We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked Rocky's for our honeymoon and it was simply outstanding. The setting is all lush green trees, relaxing pools, private beach and delicious coconut cocktails. The many hanging lanterns and the intelligent design of the resort helped create a romantic, intimate atmosphere. The service was superb, without being overbearing. I noticed other reviewers mentioned they felt the service was slow but really, it adds to the laid back atmosphere and did not really bother us at all. The cocktails are delicious and though obviously not as cheap as in the nearby towns, sitting watching the sunset overlooking the bay in perfect relaxation more than makes up for it! The food is great, and the price is comparable to eating in a decent restaurant in England- though the food in Rocky's is twice as good as anything back home (in my opinion, obviously). Our beach-side apartment was decorated to a high standard. All in all, the resort was fantastic, the staff were more than excellent, and we could not have stayed in a better hotel- we would definitely come again. Finally a special mention to one of the waiters who made our private meal in the sala so enjoyable- Nice one Tea!

Room Tip: Beach side apartment was awesome, a/c was a bit noisy but the ceiling fan worked a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

After reading the great reviews on Rocky's we had high expectations for our honeymoon stay. The first part of our trip was spent in Dubai where the service was great, so we were very interested to see how Rocky's would compare.

On arrival we were very impressed with the great setting; all of the lights hanging from trees and the attention to detail, as a few other posters have alluded to, is unbelievable! It is at night where Rocky's really comes to life with the red lanterns and fairy lights giving off a very romantic atmosphere. We were a little disappointed not to get any special treats or acknowledgement of our honeymoon in our room, especially as we had read about the lovely surprises on here before our visit, but apart from this were very happy with the room facilities and décor.

The first couple of days were spent in the hotel restaurants, the food in the bistro and the dining room is very good, with the prices being around the same as a UK restaurant. We then made trips to Lamai which is walkable but the taxis and taxibus (pickups) are very cheap and the drivers are open to bartering! We also liked the restaurant to the left of the hotel (very cheap!) just after the watersport shop and also the seafood restaurant to the right just after the Mercure which serves food other than seafood. This is a very popular place with the locals, surely a good sign!

Each Friday the Hotel holds a cocktail party where they supply canapes and free flowing cocktails, and the management team spend the time mingling with the guests. This helps them keep their ear to the ground but also enables guests to raise any concerns or queries before they become more significant. Boat entertained us during this with his impressive bottle-spinning skills!

We also booked the cooking course during our stay which we thoroughly enjoyed thanks to Tien and the Sous chef from the Dining Room kitchen, Samrit. We had adapted the standard menu to include our new Thai favourites. A lovely experience!

In summary, whilst the service may not have been as fast and attentive as Le Royal Meridian in Dubai, we felt that this only added to the relaxed environment of Rocky's. A brilliant destination for honeymooners and other couples as it is a lovely chilled out resort with incredible attention to detail (would be even more chilled if the few children holidaying were confined to the Garden Pool!) The island itself is fantastic, you can get some great bargains!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Beautiful resort, fantastic facilities, room very clean and stylish. The only small downturn is that the service at the restaurant by the pool is quite slow. For The rest, fantastic food, great atmosphere, amazing resort.

Room Tip: We choose the villa, been 2 couple with 3 kids in total. A bit more expensive than getting 2 room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loresinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your response, WOW! we were really busy and I guess things appear slow sometimes. Thai culture is really laid back, if you come from a big city in the west, Asian culture will appear slower. Best to just lay back, relax and enjoy the culture as it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Rockys having married there a couple of years ago.

The rooms are beautifully stylish with lovely little touches and incredible attention to detail.

The staff are really friendly and the level of service seems to be light years beyond anything else we've experienced anywhere in Koh Samui - they really are excellent.

The restaurant has a new head chef since we were last there and I have to say the food in the restaurant is outstanding - i would say it's pretty much of michelin star quality.

The spa treatments are great. The only constructive comment I could make about Rockys overall is that personally I would expand the spa facilities - at the moment getting appointments can be tricky.

Overall I strongly recommend Rockys - it is a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful response, we really appreciate that, We are seriously considering expanding our spa offerings and may well build a complete spa next year. Watch this space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's a beautiful resort. We travelled with my daughter of 16 months and she loved it! The facilities are quite good. The pool is very nice for children (even that young). We had a very nice room with a separate little cot for our daughter. It was very quite and cool, we loved the way everything was set up. The designer's attention to detail was outstanding! We even had a beach bag, sun hats and jandals provided by the hotel.
If you're looking for a nice beach - this would not be the one though, the see is quite rocky out there (maybe that's where the name comes from). But the pools are so awesome - we didn't even need anything else!
At night we couldn't get out from the hotel much, cause of our daughter, and stayed the whole 10 days having dinners in the hotel's restaurants. Their food is outstanding, especially in the Dining Room! Fantastic! The chef is really good. What we liked the most - the entertainment in the hotel. They really made a effort to make our holiday interesting. They had themed parties at night, like cocktail party or Thai traditional night, or pasta night, also some kids parties at lunch. So every night was different and enjoyable.
Special thanks to the staff - they were great! Fantastic bartenders and entertainers, very-very good guitar player! We very much enjoyed our stay at Rocky's and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect for us with a young baby - we were in a Standard room Garden view. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you, we make extra effort this time of year to put on more activi ties for our guests to enjoy while still creating a relaxing atmosphere for those who want it.
Regarding our "Rocky" beach, we have cleared a path out to where you can comfortably swim, the water is crystal clear there. And is clearly marked. So no more rocky rocks. Pardon the pun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything about this resort is amazing, a home away from home, but 5 star! The staff are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. 50 bungalows is just the right size! We will definitely be coming back to Rockys whenever we are in Samui!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs pool view, but it wasnt noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you so much, we do hope you will indeed come back to this beautiful tropical island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lovely resort, good food and lovely rooms! Chose the pool view rooms - spacious and well equipped! And great with two kids! Housekeeping needs improvement - our room was never properly cleaned! Sadly the beach is tiny and no water sports facilities are provided - not even snorkels! However food is great and the staff are friendly!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mahine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Rockys, General Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments. I think you may have been misinformed. We have two natural beaches and a huge beach next door to use. We do not provide jet skis here as they can be too noisy for those who want to relax on the beaches.Free shuttle bus to Lamai (3 minutes) where there is an abundance of water sports and beaches. A watersports centre 1 minute walk from Rocky's too. Snorkels are provided on Josephine, Rocky's own boat, which will take you to areas which has an abundance of fish to look at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
844 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
753 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,688 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 184 in Bophut
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $147 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing