We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dream Lives On!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Dream Lives On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The most beautifully decorated rooms, stunning Thai gardens, wonderful staff and world class cuisine, all combine to leave stirring memories to last a lifetime! We visited Rocky's in early September 2012 and from the moment we arrived as Honeymooners, gifts were lavished upon us. We were greeted with flowers, sparkling wine and fruit in our complimentary upgraded room, given linen bathrooms embroidered with our initials, enjoyed a 7 course complimentary dinner a deux on the beach and were kept entertained by the various acts of dancing etc in the evening - how fantastic was all that!! Of course, you don't have to be honeymooners to enjoy the special ambience of this spectacular hotel. The warmest welcome extends from these lovely people to everyone. With 2 swimmings pools each with its own bar plus small but stunning beach, excellent bistro as well as a main restaurant overlooking the bay with fabulous view beyond, it has to be said .... Rocky's rocks - and we personally can't wait to live the dream again!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one by the top pool opposite the Bistro Restaurant. It will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocktailcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you, looks like we ticked all the boxes for you like most. The rooms you are recommending are the pool view rooms if anyone was wondering, very spacious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    274
    68
    25
    7
See reviews for
454
1,086
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rockys for our honeymoon between the 7th and 21st June 2013. Well where do we start?! The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in a deluxe beach villa which directly overlooked the hotels own private beach. The room was tastefully decorated and was impeccably clean at all times. It was also decorated with extra little touches such as fresh flower petals each day. Every member of staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. The food in the restaurant is fantastic and breakfast is absolutely out of this world. There is such an extensive choice of food and even then if you still would like something else then they will make it for you. The Rockys breakfast is a definite recommend!!! The staff also go out of their way to make you feel like part of the family. There are lots of little touches such as being given cold water when relaxing on the beach or by the pools and also fresh fruit kebabs which are delicious which also make this place feel extra special. The hotel itself is very peaceful as it is set away from the main resorts on the island of Samui, chaweng and lanai beach. However, there is a shuttle bus which runs from the hotel daily to both resorts which is free of charge. The only downside to this is the last bus leaves from the hotel at 5pm so you have to leave the beach a bit earlier than planned to make use of it. However, a taxi is only 200 baht but this can be bartered. The only issue with the peaceful element of the resort is that whilst were staying there were a number of screaming children staying too which was not ideally what we wanted to hear when trying to relax on the beach or by the beach front pool. With there being two pools at the resort including the larger garden pool it might well be a suggestion to keep the smaller beach front pool as an adult only one. There is also a complimentary free cocktail hour on every Friday where you can drink as much cocktail as you want! This was a lovely touch as they also provide canapés and all the staff and even the management attend and make a point of introducing themselves to all the guests particularly Martin. It was following this cocktail night that Martin even ended up being our own personal guide for the remainder of the night!!! The only downside to the resort as a whole is the beach. It so lovely to relax on but it is not great for swimming as the water is very shallow and particularly rocky under foot, hence the name!!! However, lamai beach is only 5 mins up the road and this is lovely. But overall do not let this put you off!! The resort is amazing and the positives far out weigh any minor negatives! We could not have asked for a better place to have spent our honeymoon and we thank everyone for their efforts in making the start of our married life so special!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midds1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As everyone else has said, Rocky's is a beautiful resort. There are two pools and the rooms are clean and comfortable and the wifi was decent. It's not cheap though and you need to use the free shuttle bus (which goes three times a day) or get a tuk tuk into Lamai to get to other restaurants and bars. That said, there was a decent Italian place across the road and a great vegetarian place within walking distance (Vikasa Yoga Retreat and Restaurant).

If you've got the cash it's highly recommended for a quiet holiday. If you want to be in the centre of the action and spend less money there are other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritTravellingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful beach resort I've ever stayed in. The Jr Suite rooms right on the beach was amazing, comfortable and accommodating. The service and attention of the personal throughout the hotel was highly professional and curtious. The hotel rep for guests (Lucas) was most helpful and informative. The Dinning Room restaurant is a must, so is The Bistro. The free use of the canoes and snorkelling equipment was appreciated. Beautiful pools and surrounding area, most relaxing stay.
Definitely worth considering if travelling to Koh Samui.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you, Lucas is a new addition to our team, his job is to make sure that you have everything you want or need and to advise on what there is to do on the island and around the resort. I am happy that you found him useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived at Rockys. The hotel makes for a very relaxing atmosphere and that was exactly what we came here for, One thing I would suggest is that they make a chill out room with soft chairs and settees so as you can have a quiet drink after a meal as apposed to sitting around the bar pool. So once again thanks to Rockys and all their staff for a wonderful fortnight.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room which was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you, The library is quiet relaxing and air conditioned, it is also close to the pool bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved Rockys stayed for 5 Nights with 2 children in ocean view room which had plenty of room. Pool always had plenty of lounges and places to sit and relax. Facilities were great, breakfast was too. Didn't swim in the beach as it was a bit rocky but loved the beach at Lamai, a short tuk tuk away. Would stay here again for sure. Staff were always so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneVllle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your king works, yes the beach is a little rocky and not the reason why we call our resort Rocky's hehehe. We are having a big beach clean shortly again to remove them to make is safe and comfortable for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am sitting at the pool at Rockys right now and never want to go home. Everything here is perfect. The people who write bad reviews of this place would never be satisfied no matter what. Yes Rockys is expensive for Thailand but you are paying for luxury and fantastic service. Every little detail is perfect, staff treat you like family, the General Manager and owners come around and greet you like friends. Everything is spotlessly clean and the food is to die for. If you want cheap and nasty, go down the road to Lamai, if you want truly excellent service and 5 star resort, stay at Rockys.

Room Tip: Remember you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whereami123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you, You could have stayed, hehehe. People have very different ideas of what Rocky's is and is about. When you are Rocky's you are family is our mission statement which we constantly strive to maintain and improve. Our complementary Friday cocktail party is an example where all our managers are there to talk with you and try to understand your full needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
8.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing