We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked Rocky's Resort based on the reviews in TripAdvisor and couldn't have made better choice, the resort is an dream end for our holiday.

Our days started perfectly at the beachfront restaurant "the dining room" where we took full advantage of their combined buffet and a la carte breakfast. Try the blueberry pancakes and poached eggs! Food is.... amazing, you have to try it yourself to truly understand.

The absolute winner at the resort however, is the service. Some earlier reviewers commented on this but based on our experince the staff is wonderful and even though we had to wait for our turn on some busier moments, they always noticed us and greeted us with a warm smile. The management seems very hand on and they are always around chatting with the guests and making sure everything is in order. We always got many good recommendations of what to do during the day, where to go for dinner and how to keep ourself entertained but in most days ended up laying by the pool, simply because the resort itself was too lovely to be missed.

The only thing we could think of changing at Rocky's is the spa as they now have an openair massage place by the beach which is nice, but personally I would prefer closed treatment room with soft music and scented candles.

It was a perfect place to end the holiday and we can't believe it's nearly time to return home. Thank you Rocky's for giving us amazingly relaxed holiday, we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJoyce76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you, Re: The spa, most people love our open air massage spa on the beach, the fresh air and the sound of the waves is amazing. However, next time you are here, we will grant you your wish and arrange your treatment inside, with candles and incense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Rocky's over the holiday and had a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful, well-kept and clean. The food is good and our room was a good size with a great front porch. This resort is definitely smaller than the chain resorts, which at first was a concern, but in the end proved to be a huge benefit because we were able to meet other families and make friends. It was perfect for my 6yr who had other children to play with. He and some of the other children were able to be a little more independent on the property because it was a manageable size, which enabled us to relax.

PROS:
1. Lovely, calm property
2. Friendly staff (Jack and Julian were great)
3. Cars for rent (we rented a car and drove around the island 1 day) perfect! (very little gas in the car, so you'll need to fill up - FYI)
4. Food is good (a little expensive). The Dinning Room was a fantastic dinner (expensive, but really good)
5. Clean room
6. Really enjoyed breakfast. Buffet of basics + main to order. great idea as food was much better
7. 3 bars - one near the garden pool, a quieter one facing the ocean and a bar at the main dining room
8. 2 pools
9. GREAT Garden Deluxe room location for a family with older or more independent children. Walk out the door and jump in the pool.
10. Kids Club - while more suitable for younger children, it is a great amenity
12. New Year's day they did a scavenger hunt and party for all the kids on the property which my son enjoyed
12. Many nights they have a special dinner or event if you do not want to leave the property (Thai night included a performance at dinner, BBQ, Lobster Fest etc)

CONS:
1. ONE BIG CON = NO FITNESS CENTER ON SITE. The hotel does give a complimentary pass to a fitness center in lamai, but it is 15mins 1 way and the free shuttle only runs certain times, so fitting in a quick work-out took time to plan and costs additional money in taxi fees. This issue was compounded by small beachfront, so running on the beach is not an option. This was a huge deal for us and something I did not realize until we got there. We spoke with the manager at check-out and he indicated that they are planning a solution, which is good, but for now, in my mind, this is a big CON. Until a solution is found, I would recommend yoga or fitness classes 2-3x a day on the beach, so there is something offered on site.

2. We always get out and about on our vacations, so we found that the location was a bit of a drive to places like Chaweng and the Fishermen's Village (20-30mins). However, we visited a friend staying in Chaweng and could clearly and loudly hear the planes landing on the island (area is right in the flight path), so if you are concerned about the location of Rocky's and looking at other areas, you will want to consider that.

3. I have seen other reviewers complain about the beach, but here is what you need to know. The beachfront area will vary by time of year. During the holiday months in the winter, there will be less beachfront available than during other times of year. 1 day we went to Silver Beach (very close) and other days we visited Nikki Beach (small but amazing), Chaweng (big, loud and busy) and Mea Nam beach (larger and very quiet)

4. The bathroom shade is exactly that, so it does not keep people from being able to see into the shower area from the room, which is fine on a couples trip, but problematic if you have older children. On our way out one morning, we asked if there was a way to cover the large bathroom window and by the time we returned from our day out, the staff had managed to neatly tuck and pin a clean white sheet over the shade to fix the problem. it was a simple solution, but it was clear that they took great care to ensure it was neatly and tightly covered. We appreciated their response and attention to detail.

Overall - really good experience and very family friendly. Again, if you have older children or more independent children, I highly recommend you book the deluxe garden room facing the pool on the 1st floor 607, 609, 611, 613 (615 - i think). your child can swim and play without you having to be right there at all times.

Room Tip: If you have more independent/older children get a deluxe garden room first floor facing the garden p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdoebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you, I am sorry but you were misinformed, the local gym is only 7 minutes away, we do have yoga and you can run along the beach for about 3km south to the fishing village which is very interesting.
Our website does not say we have a gym here, but complementary use of a local gym which is true.
Please feel free to ask me about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights for the Christmas holiday. The resort is as beautiful in person as it is on it's website and we enjoyed every day of our stay (our second trip to Koh Samui and 1st to Rocky's). Rocky's was all we expected and we found it a very quiet and relaxing resort. A great place to hang by the pool or splash on the modest but excellent beaches. As noted in detail below, our only downer was the Christmas Gala dinner.

Positives:
- Great landscaping and lovely decor in the rooms. Everything works well together and the Chrismas decorations througout were wonderful. A Beautiful island retreat.
- The Garden Pool and Seaside pools are great. Very clean and temperatures exactly as needed to cool but not so cold you couldn't stay in for long stretches. The Garden pool is two levels and large enough that you always had room away from other guests if wanted.
- Food at both restaurants was always delicious. While a tad expensive for Thailand it was reasonable for a resort and food of this caliber. You can't expect to stay at a 5 star resort and pay base rate for gourmet meals. This is upper end food and the cost was reasonable for the quality you were getting.
- Nice staff but seemed rushed with the Holiday crowd. We had a hard time getting a table for 4 at breakfast most mornings - had to push the staff a bit and insist on moving tables or altering a table set for 2 to fit 2 more in. I think they plan more for couples. A family of 4 seemed to throw things off a bit. Mira and Julien were great to us on all occasions as were the front office staff. They were especially good on the day we left as there was an unexpected visit from the King's Family to the island and the roads to the airport were getting backed up. The hotel staff called us and urged us to move forward our checkout - Definitely the right plan as the traffic was a mess and we needed the extra time. Glad they looked out for us or it could have been problematic.
- Beaches are small but adequate. The weather was a bit harsh and windy the first few days and large waves made the beach a no go on these days but that was out of the resort's control. The rocks on the beach make for a great visual appeal and we were able to swim to our desire when the weather was not an issue.
- We stayed in a Large Junior Suite Oceanview and there was plenty of room for the 4 of us. Again, the room was beautifully decorated. Everything was very clean and housekeeping was quick and thorough.

Negatives
- Bathroom needs an exhaust fan.
- The "Oceanview" description for our room type was a stretch. Yes, you can see the ocean from the balcony but it's a filtered view and you aren't going to lay in bed looking at the ocean. A bit misleading.
- I would have 5 starred this review but the Christmas Gala Dinner was frustrating. In fact, I would drop this to 3 stars if every stay required this event. But it can be avoided and I would go back here at another time without the Gala night for sure. Being fair, all of the big Koh Sumui resorts hold these Galas and they are all very expensive...they are also all "mandatory" and I have to admit I detest being forced into events like this. However, I have attended such events in the past and enjoyed them...this one I did not. The key reasons why...
1) The Gala was on Christmas Eve, which in our family is a time for family to be together. Unfortunately the resort set up the gala so that children were in a separate party from the parents. This was upsetting to our 11 year old who did not want to attend a party without us. There was no option available where he could join our main dinner - we did ask.
2) My daughter, 16, decided to attend the children's party so our 11 year old was not so upset at being singled out. Unfortunately, this meant that although we had paid for her dinner at the full adult rate, she only got the child's meal so that meant a very expensive bill went to waste. Her empty chair sat across from me through the meal reminding me of the wasted expense. To be fair she elected to be with our son so her taking the more limited meal was our "choice". Of course if they hadn't forced the family to split up on X-mas eve it would not have been an issue. Christmas should be a time for togetherness. Being forced to be apart for 5+ hours = bad idea. For the entire affair except 2 short breaks (Santa's arrival and Fireworks) we were not togeher. After the fireworks I handed my room key to our 16 year old and the kids departed for the hotel room early.
3) The meal was excellent but took forever and for our taste was over extravagant. 7 courses served from about 7pm to well after midnight. Most of the dishes were tiny (with the notable exception of the 1/2 lobester main course) and unfilling - 4 courses of larger quantity would have suited me better. All was excellently prepared and it was not lost on us that this was far better fare than most resorts serve for the forced gala party, but 5+ hours to get through everything was too long...especially as we wanted to be together with our kids on X-mas Eve.
4) The entertainment was very good, excellent even...until the drag show (Thai Lady Boy Show officially). REALLY?! A Lady boy/Drag show on Christmas Eve? This was in really bad taste. The group seemed to have some talent as this sort of thing goes, but sorry, on Christmas I'm not wanting to see a drag show. I must emphasize in fairness that all the other acts were in good taste and were entertaining...children's choir from a local school, guitar singer, fireworks, resort staff singing, fire dancers, local Thai music (This last group was outstanding actually - not a Christmas act, but really good traditional Thai music). Just don't need to see female impersonators doing riskue' Cabaret numbers for a Christmas show.

So to sum up. We loved this place and our only concerns were minor...except the Gala which was not family oriented and lost it's Christmas vibe with the ladyboy show. 5 stars if we hadn't had the Gala which was an unpleasant 5+ hours I wish we had back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you, I am sorry you did not enjoy the gala dinner entertainment, most guests thought the cabaret show was great. Yes very different but this is Thailand and this is a very Thai show. We try to balance the needs of everybody.

Next year we will listen to all of these comments to improve the gala dinner, because without these comments, we can't. Thank you for choosing Rocky's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Rockys over Christmas. It is without doubt a picturesque resort with lovely gardens, pool and buildings. However it is simply too crowded at times - for example at breakfast there were often no tables - the solution offered by management was to split our family up on to different tables. On Christmas eve, guests had to share tables as they could not fit everbody who wanted to eat in the restaurant. The service is very slow. Management is indifferent. Also the hotel is very successfully catering for weddings - they boasted they had over 60 marriages that year. This is great BUT the resort cannot handle the sudden influx of a wedding party who then overwhelm the place and make it hard for other guests. We found we could not use the pool one morning as it was filled with adults drinking - which is all good fun but for them but not for us and our kids. It was all very nice that the hotel was in christmas spirit, but we found that whilst we ate our lunch, they played jingle bell rock on a loop, and a mix of hawaiin versions of every christmas song you could get. So in conclusion my concern is that this is a lovely place which if they are not careful will lose the magic and become just another resort with all the problems identified.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I think you hit it right on the head for us, This has been our busiest season ever, we were full, staff were over stretched and restaurants full morning and evening. Peak season is coming to an end so we will be back to normal and I will be addressing these issues quickly so as make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and our 18 month old recently spent Christmas at Rocky's. We were really looking forward to a nice relaxing stay with special upgrades that come with a 5 star resort. After arriving our visit didn't start as planned. The driver was late coming to pick us up and no one seemed to be able to help us when trying to figure out when our driver would be there. We waited about 10 minutes which doesn't sound long but after flying and trying to keep a small child contained it is eternity. We were welcomed with a delicious drink and cold towels which was nice. The check-in process was rather quick and we were showed to our Jr. Beachfront Suite. We came into this thinking it was going to be a larger room(s) hence the word "suite" and the pictures online make it seem more roomy than it was. It was smaller than an average hotel room so that was VERY disappointing since we were staying 6 days in such tight quarters. We even went as far to asking for an upgrade but since it was Christmas holidays they only had the family suite open for 3 days and we of course needed to pay the difference which wasn't worth it for 3 days. Also, the room's bathroom is an open stone shower only... that would be great if we were on our honeymoon or anniversary not with a toddler. He fell more than once in the shower so if your traveling with small kids take note that they do not have bathtubs. I spoke to a few people and they didn't either so not sure if it standard for all rooms. The grounds were absolutely beautiful with small areas for looking at fish or reading a book. Also, if you bring drinks or order room service be prepared to take your own dishes to the bar. Our dishes sat in our room for multiple days and we ended up taking them because our cleaning service did not. The room service would come mid afternoon which is nap time for our little one so our room did not get cleaned daily. You would've thought after two days of this they would've come at a different time.
The grounds crew were always out and about planting and cleaning up the walkways.. very friendly! The view of the ocean is beautiful but the beaches they have are not anything to rave about. The beach areas are usually under water because of the tide so they don't have lounge chairs out on the beach for you to enjoy. That was also a big bummer since we booked this particular resort for the beach... :(
Now the worst part of the whole resort is the wait time for food or drinks. If you are a punctual person this place is not for you. On average we would wait 45 minutes to an hour to get our food. It usually took about 10 minutes or more for drinks longer if you wanted a cocktail of some sort. The cocktails were good but no one wants to wait that long. You pay for water!! Once again if you are traveling with small children that wait time is impossible. One lunch we waited an hour and a half for our food and we were literally the only people in the restaurant! The food and drink manager Julien was a very nice man always trying to make sure things were ok and we did let him know that we were unsatisfied with the service. The food was pretty good and above your average restaurant but just took eternity to make.
Overall we were ready to go at the end of our trip but a few people made our stay better than it was... thanks to Mira, Nok, Thien, and Julien for doing everything you could to help. I am not sure what needs to change but I hope that the head management evaluates how they handle the day to day operations because this place has the potential to have repeat customers. I will not be back and anyone with small kids should think twice before booking this place.

Room Tip: Jr. Beachfront is too small!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I am really sorry for the shortfalls in our service, after a very busy season, our busiest, we will be taking stock of everything and will get back to the good old Rocky's friendly service very soon.
Re: Airport pick up, I understand that you went to the wrong pick up point where our drivers are not allowed to go, maybe we should make that clearer in our communications to you before hand.
I wanted to come and say good bye to you but my girlfriend was seriously ill in hospital at that time.
I hope you will try us again and allow us to show you the real Rocky's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I thought the room was very clean and modern. The staff seemed very nice. Food was average, I would not say it was amazing but it was lovely to eat your breakfast overlooking the ocean. It's a great place if you are looking to just chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I do think our breakfasts overlooking the ocean is amazing too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I had just left the Shangri-La hotel in Bangkok and traveled to Rocky's Resort in Koh Samui where we expected the same level of service and professionalism from the staff and management.

After looking at Rocky's website and reading all of the great reviews, we expected a great atmosphere and the type of service you would expect from a high end (expensive) resort. We booked an ocean front suite (which was not a suite....it was a room with a bed and a couch).

We got to our room and realized that our room was not a suite as advertised, and that Rocky's does not have the oceanfront real estate for enjoying the beach that they advertise. They only have about 20 meters of waterfront which is not even accessible most of the time due to the water level. Rocky's claims to have great beaches for swimming and clear water for snorkeling....This is not true, The beach front area in front of the "Ocean Front Suites" is terribly muddy and not at all what is advertised. Looking at their website you will see a beautiful beach with chairs and umbrellas set out for your enjoyment....Not True! There is no room for lounging on the beach.

You will also not receive the level of service expected from a high end resort. My wife and I enjoyed the pool near our room most of the days that we were at the resort and the number of times we were asked if we needed anything or provided water......ZERO! We had to go to the bar each time we needed anything, half of the time there was no one staffing the bar, so you had to serve yourself water that they set out.

My biggest complaint about the entire place is the management....Martin specifically! We stayed at the resort for 6 nights and not once did he speak to us or treat us like valued guests at his resort. If this resort had better management that made each and every guest feel valued, I believe more people would return. The resort is beautiful and has the potential to be great, but that will not happen if others receive the same treatment that we did. This is not just my opinion, I spoke to 3-4 other families staying there at the same time as us and they all had negative things to say about the quality of management at the resort.

The only reason I gave the place 2 stars is because of the food and food/beverage staff at the resort. Chef Aziz is amazing, and Julien who is the food/beverage manager is remarkable. Also Mira, Nok, and Thien were all very friendly as well.

I'm surprised to see that this place was voted as a "Top Resort" in 2012. I'm equally surprised to see all of the great comments that people are leaving....maybe we just came at a bad time and this place really is great, but I will never return and will never recommend the resort to anyone.

Room Tip: My tip....Stay somewhere besides Rocky's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Yes it was a bad time, we were full, and staff were really stretched, Peak season and more,, we have taken urgent steps to bring things back to normal. All days off had been cancelled and we were all tired too. But that is no excuse if you feel that your holiday with us was not as you expected.
However we are no Shangri-La hotel in Bangkok and comparing us to that is a little unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
844 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
752 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,688 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 184 in Bophut
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $147 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing