We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Leaving tomorrow have spent 9 nights at Rockys very well catered for beautiful surroundings, lovely private beach, truely a place to relax! Only one missing element a small gym or fitness room would be very welcolmed. In fact a hotel of this standard this would be expected therefore 4/5.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, I wish we did have a gym/fitness room, but alas no space for it. Our website does clearly show that we do not have on but do offer free complementary vouchers to use a local gym.
Saying that, we are considering plans to add a gym at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Rocky's Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Rocky's Boutique Resort is absolutely fantastic!
We stayed in the junior beachfront suite closest to the pool and only a few steps to the beach. The decor in the room was beautiful, we loved the bathroom, and the bed was comfortable.
The included breakfast was great value and all drinks / meals by the beach just what you wish for when booking a island holiday.
A massage in the outdoor day bed on the rocks by the beach is a must and the lighting at night reminds you how lucky you are to be staying at Rocky's.
It's only a short drive to Lamai beach by taxi and after exploring both Lamai and Chaweng we were ecstatically happy to be back at Rocky's.
If you are happy to be away from all the hustle and bustle of tourists in Chaweng and Lamai then Rocky's is for you.
The staff are very helpful, friendly, with great personalities and they made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The junior beachfront suite closest to the pool is only a few steps to the beach
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ta55hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you, sounds like you enjoyed you stay, our staff are happy to read your review, it makes their efforts worth while.
Yes it's only a few minutes from Lamai, Use our complementary schuttle bus, or the local taxis from reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My initial reason for staying at Rocky's was due to my correspondence with Ms. Roong. She was so helpful in booking my stay at Rocky's and for being so prompt in replying to all of my questions via email. Her professionalism made my visit close to perfect. I cannot begin to name all of the staff who were so kind and helpful. Everyone from the office ,restaurant, pool, beach, maintenance, drivers, room cleaners, massage ladies....there are too many to mention. However there is one member of the staff who seemed to be at Rocky's day and night who I watched interact with all of the guests. Mira was beyond amazing in how she seemed to be everywhere at the resort and was constantly helping guests. Her attentiveness to everyone and everything at Rocky's was beyond amazing. And her interactions, friendship and working relationship with the rest of the staff showed how truly professional Mira is. Aziz, Julian, Martin, Jack and Boat are also an integral part of the Rocky's team. I hope Rocky's doesn't lose any of these staff to some other resort on Samui. As long as they are there I will return and so will many of my friends. My only concern is the gorgeous ambiance of Rocky's is lost on occasion due to so many children at the resort. Rocky's is stunning and gorgeous and the ambiance does not lend itself to the family scene as much as it does to couples and adults. And my room and the food was fabulous!

Room Tip: Rooms by the garden and pool are great and a bit less expensive. The suites by the ocean are fabulo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you Tim, we all miss you already.
If you want to stay away from children, and there are not that many here except for peak season, use the small beach by the beach front room 333.
I feel disappointed after reading your review that we only got a 4/5, may I ask where we went wrong?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rocky’s is one the places everyone should be able to visit at least once.

The rooms are beautiful, full of details with gorgeous ornaments and stunning choice of colors. Food is probably best on the island and staffs are excellent. The only negative thing is their popularity in wedding business. One wedding ceremony during your stay makes the week feel special (the flower arrangements were gorgeous) but after three drum parades you start thinking of going out to the town to avoid the noise. You can avoid it easily though, by taking one of their free kayaks and kayaking away for an hour or by staying at the second pool up in the garden. The resort has two good-sized pools that sit well to the landscape, and the garden is lush. They even have a little river there.

The best thing about Rocky’s? It’s people. Everyone were polite, friendly and accommodating but some were just stars: Thank you Julian for your professional yet very friendly attention, Azizs for the best food we have ever had (if you start cooking classes for fine dining, we will be straight back at Rocky’s), Mira for amazing assistance with all our trips, teaching us Thai and always keeping us updated of daily activities (Do you ever sleep??) and Martin for always having time to have beer with us on happy hours.

Thanks all for great stay, you made our holiday perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank youme2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass on you comments to the team. It's true we do have a lot of weddings, we average about 1.2 a week so you were unlucky to have a few in a row, however we never have 2 days in a row. They are usually well spaced out. If in doubt do check with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The resort is so beautiful and tranquil. We needed a week of relaxation and that is exactly what we got. They treat the guests like family. If you need anything, they take care of it. I actually had to go to the hospital for a medical emergency and they were so kind. They had the shuttle take us and asked how I was doing throughout our stay. They made the situation much better and I am grateful for that. We haven't taken a relaxing vacation like that since our honeymoon and we travel a lot! So thanks again Rocky's for making our vacation amazing!!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a climb up the stairs, the higher rooms have a great view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarriandJohn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you, we were happy that your hospital trip work out OK. It was an absolute pleasure having you here. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Before I start, I dont know who Matt N is, see his review but he/she obviously has delusions of grandure!!!!! Ignore his comments.
We have have just returned from a two week holiday in Thailand including 7 nights spent at Rockys and what a wonderful experience we had. From arrival to leaving we received nothing but first class service. Our room, a garden view room, was very clean and spacious and the bed and pillows were really comfortable Ok the view from the balony was not spectacular but personally I would rather watch a sun set sat in a bar on the beach from than from my room. I could controll the air conditioning (which was also very quiet) perfectly to ensure a good nights sleep. The food in the "Bistro" was very good and in the "Dining Room" excellent. The service from all the staff was very good with all the unconditional politeness you get from Thai people. I would particulary like to thank Kott (thanks for the constant supply of water and fruit skewers by the pool), Boi, watch you toes!!! (only joking) and Tiew who always showed interest in what we were doing each day. This hotel really comes into its own at night with the magical lighting throughout the gardens and around both restaurants. We dined 4 times in the "Dining Room", a buffet night and a Thai night, a Valentines special evening which was magical, sat at a table on the rocks overlooking the sea (how romantic does that get) and our final evening from the al acarte menue and all the food was excellent, the chef is top quality. What could they do better? - not much, we had a brilliant holiday and would definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you, Our garden view rooms are just that, and they are our cheapest rooms too, for a great view, try rooms 903 to 906, amazing ocean view rooms. Actually the owners villa is now available, a 2 bedroom 2 story Thai villa, great view from upstairs with you own private balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have recently returned from spending at week at Rocky's. I could honestly not recommend this place highly enough. Yes, it is not the cheapest place on the island but - as with anything - you get what you pay for. We paid for quality and it delivered. Our room was stunning, the food at The Bistro was amazing, the breakfast served daily at the Dining Room was better than you'd get in the best cafes anywhere! We also enjoyed a private dining experience, and that was an evening and an experience we'll never forget. An absolute must if you stay at Rocky's.
Plus, it was it was the little things - the way the grounds staff greeted you on your walk to breakfast in the morning, the fresh flowers in the vases around the resort, the turn-down service, the way staff were willing to help at all times. Staff assisted us with booking various activities and just made it so easy for us! We were grateful for their assistance. We also took advantage of a private tour of the island with Rocky's and that was a fantastic experience too. Honestly, I can't fault this place. Those people that complain about it, I believe, are the kind of people that could find something to complain about anytime, anywhere! If I had one complaint, it would simply the be the other guests! Despite the brochures in the rooms asking guests not to 'claim' pool chairs and then leave them vacant, we noticed people putting their belongings on chairs as early as 7am, and then not arriving until 11:30am. That was just rude - but somewhat outside the resort's control.
As you may have read in other reviews, Rocky's is a bit outside Lamai, so you do have to catch a cab in and back (or take advantage of Rocky's free shuttle). However, this suited us perfectly and even if we didn't get the shuttle, we never waited longer than 2 minutes for a cab and never had any problems with getting a cab back. Highly, highly, highly recommend this for your Koh Samui holiday.

Room Tip: In terms of rooms were in 612, which overlooked the pool. It was perfect for us - close to the pool...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateARobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you, yes our pool view rooms are indeed spacious and quiet. With regards to other guests putting towels on the sun beds, that is difficult to control. However I have just ordered more sun beds so no problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,403 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
772 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
498 reviews
10.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $129 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing