We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, Modest and Luxurious! Will definitely come back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed, Modest and Luxurious! Will definitely come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you want a relaxed, welcoming, traditional Thai style beach resort then Rocky's is for you. Absolutely NOT pretentious. We stayed in a Deluxe Garden View and it was fantastic; huge and so secluded and quiet. From our huge bathroom there's opening into our private coutyard with waterfall, enormous coi in the fish pond and observation deck 5 metres from our front door, overlooking the beach and temples.

The staff are all fantastic and there's a gentle humility amongst the staff that really did make us feel like family.

If you want to be treated like a rockstar - go stay in the city - Rocky's is all about relaxation, smiles and sun. I love it and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Garden view is very quiet and private. The only "drawback" - if you consider it so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai293918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you, You actually stayed in what used to be the owners cottage, we upgraded you as a special treat, we do try to upgrade whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    274
    68
    25
    7
See reviews for
454
1,086
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Rocky's for 2 weeks from April 13th to April 27th. There were both positive and negative aspects to our stay which I will go through. I also want to pick up on some of the points made in recent reviews and give my opinion.

We stayed in room 901 which is a Junior Oceanview suite and the same one as KarenfromTod stayed in below. We also found the room to be blocked however in fairness to Rocky's the removed some of the obscuring branches enabling a better view of the sea. This is proof that Rocky's does take our feedback very seriously and will act to improve guest experience if they can.

Rocky's is a quiet resort with only 50 rooms therefore it never feels crowded. We only had to wait to be seated once at breakfast time but quickly learnt that if you pick your time more carefully there is no waiting.

The resort is hilly. To get from the restaurant to the garden pool involves a short but steep climb up a few steps. If you have mobility issues you should consider this before booking Rocky's.

Sometimes there was a lack of available sun loungers. People tend to get up and put a towel and a book on a couple of loungers and then go off for a couple of hours. This isn't fair on the other residents and Rocky's should look to do something about this.

The resort itself is beautiful, the gardening staff should be commended for the work they do. In the daytime there is a massive vibrancy of colours, at night time the lights come on and create a twinkling wonderland. You would be hard pressed to find anywhere prettier.

The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful to us. Right down from Martin (the GM) to all the various chambermaids and gardeners. Without fail, everyone greeted us and smiled when we passed by. At night time you even get a military style salute from the security guard who stands by reception. I would like to mention Boi, and Bob the barman in particular. Boi's enthusiasm for the resort and his job is refreshing to see.

The food is very good. The breakfasts are excellent. You can choose from an a la carte menu with about 20 beautifully presented items on it and there are further buffet options. We didn't quite get round all the options but can highly recommend the blueberry pancake.

The food itself is expensive for what it is, whilst appreciating that Rocky's is a resort and expecting to pay a premium we felt the pricing needs to be addressed a bit. On any item you order there is a compulsory tax and service surcharge which adds another 17% on to the cost. As an example, say you ordered a plate of pad thai, the menu price is 250THB. The final cost will be just a shade under 300 THB -Sometimes stretching the "fine dining" experience a little far. You may also want to go and source your own mini bar items - Rockys will happily charge you 70 THB (plus tax and service) for an items like soda water which you can buy yourself for 7 THB at any Family Mart or 7 Eleven.

Our holiday was not without issues. We had a faulty AC unit which leaked water on 3 separate occasions. Our room was also above an unoccupied room which Rocky's decided to start renovating half way through the first week of our stay. From approx. 10 in the morning to late afternoon there was a great deal of noise in the form of drills, banging and other power tools. If you fancied retreating from the sun into the comfort of your air conditioned room during the afternoon for a nap you had a bit of an challenge. In fairness to Rocky's, Boi said that at any time, if the noise was too much, to call him and he would get them to be quieter (I am not sure how you can drill more quietly..). They also treated us to dinner on one of the evenings as a way of compensating which was much appreciated. The other unfortunate result of the renovation work was that we were without hot water on 3 separate occasions which was annoying especially considering the money we had paid to stay at the resort. Again in fairness to Rocky's whenever we had an issue and reported it, they sent an engineer up as quick as a flash to try and sort it out - its just that we weren't really expecting so many issues to begin with..

The resort is very clean and the rooms are clean. One last point is that we felt our room was a little jaded in relation to the décor and felt that possibly, it may have been next in line for a touch of redecoration..

A couple of final points, the reviewer who mentions rabid dogs is talking nonsense. There are a lot of dogs on Samui but none are rabid (there is a program in place to prevent rabies). All the dogs we saw were very placid and perfectly amiable. There is also no Dengue fever on the island so don't worry about that either.

In summary, Rocky's is a lovely place which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UkCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you, Indeed we do listen. Guests are asked to complete a questionnaire before leaving, all these are read out at my daily management meetings. This is the best way I find to get ideas about making Rocky's better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I came to Rocky's for a 9 night stay for our honeymoon in April. When arriving at Rocky's, my husband and I both thought it was lovely place. Unfortunately our stay did not get off to the greatest of starts. Although we had asked for a sea view we ended up with a fairly blocked garden view. The staff at the reception said to contact our rep from the travel company. So we did, sadly to find an agitated rep on the end of the phone. Although my fiancé spoke to the rep calmly he got annoyed we had called him during his dinner and ended up swearing at my husband. Something we never imagined from an expensive holiday which also happened to be the most special holiday we were to have! We contacted our travel company to make a complaint but in the meantime felt it was important to let the general manager know what had happened as he knew the rep well (as he is in the hotel most days). I clearly stated to the manger that I wanted the rep to apologise to my husband. The manager decided to stay impartial and said he was talk to us about it at breakfast the next day. The next morning at breakfast we had to FIND him and he still didn't seem to emphasise at all. The outcome- nothing done by the manager or by Rocky's about this. Eventually when we got home we were contacted by the travel company and offered compensation. Although I understand the rep is not directly employed by Rocky's, I still felt something could have been done while we were there and feeling so upset about how we were treated. A great hotel is not just one which is fabulous when all is good, but one which can deal with things when it goes a bit wrong too! Ignoring it and brushing it aside 'it doesn't have anything to with us approach' never helps. Such a shame!

Positives about the hotel - food was wonderful, resort is very clean and staff are friendly.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Catlover2013-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights after visiting other places around Thailand first.
This is a very lovely hotel with gorgeous surroundings.
If you want a hotel away from all the hustle and bustle then this is a great choice.

If you do want to visit the local towns a songtow is only about a 10 minute ride to Lamai at about 200BHT for 2ppl or 20 Minutes to Chaweng at about 300BHT for 2ppl one way.
A taxi to Lamai was 300BHT one way and there are always a few sitting at the top of the road which means you don’t need to pre-book one. There are some great restaurants in the towns so worth a venture out.

We ate in the hotel on the first night which was Thai night. We were told we wouldn’t need to book a table but when we arrived was told there were no tables available, however, they did manage to find one? The food was nice but for the price we had definitely experienced better Thai food in other places and paid less. The Thai restaurants have much more variety as well than the associated Thai dishes we commonly know (e.g. Thai green curry) which were served here.

For massage/manis/Pedis there is a great place called Herbs based in Lamai and Chaweng. The ladies are lovely and unlike a lot of places in mainland Thailand these are beauty only – No Happy Endings!

Just a few things that let this hotel down:
• The mould on the side of the pool
• The time of the turn down service (too early they would knock about 5.30pm / 6pm when we were wanting to get ready for the evening) 9pm – 11pm would perhaps be a better time
• Service in the restaurants was slow (e.g. nearly an hour for a bowl of soup - but staff were always pleasant & helpful
• There is a small beach that the restaurant over looks which isn’t part of the hotel and this is very dirty – not a great sight to see when eating your breakfast!
• No aircon except for the bedrooms meant sweating at dinner time in the heat - the fans blowing the hot air about just didn’t do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you foryour honest review,we are taking you comments seriously and addressing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had 11 nights here celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary in April 2013. There's just something about this place that feels different. At first glance it appears small but as you familiarise yourself with the resort you appreciate that it's much bigger - there's enough space for everyone without everyone being in one place. The gardens are incredible and fill every available nook and crannie.
Accommodation is to a very high standard although I wished we had booked one of the villas right on the beachfront but that's just my personal taste. The rooms are lovely and you have everything you need - even a sunhat each and a beach bag! The beds are large and comfortable, the showers are great and there's free bottled water every day.
Poolside there are limited sunbeds which did become a problem on the odd day with people "reserving" beds and not using them until after lunchtime. I have to admit that I joined in the "reservation game" simply because if you are planning a day sunbathing, you do need somewhere to rest. I know that the management are aware of this issue and hopefully it will be addressed.
Whilst sunbathing we were brought fruit kebabs every day and the barmen brought glasses of fresh iced water (which is always available from a table near the pool bar) to us as we lounged - very decadent!
All the staff were wonderful and always more than happy to help. Everyone greeted us from the gardeners to the Manager whenever we met. After only a few days it felt very familiar and like home.
The beach is small but I have to say that that is the beauty of this place - completely private and cut off from other holiday makers. We left our beach bags to go swimming and felt completely safe to do so.
The weddings were wonderful - we saw 3 and each one was different from the others. I cried watching them all!
We hired the hotel boat for the day with some friends and had an amazing day fishing, snorkelling, eating the gorgeous food provided - it was wonderful and highly recommended.
My husband did the Thai cookery course and thoroughly enjoyed it - I enjoyed sampling the food.
Breakfast really is to die for - there's something for everyone from the wide menu choice. I'm missing the lemon souffle pancake and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and asparagus.
Eating in the Bistro and Dining Room during the day and at evenings is a little pricey and although we didn't do this every day, when we did the food not only looked amazing but was delicious and in ample portions.
There are a couple of restaurants along the beach from the hotel which are cheap and cheerful and serve excellent food for the days you want to wander out. You can get to these along the beach but I would recommend you doing it during the day the first time as its a bit tricky underfoot. Not surprisingly, Rocky's have a torch in your bedroom for any nighttime outings (see they think of everything!). The restaurants are within a 10 minute walking distance from the road - turn left at the main gates and walk past the temple and dive centre then you are there. I would suggest you wear something bright for any night time walks along the road so traffic can see you.
Getting about - we used the "Songtaews" which are fairly small covered but open backed utility vehicles - cheap and cheerful and perfectly safe. They just pick up from anywhere along the road and drop you wherever for just a few bhat and much much cheaper than taxis.
To sum up - Rocky's is very romantic, tranquil and classy which is in complete contrast to beautifu Koh Samui. It's a wonderful place to return to at the end of a long hot day sightseeing and you know that there are friendly faces genuinely happy to see you. If we were to return to the island we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else....can I say more?

Room Tip: 901 has a blocked view as there's a banana tree smack bang outside the balcony! Choose one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenfromTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went here for a wedding. It couldn't have been better. Stayed in an ocean view junior suite. The room was lovely, if a tad small. The bathroom was enormous. It was beautifully decorated. We didn't spend much time in it though. This suite was beside the smaller of the 2 pools which made it feel a little more exclusive.

The entire resort is well maintained and the service is excellent. The food is amazing and the cocktails were the best we had in Thailand. It's not cheap, but it is brilliant.

My only criticism is that they say they will remove towels from loungers unattended for more than 30 minutes to prevent people hogging them. Unfortunately this didn't happen and rather selfish people went off for hours leaving their towels on the loungers and making them seem in use to other customers. They should enforce this more.

Koh Samui is not my favourite island, but this resort is absolutely lovely and I would definitely recommend it as a holiday maker or for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms30721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

After reading the great reports on Tripadvisor about Rocky's I decided to make this part of our trip to Samui. I also stayed at Zazen, the number 2 boutique hotel on the island.
Rocky's is a pretty well oiled machine and the upkeep of it is pretty impressive. Most things looked new and I couldn't find anything to let this high standard down right through the resort.
The Staff are friendly right through and the owner certainly is trying to promote a ' we are all one big happy family' atmosphere, which it succeeds at.
We stayed in a Junior Beachfront Suite on the Beach and I found this to be far too small with no real identity to the design; to me it was dated. The small TV was set at a right angle to the bed so those who like to catch a bit of TV at any point will be disappointed with both the size of it and positioning.
The pool area is well manicured and does look pretty, the problem for me what that it was just too small and if you were to take a sun lounger it is literally butted up next to the adjacent bed. I did feel claustrophobic at Rocky's and prefer more space when on holiday. The beach and sea is also disappointing for swimmers as it is at best waist deep. Also, another point is that the sun loungers on the beach are the type that look good but are not very functional. They are a fixed design with a forty five degree angle for your head and shoulders - only contortionists will be able to sunbathe comfortably on these. With this said, the Garden area, which has two more pools, offers a little more breathing space and privacy, and for those who want to stay should consider this. There a minutes worth of steepish steps to navigate your way there so be aware of this. There was another way to this higher level which was through the car park half way down the approach to reception and going this way would probably take a few more minutes.
The restaurant was a disappointment I am afraid to say. Fine dining it is most certainly not, above average is what it was on the evening I ate. I had the 7 course wine pairing menu and it was lacklustre and unimaginative. The waitress was not versed on the courses and had to keep going for assistance to answer my questions and deal with my complaints. The wine pairing for the 7 courses amounted t a total of 4 half glasses of poorly matched wines. I did ask if there was a wine to each course upon ordering and was too 'yes'. I subsequently ordered a bottle when 45 mins after arriving and being served only half a glass of wine I was dehydrating; upon realising there was no wine with the next course after waiting several mins after the course arrived and enquiring as to its whereabouts. The final red of the 4 was so badly corked that just a small 'sniff' of this by the most uneducated nose would have made apparent but no, the manager comes down, Boi, after 5 minutes, puts his nose 2-3 inches from the top of the glass and has his 'sniff'' but couldn't identify a problem. Eventually, and obviously by which time we had finished our main course, the wine was replaced with a full glass of a replacement. Boi is a likeable and 'enthusiastic' member to the team but his limited knowledge will have him red faced if someone pulls him up on the spot...I didn't on the day.(apologies boy, you are a great guy but for me you need to try to 'reel it in' a little!)
Breakfast was top notch and an a la carte affair. The cinnamon toast was one of the tastiest things I have tasted and the restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, is beautifully and tastefully done.
To sum it up, Rocky's is an excellent resort that I would actually recommend to the right sort of person. I am just not one of them and this is no fault of Rocky's as they all do a great job.

Room Tip: I can only suggest that my Junior Beach Front room was too small and ergonomically 'wrong' a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinerThingsPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
8.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing