We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top End Thai Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloha Resort
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top End Thai Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Koh Samui is a tropical Island paradise which attracted much international investment in hotels in recent years. It is not possible to stay in certain hotels for under £500 a night. They and many like them offer a pristine, sanitised, safe environment which takes advantage of Samui's fantastic scenery, sand, sea and weather, and the cheap and charming Thai labour-force. These are duplicates of hotels all round the world and they are deliberately remote from the real Thailand, the real Samui.

There is an alternative. These are the older Thai Hotels that are located on the best beaches and are in the centre of resort towns buzzing with restaurants, bars and spas. The Aloha Resort located in the centre of Lemai's soft sanded beach leading to a bathing area in the sea gets pleasantly deep pleasantly fast. There also a good swimming pool by the sand in a coconut palmed garden.

The hotel offers superior and deluxe rooms. Invest in the extra small amount to get the deluxe and you will have a balcony with an uninterrupted view of the sea. The hotel is slightly old and could do with an overhaul in places. The breakfast is not brilliant and no-one seems to eat in the restaurant but the staff are polite, helpful and speak a form of English.

In my opinion at about a discounted price of under £60 a night with a sea view and under 50 paces to the beach one direction and a bustling high street the other direction knocks the flip-flops off those same-same hotels ten time the price.

Room Tip: Try to book without breakfast and have breakfast in the Jamaica bar at the entrance. Pick your own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    80
    54
    23
    27
See reviews for
62
70
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks April 2013 in Grand Deluxe Rooms. Hotel definitely had a big Russian theme in guests. Staff didnt speak very good english and didnt interact with guests. Beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable, worst bed I have ever slept in. We had very little hot water to shower with so having a bath wasnt even an option.
Breakfast was terrible from the choices of food, to the dirty table cloths and food not hot or covered from flies or insects.
Hotel location was good being on the beach, gardens were well kept but hotel itself needs a definite upgrade and maintenance work. Wouldnt recommend this hotel with all the other options available in Lamai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Well, we were here for our honeymoon and from the start, things were just less than satisfactory to me in regards this hotel. The facilities are okay, there's a decent pool and the beach is right by the hotel, which is quite convenient. I guess my main complaint is the lack of attention to detail in just about everything. Its an old hotel with minimal maintenance having been carried out over the years. The floors don't have carpets so your feet are dirty all the time. Breakfast looked like it was made in the dirtiest of conditions and the fittings in the bedroom and toilets could definitely do with a revamp. There arent enough lights in the rooms and we still haven't figured out how the shower works but can say that the bath is too small! All in all, it's not all that bad. Service is friendly but I do think there's a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stolenoratory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel right at the beach! Great poolarea with enough sunbeds (half of them in the shadow of the trees).

Rooms were in good standards, But the cleaning could have been Better during our stay. Helpful staff, But their english is bad. Found some cockroaches on the room, i guess its standard in Thailand.

Seems to be a Russian charter hotel.

Overall We had a great stay and We would come back if visiting Lamai again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoffss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We liked Aloha since the very first visit several years ago and were coming to this hotel every year but this year everything changed. Yesterday when we got into the room we realized that our documents/credit cards/iphone/cash is all stolen. All doors were locked when we left the room. When I tried to talk to the managed she just locked in her cabinet and never showed up. Cleaning personal was the only to enter the room while we were away but all they say "No have". Police came but no actions were taken. We are now without documents and money struggling Thai system trying to figure out how to get home. I would never ever recommend aloha nor will ever come here myself. Stay away from this hotel as they take no resposibility for stealing from their rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Aleksey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The positives are large rooms, a view of the sea (although limited from our room), good AC, comfortable beds, imaculate garden & friendly staff.
The negatives were a shower that just didn't work (they did their best to fix it but I think the plumbing wasn't up to it) - this really affected our stay, very poor breakfast - limited choice and it just didn't look inviting, poor food in their restaurant, the pool although large didn't look very inviting (it had a green tinge) and the most annoying Asian man who has a shop in reception and constantly tries to sell you a suit!..
Generally the hotel lookes a little jaded - it would be great if it had a big makeover - one feels that you're staying in the 1970's

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

When choosing accommodation in Koh Samui there were a couple of prerequisites:
1/ View of the sea from our balcony
2/ Beach Front Location
3/ Central Location
4/ reasonably priced
Our timing wasn’t great as we were staying during one of their peak seasons where prices can rise by up to 50% in some resorts. The Aloha ticked all the boxes so we decided on a grand deluxe seaview room which by comparison wasn’t a lot more than their other rooms.
The hotel is laid out in such a way that most rooms receive a seaview, except maybe the ground floor rooms which are geared towards families with young children so they don’t need to worry too much about climbing stairs but are still in close proximity to the pool and the beach. The bungalows seemed quite cute but are located behind the northern wing so they also do not have a seaview.
Upon arrival (around 11pm, about 8 hours late thanks to Bangkok Airways) there were a couple of other parties signing in at the same time and the check in person handles us all at the same time, I was truly impressed with her skills .We were taken to our room which was located the northern wing and had a great view of the grounds, the pool and the sea. The room was huge. It had an entry, huge bed, large sofa, good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath. There was plenty of room for us to ‘drop’ things without having to find a place where we wouldn’t trip over them. It would be still be spacious with a couple of single beds in the room. The only thing missing was blockout curtains. Our room was pristine atfer being cleaned each day.
Breakfast was included and offered a great variety, including egg chefs and the head chef was out talking to guests most mornings to make sure the guests were happy with their food.
I’ve lost count of the number of resorts I’ve stayed at where the guest grab towels first thing in the morning to stake their claim to the lounges but despite this, and it being peak season, there still seemed to be enough lounges available with a choice of sunny or shaded spots. On a couple of days they were in short supply but by no means were they exhausted. A couple of the lounges were in need of minor repairs and we did see some of them being fixed. The pool area is great and has lovely views of the ocean. The beach was pristine with the occasional person taking a seat on the beach.
We did encounter a couple of blackouts, at least one of which extended along the beach, when power was returned and one of our lights wouldn’t turn off, this was around 11pm. The maintenance person fixed it within a couple of minutes of us reporting it.
We decided to have a massage on the day before we left which is perched above the pool with a commanding view of the beach. The massage was brilliant, and very reasonably priced.
We also hired a vehicle for a couple of days through their tourist desk which offered good value and we had the extra added bonus of being able to park it on site. It’s a great way to see the island at your own pace and at around $30 a day, including insurance offers good value particularly if you consider a one way trip to Chaweng by taxi is around $13AUD fixed price.
What this hotel offers is a relaxed vibe, great location, excellent layout, a beautiful beach, great service and has Lamai’s main drag just out the front of the hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly, it offers true value for money, it’s definitely at the top of my list.
It’s quality 3 ½ star accommodation.

Room Tip: Walk north up the beach, there's lots of restaurants/bars to choose from that are witihin a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vichri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Resort

Property: Aloha Resort
Address: 128 Lamai Beach | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Lamai Beach
Aloha Hotel Koh Samui
Aloha Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing