We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault our 1st time experience of Rocky's - Jan 2013 - Debbie & Kevin Baker” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky's Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't fault our 1st time experience of Rocky's - Jan 2013 - Debbie & Kevin Baker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We attended Rocky's with our two Daughters for our Son & Daughter-in -Law's(magical) wedding day.Although our wedding party was small,the manner,professionalism and personal attention to detail that the 'Rocky Team' paid to our wedding party was fantastic.Making us all feel very special from the build up to the the wedding ceremony it's self to the very last dance of the evening.
Even pre & post wedding the whole expeirence was great,waking up to friendly staff who always acknowledged you with a smile and good morning to the last thing at night,really polite and friendly.
As a middle aged couple we were a little apprehensive about going to Thailand.However our trip to Koh Sumai in general and Rocky's in particular has certainly changed our mind and views. In fact we haven't stopped telling our friends that they must put this on their places to visit.

Room Tip: For a family the villa options was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Debbie and Kevin, Thank you so much. It was great to have you here. Being part of a wedding group always improves a holiday. Try coming on your own next time, you will still enjoy it as much, I promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    275
    68
    25
    7
See reviews for
454
1,086
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I would give this place more than 5 stars if they were available.
I recently stayed here with my wife and two adult daughters, one with her boyfriend.
So we stayed in the two bedroom suite with little plunge pool.
After five nights there was nothing to complain about.
The rooms were plenty big for the five of us. Very relaxing, clean and plenty big.
The two hotel pools were very inviting and the water temperature was perfect. Our little plunge pool was much cooler, so it didn't get used by my family.
The pool bar and small restaurant had great food and the daily half price cocktails hour in the evening got a good workout. AUD $4.50 for a cocktail was good value.
The small restaurant prices were a bit high, but the food was great.
We also dined at a nearby, popular seafood restaurant which was a 500 metre walk down the road. The food here was amazing and very, very cheap.
Rocky's is a top place, with equally top staff. Every staff member is impressive and welcoming.
Finally, the breakfasts were incredible delicious ... You order off an extensive menu and then can top up, if you are still hungry, via an equally superb buffet.
So, yes I would return here and I would recommend this place to friends. But for me, I only need to visit Samui once in my life!

Room Tip: Try get ground floor at pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Rocky's and the beautiful Island of Koh Samui .
Yes 5 days is never enough, so much to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 14 nights at Rockys from the first day we were stunned by the beautiful views perfect resort for our wedding which was booked for 18th January we couldn't have planned to have our special day any where else. we had the buddhist and western ceremonies both of which very different which left us amazed with how smoothly everything went. Louie our wedding singer was perfect, the flame dancers (left our son wanting more) and elephant ride on the beach gave us lots of beautiful pictures. The resort was magical and the lovely lanterns / candles / fairy lights looked amazing. The staff were very welcoming and playful with our very active 2 year old son i felt comfortable leaving our son with the staff....The food was lovely left you wanting more and the romantic beach setting night you can book at reception was defiantly worth it we did this on Full Moon night fitted in so nice, a week after being announced husband and wife, they took plenty of pictures and placed them on CD for us this was in the our room when we got in from the evening!...we went on two excursions booked through Rockys one was the "Josephine boat trip" which we went on twice as we loved the views of the beautiful beach they take you too was perfect for our son as the water was clean shallow and sand was beautiful...the other trip was the safari day which we also enjoyed was a long day but worth it....Martin the general manager was very friendly and made time in the mornings to come over and chat we even got offered an upgrade from our room to beachfront room which was beautiful...our stay at Rockys was a magical one we will never forget we are already planning when to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaBaker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello princess, So you went on Josephine twice, I can understand why, I sometimes spend my day off on her. Thank you for choosing Rocky's for your wedding. It's great that we made you day the way you wanted it. My staff feel so good when they read guests comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice in January; lovely small friendly resort with great food, gorgeous rooms and very obliging staff.

Breakfast is a triumph, the 7 course tasting menu was a real treat and the food generally is great. Our only quibble was the BBQ night - lots of food but it looked better than it tasted and is quite overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeShee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi, thank you for you nice comments, I am sorry if you feel our BBQ night was not to your taste.
I often dine on the BBQ night myself, I will look at it next time very carefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rockys as part of our honeymoon. It is PERFECT for couples....on a picturesque rocky beach - beautifully and very tastefully done up!! Got prettier at night with lights every where.

The food was very good and not as expensive as resorts at par. The resort staff were overall very polite and respectful. The turndown every evening made our night comfortable. We forgot a photo frame (from a Koh Tao tour) in the room And flew to Bangkok. When i called them - they found it and couriered it the same day!! Very kind of them. We spent time at the pool by the sea for the views. The garden pool is quite nice too.

The resort is far from chaweng and a car ride to Lamai. It is a little expensive to go out but we struck a balance between spending time in and going out so it worked out well for us!!

Thank you for a great holiday experience, Rockys!! I would definitely recommend this resort to couples looking for privacy!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsiaAbbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was here for a business meeting, the staff and overall service was excellent. The natural surroundings are lush and rich. It is a very peaceful, tranquil setting which is ideal for relaxing and spending time by the pool or spa treatments. Restaurant is 1st class.

Room Tip: Beach villa are stunning but equally peaceful pool villas with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuiLuxuryBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi, thank you, If you return you should try our conference room, it's amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

let me start by covering the basics. The resort is beautiful. The food is excellent. Really excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. However we did not anticipate the number of small children that we would be sharing the resort with. For a couple who saved up for a romantic break this was a disappointment. Crying, whining and little kids naked by the poolside is not ideal.

The second issue is the TV reception in the rooms. It is awful and if you get a dvd from reception be ready for an illegal copy with poor sound and picture quality, if you are lucky enough to get the English sound track at all.

Prices are crazy. Don't misunderstand, we are not budget hunting backpackers and we undersand the need to make a profit. But wow. We paid more for local (Thai) Singha or Chang beer at Rockys than we do for the same beer after shipping, taxes and mark-ups in our local restaurant in South Africa 10000kms away.

The term ocean view is also relative. Our first "oceanview" room had a view of the pool entrance, rather than the ocean. There was also no hope of privacy with this room. Tip: ask for any room except 802.

The biggest issue was however the kids. They are everywhere, no rules apply to them.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 802.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashingtonIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are sorry that you chose the time of year when there are many families here. if you avois school holiday time in Europe then toy will be fine.
The tax on alcohol here, particularly imported, is very high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
8.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
9.1 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Property: Rocky's Boutique Resort
Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing