We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as lamb!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed as a couple during new year for a week we payed £60 a night we have been in thailand for 13 weeks and this is the worst hotel yet rude staff small rooms, breakfast was terrible. Tiles missing in the pool only 22 sun loungers around the pool so need to get up at 6am to get a sunbed. The only good thing about the hotel is location. Please please please there is better than this for half the money look about. Bill resort £16 a night grand maninta £30 a night are by far better than this place take the nice looking pool away and it's a budget accommodation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    131
    73
    30
    30
See reviews for
46
140
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We kind of just showed up to see if they had rooms after our friends said they were at the Weekender Resort (they were really at the Weekender Villas). They had rooms, and we checked in. It was beautiful and reasonably priced (about $75/night US during late November). We had one of the "Thai houses" with a pool view. Good A/C, private bath, wifi is an extra charge :(, very attentive staff, amazing infinity pool, whirlpool pool, and lap pool, all on the beach. Thai massage tent - on the beach (it was fantastic). Breakfast included and was a Thai buffet with omelet bar, on the beach. Bar on the beach. In room tea kettle. Our house had some gecko and frog visitors :). We could walk one direction onto the beach or the other direction onto the main strip in Lamai to find amazing food and taxis to anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in the Weekender for 11 nights in a deluxe room that overlooks the beach. Good sized room and well cleaned each day. Hotel staff all very friendly. The hotel is only a short walk from the local bars etc but far enough not to hear any noise. I think the rooms are a bit overpriced to be honest and charging for wi-fi is not good but I like this hotel and would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Stay as near to the beach as you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed in the Weekender for 11 nights....online it looks like a really nice place to stay, however I found the reality to be somewhat different...my room was a garden view and while this was ok the noise in the apartment block was very loud..... cleaners in the morning dragging furniture around on the tiles, guests packing up, maintenance sanding the balcony woodwork etc etc and all before 1000hrs...!!!..
The shower was just not cutting the mustard either and trying to get the right temp was a joke...easier just to have a cold one, there was also a strong smell of sewage when the shower was in use. you had to pay for WiFi ...!!
Staff were ok, Pool area was very nice, access to beach was simple but these benefits did not not outweigh the apartment block. the rooms need a makeover.....full stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickthefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Like the reviewer below we too stayed at the Weekender for 5 nights in September and as this is during the low season the resort was pretty quiet.

The hotel isn't in heart of Lamai Beach. It is a good 20 minutes walk away but the journey is not too bad. You can either walk along the beach or the road running parallel to the beach. It is also a fair bit away from Chaweng (where the main action in Koh Samui takes place) but both Chaweng and the heart of Lami Beach can be reached to in no time by cab or the red pick up trucks that run along the main road frequently (go for the latter, much cheaper!)

For the price my friend and I paid, the room was pretty basic and no-frills but I guess this was to be expected. The only minor gripes we had was that the fan/air conditioning unit in our room wasn't strong enough to cope with the heat we encountered there!

The food they serve in the restaurant/bar area was to my pleasant surprise very tasty, so this comes highly recommended!

The owner, Sak, was really nice too.

All in all a pleasant, cheap and cheerful resort. If you're willing to compromise on the location this is one you should perhaps consider.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Weekender for 5 nights. The resort wasn't fully booked due to the season, so it was very quiet, which wasn't such a bad thing. Facilities were good, but pools could have done with a little more cleaning. Staff were friendly. Day Spa prices were probably a little too expensive for the standard of the resort. Aimee at reception was extremely helpful. The beach front was perfect! Overall we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Back here for the third time now. Its been three years since my last visit, and seven years since my first. Checkin was nice and easy. We chose a room in the superior-building closest to the beach on the ground floor. The room is alright, not the greatest and not the worst. The bathroom was fair enough, nothing spectacular. A big problem in 2013 is the availability of power outlets. Usually you bring a phone and mac/pc/tablet or other gadgets that needs to be charged. If you dont want to disconnect the refrigerator, reading lamp or TV, you are stuck with only two. One by the mirror, and one in the bathroom. WiFi is also something you have to buy, but does not work in the room. Going out on the balcony gives you fair reception. There is two or three wall lizards in our room almost at all times. My girlfriend and I dont mind them as they eat small bugs and do us no harm. There are a lot of mosquitoes and other bugs in our room, probably cause we live on the first floor. A bigger problem is however cockroaches. One morning we found a large roach lying on its back, dying in the middle of the room. I put a glass on it and left it on the floor for the housekeeper to remove, so they were aware of it and maybe would like to do something about it. When we returned from the beach, the glass was back on its place, but the roach was only swept behind the door. I cant say for sure that it was the same one, but I bent one of its whiskers in the morning, and they were the exact same size. I have pictures of both of them. The cleaning in the room is not very good.

The largest problem is what I see many comment here, the staff is not very good. Management really needs to sharpen up for this place to work again. When I was here earlier years, the staff was mainly thai. Now they are mainly burmese and not payed enough. There is one receptionist speaking fluent english, but I dont know where she is from, she clearly has problems communicating with the rest of the staff. A good example of the internal lack of communication is when I left my shirts to the housekeeper in the morning for an express press. Very clearly stated. The shirts are supposed to be back the same night. When they were not back, I went to the reception, but they knew nothing. The had no idea of there whereabouts of the shirts or the order. The morning after they knocked on my door with some other mans shirts. I finally recieved my shirts, pressed like a 11 year old boys first attempt, and the plastic bits stiffening the collar missing. They clearly laundered them, cause I was charged for the laundry and express, even if the express wasnt on time and I didnt order laundry... Do not use the laundry service. Extremely bad and over priced. This used to be a nice place, now its below average. The hotels up and down the beach are always full, the beach here is almost empty. There are also litter on the beach and lack of sunbeds.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor and higher to avoid bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luddigus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weekender Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weekender Resort & Hotel

Property: Weekender Resort & Hotel
Address: 124/19 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Weekender Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Weekender Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weekender Resort And Hotel
Weekender Hotel Lamai Beach
Weekender Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing