We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from Rocky's. What a place, it was amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff were so helpful. The food is delicious and not expensive to eat in the hotel. Breakfast was incredible. We stayed in one of the villas, beautifully clean with fresh linen every three days. Towels were freely available and you could use as many as you wanted. Martin, the Manager, made sure our stay was perfect. The wedding we attended could not have been better managed.

Room Tip: Villas are ideal, microwave, cooker, everything you could want.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShirleyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Rocky's Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent six nights here. Beautiful gardens, very private resort and beach. Great breakfast, excellent quality and good variety .Had dinner at The Bistro five nights. Thai meals excellent but very expensive. Most restaurant staff quite helpful but some not that interested in doing much.
We had a day trip out on the Josephine ( private boat for
resort guests only). Snorkelling not very good as coral all dead. The only reason we saw any fish was because we fed them bread. The lunch provided in the cost of trip was very poor quality , overall the boat trip was too expensive for what you got. We would not do it again, instead we would take a boat trip out to the marine park with another company.
The horse back riding on the beach was recommended to us by hotel staff. Our daughter went and did not enjoy it as the guide did not speak English and was not helpful at all. The beach they went on was covered in garbage.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We try our best to make sure that our tours are good and quality checked. We cannot do anything about dead coral or dirty beaches. because we don't own them, however we do sponsor regular beach and island cleaned and support the locals to understand recycling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent resort! We stayed here during the 2nd week of January for our honeymoon and had a Junior Suite Beachfront. It was not perfect but the service (for everyone except the wait staff) more than made up for it.

Room 302 was prepared for us with a romantic setting, inclusive of free champagne thrown in for us. However the toilet chose to fail us at the worst possible moment, at about 6am in the morning. To the resort's credit, the onsite staff came to us in no time and cleared the blockage. Later in the morning when we requested for some help to clean up the bathroom, housekeeping came by quickly, got the job done and left. We requested and were switched to Room 303. While our first room was not so great, the way the resort acted to rectify the error was nice.

When we asked for some suggestions on where to go and what to do, the reception staff were provided us with some really good ideas. We booked a day tour to the Ang Thong Marine National Park, we were recommended to go with Grand Sea Discovery's speedboats. It turned out to be an excellent choice!

We were also very impressed with the view from the beach and restaurant, The Dining Room. There were quite a few guests who spent most of the day by the beachside pool. It was definitely not hard to see why!

If you are looking to get away from the busy city life and spend some time relaxing, Rocky's is definitely your choice. However, if you would like to check out the nightlife and stay somewhere with more external attractions, you may wish to consider a hotel/resort at Chaweng Beach.

The food at Rocky's was really amazing. Breakfast was always a treat throughout our stay while we treated ourselves to dinner at The Dining Room on a Saturday evening. The atmosphere was very romantic and the food, simply fabulous. Thank you for feeding us well, Rocky's.

A little area for improvement would be the attitude of the wait staff at The Dining Room in the morning and at the Bistro. When we sought the attention of the wait staff, we were met with a glare most of the time and sometimes we were even treated to a 'what you want' question. If this could be worked on, Rocky's would be the perfect choice!

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite Beachfront (esp Room 303) if you can afford it! You would not regret.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richiemccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Our waiting staff were very tired after a very busy Christmas and new year, however that is no excuse, next year we will be better prepared with even more staff to cope with this. I mprovements are definitely being felt already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel was all we needed, well located with a short taxi ride to either Chaweng or Lamai, should you wish to shop or just go out for the day...The rooms are very spacious and clean, lovely bathroom, the pools were lovely, and we were well looked after daily, with cold water brought to you whilst lazing around and fresh fruit skewers also...There is no need to eat anywhere else but at Rocky's as the food was of an exceptionally high standard, thanks to an amazing chef Aziz, Very friendly staff throughout our entire stay, who went out of their way to make it really pleasurable...Mira, Amm, Julian and Cherry not to mention the very friendly GM Martin, thank you to you all for making our stay at this beautiful and intimate resort so memorable.

Room Tip: Our choice was a suite with a sea view, higher up, but i would choose this again, but if you don'...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your great review, I will pass on your comments to the staff mentioned.
We are very proud of our chef too, I have to eat his food every day, hope I don't get fat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Rocky's before Christmas. The resort itself is beautiful, the rooms are beautifully dressed, and the landscaping is excellent, but there are areas that let it down. The attitude of some of the staff, including the manager leave a lot to be desired, and they could learn a lot from Mira and Julian who were excellent, and really couldn't do enough for you. On one themed evening the manager knew we had had to complain about several problems, including freezing cold food, but never once spoke to us or apologised, and it was once again left to Mira and Julian to look after us. The hotel needs to include more vegetarian options on the menu, and ensure the themed evenings have a vegetarian menu, rather than just saying you will have the same menu without the meat or fish, meaning you end up with numerous bowls of vegetables and nothing else. If you crave peace and quiet there is nowhere within the resort that you can go, as if the 2 pool areas are busy, you have no choice but to sit with everyone else, and as both pools are used by children, you cannot get away from the noise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I will take on board your points of view.
We now have an extensive vegetarian menu at The Dining Room, including an amazing 5 course vegetarian menu with wine pairing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Thailand. We stayed at Rocky's whilst in Koh Samui. The hotel is stunning and so relaxing. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful with knowledge of the area and trips to take, and places to see. The resort is very beautiful and intimate and I couldnt fault it. We ate at the hotel on NYE which was incredible, and then twice more for a BBQ evening (with a brilliant ladyboy show) and also a Thai Night with traditional Thai dancers to keep us entertained throughout. A massive thank you to Chef Aziz who amended the menu slightly on NYE for us, as my husband is unable to eat seafood. The staff really treated us as it was our honeymoon, with the room especially decorated and some added extras as little treats during our stay.
I would also like to thank Mira who was incredibly helpful with local knowledge and information regarding trips to take and places to see. She always had a big smile on her face and was so approachable and helpful. Also a thank you to Te who kept us entertained at the pool bar some evenings - so funny and chatty!
Thank you so much to everyone at Rocky's - we had a brilliant honeymoon and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you, and congratulations again on your marriage. Thank you also for mentioning some of my staff by name, it means so much to them. Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our best experience in Koh Samui (and we had a lot of experiences). We stayed here for six days and experienced home away from home with very friendly staff, very beautiful and sexy hotel grounds, romatic feel on the beach and overall a great start of New year.
This small resort is positioned just south of Lamai beach with frequent and free hotel shuttles to Lamai town. Beach here is very private, small and secluded so you can enjoy private time.
They also have 2 very nice and romantic pools next to the beach and in the garden area.
Breakfast selection and taste was best what we had in thailand (in better than most european hotels we have been in). This is probably because thea have also a very fine restaurant "The dining room". We have tried chefs 5 course menu which was good mix of international dishes, very nice. The setting of the restaurant is very romantic for couples... though a bit expensive. There is also another bistro (smaller restaurant) on the grounds with good thai food.
Front office is managed by a great manager, Boi, who really makes you feel being at home and gives extra effort so you would feel special and welcome. This also goes for all of their staff. I is obvious that they put a lot of atention to staff selection as this is one of their best atributes.
Rooms are spacious, luxurious, with very nice furnishing, with fresh orchids in all corners of the room.
I would recommend this hotel for young and older couples as it is really romantic and special (there were also 2 weddings happening while we stayed there).
Treat yourself and stay there!

Room Tip: All rooms facing the sea a very good. Best room in resort is 333.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wonder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you, we are not called sexy very often but I know what you mean. We appreciate what you say. Our chef is probably the best on the island, I am amazed on how he retains his passion for cooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
774 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
10.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $121 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing