We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars for Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Rocky's Boutique Resort is like no other we've ever stayed at. We had a few incidents (lost luggage and sick husband) that could have marred our time there but with the help of the staff the incidents were reduced to mere hiccups (although I would have preferred to not have had such an in depth knowledge of Bangkok Samui Hospital). We somehow fluked the honeymoon room which was the most exquisite room imaginable - every ammenity you'd want and more but the view! - ocean views out of all windows and being at the end of the resort made it secluded.

Every staff member went above and beyond trying to make our stay the best. When my husband ended up in hospital, Martin, GM, and a couple of staff not only visited but came with flowers and some very helpful advice.

The whole vibe of the place was happy. Everyone was out to ensure that you had a good time - those happy hour cocktails - coco locos - went along way to helping us after long, warm, exhausting days lolling by the pool overlooking the ocean.

The meals were top class, the staff exemplary - couldn't believe Tien had only been there two weeks as he was so comfortable and knowledgeable - the perfect host. I wish I took more notice of the reception and waiting staff's names so that I could also individualy praise them. The lady in reception that followed up our lost luggage deserves a bit pat on the back (probably too Aussie a term but definately deserved more than a ขอบคุณค่ะ).

We definately have to revisit and do it correctly - no lost luggage and no hospital visit - so as to fully enjoy the experince. Thanks one and all

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bundygirl_29325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Rocky's Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

I can't think of anything to add that hasn't been already said.Suffice to say that this was my second visit to Rocky's and I am seriously considering making it number 3 next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautiful place, beautiful staff, beautiful food, in a beautiful surrounding make Rocky's an utterly extraordinary resort in Koh Samui.There are many room types and locations that fit to every need. Ours was Large Jr Suite(901) with a day bed made into an extra bed for our daughter. Room is decorated beautifully with items sold in the shop in main office. Balcony has some view of the Ocean, bathroom has strong water pressure shower but the one we are staying does not have a bathtub.Upstairs swimming pool has plenty of lounge chairs with plenty of towels and a bar with The Bistro Restaurant. The Dining Room Restaurant also our breakfast place is breathtaking- perching on the rock overlooking the ocean with a small sandy beach underneath and palm trees on the side with grey mountain background. A bar next to it and a swimming pool with a view ! (There is an ice water jug with glasses at the pool.)We had dinner at both restaurants and they are both excellent - service was pleasant. Friday evening Martin , the GM and Tien , Guest Relation Mgr welcome guests in Cocktail evening. We had pinacolada in real pinapples! I have never seen a GM and Guest Rel. Mgr both really interact with guests- and we stayed for five nights and we saw Martin and Tien mingling with guests all the time. Breakfast served in the ocean view restaurant - what a lovely way to start a day with Tiew and Cherry taking order for 'hot' food options -- check out the Egg Florentine on Spinach or Bagel with salmon and cream cheese-- regret we didnot take the picture since they were so beautifully presented. We had only one disappointment with breakfast : the porridge was very watery- in fact after waiting for 25 minutes, it came like rice floating on broth.
Tuesday evening is Thai Night the best opportunity to sample exquisite Thai food prepared by Chef Aziz and staff.
The hotel provides one free shuttle drop off to Chaweng Beach at 11 am, and three drop off and pick up from Lamai Centre.We would go with hotel shuttle to Lamai at 2 pm and grab a taxi fom Lamai to Bo Phut. ( Taxi return to Rocky's costs 600-700THB) Outside the Resort on the main road there is a couple of restaurants ( La Scala and local Sabeinglae- the latter has a sea view but we didnot eat here-- walked along the beach to this restaurant and encountered rubbish and smelly stagnant water next to it- ). You can walk further from the beach to the "Rock" people talk about- quite a climb on the rock with man made wood and bamboo steps too far apart and weathered rope. It would be easier to cross to the main road and turn right- lots of souvenir shops. On the opposite directions there are 2-3 small restaurants on the beach accessible by kayak. Hotel has a kayak and we enjoyed kayaking around. Hotel has boat trip tour to nearby island 2200THB per person or book the boat for yourselves for 8000THB. Wish we were still there!

Room Tip: More steps to Pool side and Ocean view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank budgy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you, looks like you had a great time. I wish I could interact a lot more, paperwork beacons sometimes, but I love chatting to guests an make sure they are happy and have everything they need. your comment about the possidge is noted, however this is asian rice porridge and should be like that. I often have it, very yummy and healthy. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just returned from staying 6 nights at Rocky's (with 3 nights at Bangkok before arriving and 5 nights at Krabi afterwards). We had a Junior Suite with a oceanview, which is one unit back from the sea. The room had extra items which made it more homely such as scales, magnifying makeup mirror, beautiful thai decorations, incense burner etc and a huge bathroom.

The hotel is a very relaxing place, with only 50 units, 2 restaurants and 3 pools. You don't feel at all crowded, the grounds and pools are clean, tidy and beautiful, restaurants are great (but more expensive than town ones - although priced OK for the hotel location). You really do get a higher level of service from the friendly staff. Good location for a wedding.

They have 3 free return van trips into Lamai available each day and a one way trip into Chaweng, so you can get to shops easily. There are no shops or restaurants close by the hotel, so we ate at the hotel's restaurants most nights. The breakfast (which was included in our room rate) has a large a'la'carte section and buffet, so the selection was huge.

If we were to be truely objective, we missed not having shops and restaurants within walking distance and my wife found the many stairs around the resort fairly hard going. No one really used the beach, as it was low tide during the day. The pools made up for this. We will however miss this place - it was rather special.

Room Tip: The Junior suite oceanview rooms have a reasonable seaview. The Beachfront ones are only a few metr...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevAli1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Hi and thank you for your comments, I think you hit it right on the head, this place is rather special with an atmosphere like no other. That's why I love and am honoured to work here. My staff feel the same and it shows in the service. Hope you trip back was ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have just returned from staying 6 days at Rocky's for my son's wedding. It was amazing!! It is a relaxing, intimate resort and the wonderful staff can't do enough for you. The restaurants are great and the bars fabulous, especially 'happy hour' which is a different hour at each of the 2 bars, so you can move from one to the other for buy one get one free drinks. Dome, the bar man, is the best! Personality plus!
Thai night, with Thai entetainment a spectacular buffet was great.
Service was prompt and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Our Junior Suite had a lovely view of the ocean and pool. The breakfast is spectacular. You get to order from a menu as well as buffet items to choose from. My favouite part of the day!
If you are thinking of getting married in Thailand, go to Rocky's, you couldn't do better! From the amazing floral decorations, the Thai dancers, drum ceremony, fab food, fire dancers to the beautiful room decoration for the bride and groom.
It was all 'WOW"
Hire Rocky's long boat for the day and ypou will be taken on a fab trip fishing, snorkling, swimming and island walking, with lunch provided. A must!
I could go on and on. I was so sad to leave and WILL return one day!!
Thanks Rocky's for everything!

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb a lot of stairs, stay near the beach pool. Rooms 603, 604 had a love...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

You are doing yourself a HUGE favour by coming to stay at such a beautiful place like Rockys! This resort is BY FAR the best that we saw on the island and we were so happy every morning to wake up in paradise. The staff are lovely and the General Manager, Tien, is nothing less than fantastic!! The pools are great, the variety of drinks and food from the restaurants cater for everyone and the setting is just idyllic!!!!

We stayed in the Deluxe Pool VIlla which was breathtaking, although the rest of the resort was equally as beautiful that we didn't mind spending time with the other guests at the main pool or at the beach bar etc.

You will regret not staying here if visiting Koh Samui! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! We'll definitely be back here if visiting the island again xxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASHLEIGH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you, warms my heart whenpeople say what you said, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. A big thanks from all our staff to you, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited Rocky's resort after spending 4 days in Bangkok, so it was a much needed place to shut down.
The nicest surprise we had was checking into our villa, which was right on the beachfront, looking out to sea. During the day the location was handy for the pool, main dining room and beach, but at night it was idyllic to fall asleep listening to the waves lapping on the shore.
Whilst we were there we participated in the cookery school which was great fun and managed to further our skills in Thai cooking. We also ate what we had prepared and was good way of comparing our cooking with other food dishes served in the restaurants.
We ate at both restaurants in resort and thought that the food quality was excellent and price very reasonable. The main dining room overlooks the sea and is a very pleasant venue to eat at as you get cooling sea breezes. Our one complaint was that the starters at dinner were often so big that it was almost impossible to finish the main course in comfort!
My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary whilst we were there,and would like to say thank you to the lady who made up our room for decorating it so beautifully and putting out the orchids. It was really very special and so romantic.
We felt that the staff at this resort worked very hard to be personable towards guests and to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique location from what we saw. We cannot comment on what the other rooms are li...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Hi, after 4 days in Bangkok I am sure Rocky's was the right medicine, so many corners to relax in here.
One of the first things I did here was the Thai cooking class, and although I was a chef a long time ago, I did learn a few things as well as having a lot of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
4.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,403 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
772 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
498 reviews
10.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky's Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky's Boutique Resort

Address: 438/1 Moo 1 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $129 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky's Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky's is a stunning boutique resort set in a secluded cove south of Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. With only 47 rooms and 3 pool villas, an award winning fine dining restaurant, a poolside bistro and two free-form swimming pools, Rocky's is the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic holiday. Rocky's emphasizes warm, personal service, attention to detail, and a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky's Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky`s Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rockys Boutique Hotel
Rockys Boutique Koh Samui
Rocky's Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing