must have shade

Room Tip: don't go on a safari trip in tailand. they abuse the animals. you can go on the privet boat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I really don't know where to begin with this resort other than to say I have never stayed at a finer place. There is not a single thing bad or even a tiny bit disappointing for me to write about. The ocean side suite was beyond cool. The amenities, the cleanliness of everything there, the exceptionally friendly staff, I mean every level and every detail of this resort was far beyond what I expected or have seen in our past travels. I know I sound like a shell for Rocky's but it's just that I was truly blown away by them. In my opinion don't walk, run to Rocky's if your looking for a relaxing time and want to be pampered beyond belief.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the ocean side suites won't disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bplager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had our wedding at Rocky's and everything was simply perfect, an amazing wedding and an incredible holiday.

From the moment we arrived everything about Rocky's made us feel relaxed, our room was incredible, the service was friendly, yet professional, the food was delicious (both Thai and Western), the prices were incredibly good, but the setting was what made the place absolutely incredible.

All in all this was probably the best holiday I have ever had.

The attention to detail is incredible with little touches like complimentary iced water and fruit sticks served at the pool and a turn down service with different little sweet treats every evening to complimentary beach bags, sun hats snorkels and sea shoes.

It would be unfair to single any single member of staff out for praise as they were all fantastic, coupled with a very high visibility management team who obviously took an interest in each guests stay make this a really special place.

The wedding itself was perfect and the hotel could not have done more for us, Ann the wedding co-ordinator is an absolute star.

If you are considering a holiday or a wedding in Thailand then you will not get better than Rocky's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanzaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday in Koh Samui to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed at Rocky's for the first 5 nights and then we stayed at another resort on the north side of the island for a further 4 nights. We holidayed with another couple (also celebrating their wedding anniversary) - this was their 3rd time back to the resort as they loved it so much - and now having stayed here, I can see why - the hotel's photos certainly do not do it justice. It really is a special place - small and intimate and set on a very private beach. We stayed in a deluxe garden pool view room. After having visited Chaweng and Lamai I was glad we could retreat back to the peaceful and lovely resort. My husband and I were very impressed with the resort and their attention to detail - it was the perfect start to our first holiday without our children. It truly is a boutique resort and certainly stands out from many other resorts we have stayed in. I totally agree with all that has been said in the earlier reviews of the resort so there is no point repeating it here as it certainly lives us to the expectation. We had a fun time doing their cooking lessons (more like a private lesson as there was only the 3 of us), kayaking to the grandfather/grandmother rock, witnessing a wedding being held on the beach at the resort (perfect location), traditional Thai massages and generally lazing around the pool. We also hired a car for the day and drove around the island - visited the waterfalls, stopped at a beautiful beach for a swim and in Nathong we had a great lunch (really cheap) and discovered great shopping. If you like eating outside of the hotel, there are 2 within walking distance. The only downside is the limited shuttle service to/from Lamai and Chaweng - which is only a problem if you want to eat out or go shopping. We were lucky we could split the taxi fares with our friends. Alternatively hiring a car or bike is another option though we did witness many near miss accidents due to rider stupidity. We very much enjoyed our stay at Rocky's and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeachandSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are just back from Thailand which included 7 nights at Rocky's. The site was re-built 10 years ago and has been maintained to an immaculate standard, it looks like new. The staff are all great and really make an effort to look after the guests. Quality of the breakfast is excellent which includes choice of freshly cooked mains from a menu.

Rocky's is almost a tranquil island of it's own and at times it's hard to believe how different the main Lamai beach area is. Depending on what you like to do, that can be good or bad, as for those of us that expected to walk to a selection of restaurants you will need a taxi to Lamai which costs £6 each way. Rocky's do offer a free shuttle bus but the last trip is 5pm which is too early for a night out and there is no collection after 5.15pm. Appreciate Rocky's want everyone to stay at the hotel for meals but for the real Thai experience you need to venture out some nights. Don't take that as a complaint on the Rocky's restaurant's as they are excellent. Wine is expensive but that seems to be common in Thailand and if I am being really picky I think Rocky's should provide water FOC with a meal, rather than expect you to pay £5 a bottle, especially as they happily provide it free during the day.

Beach is very small although we had no problem in getting a sunbed each day. If you are an avid snorkeler you may find the sea a little disappointing compared to other areas.

Despite the odd negative (in our opinion) we did love Rocky's and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Pool garden area I would recommend in preference to ground floor beach view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you, "Rocky's is almost a tranquil island of it's own" What a nice comment, I can understand how you felt this way.

Tours and activities outside our resort are not always first class, saying that, most of these type of tours around the world are not either. Try more of our own activities, we control the quality of them and there really are the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing