We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveler rating
1,808
327
75
28
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,808
327
75
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden pool sun hats thai night wedding planner fruit kebabs our honeymoon koh samui on the rocks boutique resort fresh flowers beach front fire dancers bbq night thai dancers cocktail party beach bag thai buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,204 - 1,209 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Rockys as a part of our honeymoon. We are so happy we stayed there, it is a beautiful resort and are looking forward to our next visit (hopefully!) I would most definitely recommend the resort to anyone traveling to Samui. Here are my points:

Room: We stayed in room 302, a junior beachfront suite. I wouldn't exactly call it "beachfront" because in front of us was a path and a garden, a small rock wall and the sand. It was a lovely room, very clean with a spacious bathroom (no bath). I think the bathroom in our suite could be upgraded if the resort claims to be 5 star. Unfortunately this is the room they set the private dinners on the beach in front of, so if you want more privacy, ask for a room to the left of 302.

Dining: Fantastic restaurants both "The Dining Room" and "The Bistro". The Dining room has more upmarket food and is right next to the beach, and the bistro is a bit cheaper, with some more thai flavours up near the garden pool. Every meal we ate was superb. Breakfast is served in the Dining Room, a lovely start to each day. There was an a la carte menu for the "main breakfast" and a buffet of fruits/cereals/breads etc.

Staff: Absolutely fantastic. There were always plenty of staff around for a chat or advise. No request was too much. We organised tours through the front desk, and went on the Josephine boat for a day trip to a nearby island for fishing and snorkeling.

Pool: There are two large pools, each with a bar. There was always a free chair at one, with a fresh beach towel waiting. We spent lots of time relaxing here. However, both pools are kid friendly, it would be nicer to have one adults only, as we were distrupted a few times by stray pool balls etc.The pool closed quite early too (7pm)

Facilities: Free wifi in your room, and also a few computers to use in the library. Both bars were fun, each with its own happy hour (buy 1 get 2). We organised transport to pick us up from the airport (recommended) however were disappointed to ride in a dirty van. There were free shuttle buses to Lamai and Chewang each day.

Beach: The beach is true to its name "rocky", and the swell is quite rough in comparison to nearby beaches. However the resort was lovely enough for this to not be a problem at all.

Rockys had a real family feel to it, we got to know the staff and a few other guests. On Friday nights they have "cocktail party", where everyone gets a free cocktail and everyone enjoys mingling near the bar. It had a great feel to it. On Sunday nights they have a seafood/meat BBQ which was delicious (although expensive), followed by a cabaret show for 10 mins (it would have been great if there was a bit more entertainment). On Tuesdays there is a Thai Night, however we were leaving that day. At Rockys we really felt like we were a part of the place.

Thanks for a lovely stay Rockys!

Room Tip: 302 was in front of where they set up the romantic dinners
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beakom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you, happy you enjoyed your stay. All of our beach front room bathrooms are being upgraded next month so you will see a big difference if you return.
You were here by the way, when the tide is higher than usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent six nights beginning of October in the Rocky`s Boutique Resort in Koh Samui - and we were really impressed by the small resort. It is not one of these huge resorts with hundreds of beds - and therefore very personal. If you want to party - stay away. The resort is a location to perfectly relax and therefore a little bit outside.
The resort is perfectly maintained, you see on a daily base maintenance staff running around and keeping it up to date. Be aware that the beach is pretty small and shoes are recommended. A free shuttle is offered to other beach sections. In addition we recommend to do the hotel organized fishing and snorkeling tour - an amazing event with a lot of fun and a wonderful beach.
The service in the resort is outstanding and amazing - all employees are very friendly and help wherever they can. You should try the massage at the beach - high quality for an acceptable price.
Food: Rocky`s is offering two restaurants, one bistro and one restaurant. We recommend to take part in the thai night which is offering a unique experience and a good buffet. Overall the food quality is good, the breakfast is a buffet/a-la-carte mix. You can choose from a mix of Western and Asian breakfast dishes. We enjoyed it very much.
Overall we can recommend the Rocky`s for people who want to relax!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobias18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you, good to hear all your comments, we have been removing stones from the beach. happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

this was the 3rd resort we stayed in for our honeymoon and it was easily the best by far! i may waffle on a bit but its worth a read :)

check in:

when we arrived it was the easiest check in a lady took our details away while we chatted with another of the reception staff so it didn't really feel like a check in (nice touch). we were given a complimentary meal voucher for two (worth around £70!) a free massage each with a choice of Thai or oil or combined (worth about £30!) when we got escorted to our room there was a man walking ahead with a bottle of sparkling wine in a ice bucket we didn't think much of it as the last 2 hotels didn't seem too bothered we were on our honeymoon but rocky s really blew us away! our junior ocean view room was amazing and the lady who showed us the room was very good indeed. we were left on our balcony with our free wine to relax and enjoy, our bags got delivered 30 mins later that was also a nice touch as it took away the rushing feeling!.

the room:

the resort have actually thought of everything, perfect room very spacious great décor but all the personal touches like a beach bag,sun hats,well stocked fridge,flip flops! and everything else you would expect i was excited to see an iron after 6 days! the views were stunning just everything was perfect! we had a little accident with a light but the staff were great and it was tendered to in great time and even checked on a day later to make sure it was still ok! the bed was amazing had a perfect nights sleep apart from when i mis set the air con ( a member of the team resolved this while preparing our room after our blessing more on that later) overall fantastic!

the resort:

rocky s resort is stunning the beach is small but it fits in with the entire resort private and romantic you can nip off on a kayak and go snorkelling far out from the beach or just sun bath we both really liked it and preferred it to the larger beaches around the rock - the bistro and dining room are beautiful along with the 2 pools and 2 pool bars, the reception staff are very helpful in helping with tours or anything you want to do they will go out of there way to see if they can assist. BUT at night it is the most beautiful place i have ever seen! the lighting in the trees and bushes and around is something to behold but bloody hard to get a photo of!

the food:

breakfast is amazing unlike other places there is a morning buffet but half is on a menu and i didn't know you could have eggs so many ways! the service was just right not overbearing like other places and really relaxing - we had one meal in the dining room Thai menu this was high quality and one of the greatest meals we had had while away but the most stunning meal was the 7 course French meal on the beach all i can say is perfection on plate words cannot describe how nice it was! all other meal menus had a great selection and from talking to other guests everything was also perfect for them!

the staff:

there are a lot of staff at rocky s and everyone i met from maintenance the room lady to service staff they were all fantastic, i cant remember every name the lady who served us breakfast who changed to a late shift was fantastic along with all the other morning staff - tien for organising my wifes dream of going to the full moon party - jj for checking on us daily and taking photos and posing for a few ;), boat for the most fantastic cocktails coco locos are one of the favourites and the special "vase" of long island ice tea he made was bliss in a glass! Ann for organising the most memorable time in our lives to date with 4 days notice in between 3 other weddings she organised a Buddhist ceremony for us that was simply worth going to Thailand for in itself! what made it was a lot of staff came and helped took photos/filmed it and what really touched us at the end they all came and poured water over our hands and blessed and wished us good luck for our future!! even the manager martin popped over! pong our personal waiter for the evening was a great guy teaching us Thai in between courses and if he now comes out with some terrible English its our fault sorry!! but the staffs names i cant remember i do apologise as you all made our stay one to remember forever!

i would recommend anyone going to Thailand for the first time or for there 2nd or more visit to take a visit here and experience this amazing place - i want to go again when money permits!

i have also read all the reviews for this hotel and people who have complained really need to go and see a doctor!!

thanks for the experience of a lifetime

Geoff & Lucy aka Mr and Mrs Davis

Room Tip: junior ocean view stunning!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geofflucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Geoff and Lucy, thank you, you are an amazing couple, it's guests like you that make Rocky's what it is.
This is my new slogan, tell what you want and we will make it happen.
We really do hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I are just back from an 8 day stay at Rocky's where we got married. I know I read a lot of reviews before going so I wanted to share my opinions... I don't usually write reviews but for those getting married or honeymooning I thought they may help!

Positives:

1. Resort and Upkeep

This place is just magical and the design of the grounds and rooms are delightful. It really feels quire exclusive especially at night when the darkness is lit up by gorgeous hanging lanterns and fairy lights.

2. Amenities

We used the garden swimming pool mostly as it is larger and more spacious than the beach pool. We all loved it and there seemed to be plenty of space every day so 5 of us could all sit together.

3. Weddings

Just perfect. Ann the wedding co ordinator is really fantastic at her job and is just a really nice person into the bargain. Nothing too much for her. All the staff who helped prepare our wedding need to be congratulated for their hard work... something we forgot to do in the excitement of our big day.

Our wedding itself went perfectly, we wouldn't change it for the world. A great location, amazing decorations, Carter the celebrant was fantastic... can't say enough really!

4. Food and Drinks

Good food usually. Drinks were nice and well made especially the cocktails. A bit pricey but to be expected when you book at a more upmarket venue.

5. Staff

Best for last here. Practically everyone (apart from those mentioned below) was fantastic. Always smiling and willing to help. I was always humbled by the garden team who went out of their way to catch your eye, smile and say good morning. They even apologised for sweeping the road when I was walking along it.

MASSIVE SHOUT OUTS TO TIEN, JJ and ANN. These are the kinds of people resort owners want to have working in their establishments. When we got back we discussed which one of us left what "reward" for who... only to realise none of us left you anything! From our point of view, that was unacceptable and we apologise! When we come back next year you guys better still be there ;)

Negatives: (See below for outcome)

These may make me sound like a negative willy but I hope they are taken as intended - to help make the resort a true 5 star location. In our experience, they got the big things done EXTREMELY WELL but took their eye off the ball when it came to the smaller things...

1. Airport pickup - we booked this for 4 people and when we met the driver he ran away from us all flustered. When he came back he told us he only expected 3 of us. No big deal until we get into the van and there are only 3 bottles of water and 3 cold towels. No big deal, right? Not really, but it put a small damper on things right away.

2. Check in - for me and my now wife it went perfectly. However, for my parents who checked in at the same time, it didn't. We arrived at around 2pm (check in time) and were ready to get settled in right away. However, they were informed that their room wouldn't be available until 4pm or after. It's great fun lounging by the pool in your normal clothes, eh? No big deal right? Not really, but another small damper on things.

3. Shuttle Bus Transfer - the resort offers a free shuttle to and from Lamai a few times each day. We booked the 5pm bus to Lamai and the 8pm shuttle back. We met at the agreed place at a few minutes before 8 and waited for 20 minutes until we realised the bus wasn't coming. We decided to take a taxi back at a cost of around 300 baht (6 pounds) No big deal, right? Not really, just another small damper on things.

4. Breakfast Service - nothing short of quite appalling really. I've read many other reviews that state the same thing so this was no real surprise. Basically every day they got the orders wrong. Staff didn't seem to know basic English especially when referring to eggs. Perhaps some training on basic expressions like "Runny eggs please" or "Cooked Through please" - my wife is pregnant and can't eat runny eggs... every day they brought her runny eggs instead of well cooked.

The big downer was our "day after the wedding breakfast" in bed. We booked it for 9am and gave our orders the day before. I called at 8am to make sure everything was fine. At 9.15 we were still waiting so I called again to be told they had forgotten and would get it to us in 15 minutes. When it eventually arrived it was as if they just put anything together as they certainly didn't look at our orders! No coffee, juices and no cutlery either. Oh, and only one napkin. Runny eggs? The least of the problems that day!

The morning breakfast staff were very friendly, however, and I'm sure the "poor service" is simply down to their poor English. They try hard and it really doesn't seem to be their fault... like I said, a little bit of investment in some English lessons for these hard working folks would go a long way.

MUST READ:

As a result of the small negatives above, I had a chat with the front office receptionist when we got back from our non existent shuttle pick up. She put me through to the front office manager, Boi, who took the call when he was at home at close to 9pm at night. He was very apologetic and offered us a voucher to attend the Thai Bar-B-Q evening which was great. He was always around willing to help and looks to be extremely good at his job. Fair play for dealing with our complaints but I hope by putting them out for the world to see, it will give the resort owners and management more incentive to sort them ;)

Another MUST READ!

Don't be put off by the negatives above... they just added up a bit and dented an almost PERFECT experience. If you are thinking of booking for your wedding - DO IT NOW and don't look back. Get in touch with Ann and she will walk you through it all! If you are thinking of booking as a holiday treat - DO IT NOW and even if the small things are still popping up, they don't ruin the whole time... just a few minutes out of what will be a heavenly break!

Thanks Rocky's and the entire team for making our wedding a day we will never forget and our holiday a time we will cherish for a long while to come. All the best!

Stewart and Amanda

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewartandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you, a nice review, even with a few negatives, I accept you comments and will use these to improve even further. I know my staff are just lovely Thai people, but not machines, they break down when they get tired. My job is to fix them and make them happy and efficient, so again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I can't praise highly enough the excellent wedding arrangements for my daughter's wedding at
Rocky's in September 2012. Ann Lim and her staff were faultless from our time of arrival throughout the whole wedding experience. The location was stunning with an unspoilt view of the bay. Ceremony was on the beach and the staff had spent a lot of time and effort preparing it. The Celebrant , Carter, was very helpful, sailing through the organised photos of all concerned. The buffet reception was exquisite. All the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The fireworks after were incredible and how about topping it all off with a fabulous elephant for an hour!! The photos with the bride and bridegroom on it were so memorable. Thank you Rocky's for a magical wedding which will be in our memories for many years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triciajohnsonballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you, we appreciate you comments and i will pass these on to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews