We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort but not particularly good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good resort but not particularly good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

There was a lot I liked about this hotel and resort. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The pool, beach and beach bar were excellent. The gardens were kept immaculately. The rooms were interesting and quirky but disappointing. On the negative side our room like many was dark with the washbasin opposite the end of the bed with a small room off for the wc and a separate room for the shower. At times it felt we were living in a dark bathroom which had a bed in it. The bed was large and the mattress very firm. On the varanda was a pleasant space with traditional couch and bath with water jets. This was fun until the mozzies appeared about sundown. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ground and first floor. The upper floor is better but can still be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    378
    91
    38
    38
See reviews for
196
632
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado & Mongolia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Pavilion and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The hotel we originally booked turned out to be awful--the reception staff at the Pavilion was SO helpful in getting us into a room as soon as possible despite being fully booked for Chinese New Year!

The atmosphere is both laid back yet professional and efficient. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and our room was lovely. The king bed was HUGE and very, very comfortable. We had a hydro pool room and at first we thought the small pool in the private courtyard was nice but probably not going to get much use--ha! It was great for cooling off after a daytime walk about and at night after going to dinner in Chewang.

The restaurant was great--breakfast was wonderful; plenty of choice and a daily variety--and coffee! Service was impeccable. We ate most of our lunches on sight as well as a few dinners and they were all delicious. Several weddings took place during our stay and they never interfered with the availability of the ocean front restaurant, etc..

The pool area is beautiful with full ocean view (and sound :) and the beach area is kept spotlessly clean with plenty of lounge chairs--and more are set out immediately if needed.

This was our 3rd trip to Samui but our 1st stay on Lamai Beach. Loved it! Quiet & relaxed and without that stinky smell one encounters walking around Chewang ;)

Just a couple of things: the big decision of the day was whether to have a really cold shower or a really hot one--no in between. If you like to sleep in, you might want to bring an eye mask as the louvered blinds let a LOT of light in.

All in all, we had a great stay here. Felt very pampered. If we return to Lamai, we'll certainly book here again.

Room Tip: the hydro villa (really a room :) are close to the restaurant/pool/beach yet very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I, stayed for 5 nights here. We chose a hydro pool villa, that was incredibly beautiful! Our stay was luxurious. The bed was decorated with rose petals on our arrival, and a basket full of exotic fruit welcomed us. Everybody who work there, from the receptionist to the maids, are kind and smiling.
The breakfast was delicious, consisting of a really large variety of things, including many local foods. As we decided to have our dinners in the hotel restaurant, we realised that the food served there is very tasteful, fantastically decoratd and the prices are OK.
The only unfortunate thing that occured to me, has nothing to do with the hotel, but with the sun! Although I used an expensive sunscreen, SPF 30, I got a real good sunburn, by staying only for an hour in the sun. It was a bit cloudy, so I did not realise I was being roasted! And because of this fact, the pool was such a pleasure!!! So beware the sun!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon. There was a friendly welcome at reception when we arrived, and the first impression of the Grand Pool Villa we were given was very good. But a lot of things chipped away at that over the course of our stay. The mosquito situation was very bad. Every night, we went on a hunt in the room so we could sleep without fear of being eaten alive - killed at least 10-12 every night. A mosquito net around the bed could be a good idea. The bed was atrocious for this level of accommodation - 2 single mattresses pushed together on a king frame. Cmon!!! We paid approximately 17,500 baht per night, and got a rock hard bed (2 of them really) with a crack down the middle and mozzies lurking in the dark shutter blinds ready to ravage us.

Also note that the position of the tv in the room is completely dysfunctional - as you lie on your back in bed, you have to turn your head almost 90 degrees to the right to watch it. Or sit on the side of the bed. Luckily the choice of English language channels was very limited so we didn't watch it after day 1.

The villa pool provided welcome respite from the heat. Good for a splash around but that's about it.

Other redeeming features included the location on the main street, the proximity to the beach and the staff at breakfast - they went out of their way to ensure everyone was looked after. Well done guys! The front desk staff were hit and miss - very warm at times, and blank faces at others.

The final act of questionable service for me was as we checked out and walked outside to our transfer vehicle, one of the male staff members watched as I carried my roller bag and hand luggage down the stairs to the car. Again not a big deal, I slummed it as a backpacker around the world years ago and can carry my bag anywhere, anytime, but this just seemed to be a fitting farewell from a luxury hotel that looked so good on the surface, but was found lacking once the surface was scratched.

At the end of the day, I had a good time because I was with my wife. I could have been anywhere and I still would have enjoyed it. Problem is I wanted it to be great. Amazing. Incredible. A place to look back on long after our honeymoon is over and reminisce. But it wasn't!

Room Tip: Go for a cheaper room - there will be less chance of leaving disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_DnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panya J J, Manager at Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Your comment is valuable to us. We apologize that you were disappointed with your honeymoon. we are very concerned about your comments and we will work harder to meet your expectations in the future.We really and truly want our guests to be happy and guest’s satisfaction is our main concern and priority on all facilities in our resort.

We set this step to prevent the mosquito in our services. Our employees have a daily schedule for cleaning and removal of the larvae in all areas also our staff will notify our guests to always keep the door close to prevent the mosquito.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, we are really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great location. Quiet but on main strip for restaurants and bars. Villas are a little small compared to others we have stayed in and pools are not temperature controlled so a bit cold but always beds available at main pool and beach. Breakfast is ok, lunch etc ok but loads of restaurants a short walk away anyway. Only downside was that there were a lot of mosquitos in the room despite us spraying mossie killer every night and using repellant. Loved Lamai beach as a resort and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the pavilion for two weeks in the hydro pool villa number 302. The villa was clean and both equipment and design satisfied us on the whole line. Of course the pool was gold worth in the tropical climate. His size was more than only sufficient and equipped with nozzles for massage. The staff cleaned the room very thorough and changed even all the towels every day.
The staff of the hotel didn't look only for the rooms every day, they even looked round the clock for the whole resort. They cleaned the paths through the resort, the road in front of the pavilion boutique, the beach and looked after the vegetation in the resort. That's why the look of the pavilion was all times in perfect condition.
The whole staff was friendly and tried all the time to make the holiday as dreamy as it just could be. It even was not possible to lay down a towel on the beach couch on your own because when the staff saw you coming to the beach, they just asked where you wanted to lie and than prepared the couches and sunbrella for you. From time to time the staff asked you for some cold drinks, but they were not obtrusive.
The taste and quality of the food in the resort were all times amazing. The breakfast was very rich. There was continental and Asian food. Even baked beans potatoes and sausages for the British guest were to find.
When you walk through the beach in left or right direction you could see the differences of the resorts and environment near the hotels so a guest with high claims could come to only one conclussion:the Pavillion is, if you want to stay in Lamai, the only place to be. Before we come we thought about staying in the ammatara pura resort, but when we saw how it was located, we were glad to have chosen the pavilion.
Sure there are other great hotels on samui like for example the W resort in maenam which we visited on a tour on our own through the Island, but if you want to have a little bit of nightlife nearby it's not an alternative.
All in all my wife and I definitely will come back-not only for one more time.

Thank you for a great holiday.

Mr. and Mrs. Nowak

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowakontour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended to all who is looking for luxury resort. All the smiles and greetings from the staffs really make u happy to stay there.
Excellent service!!!! Excellent service!!!!
Excellent service!!!! Excellent service!!!!
Excellent service!!!! Excellent service!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lau511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.1 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
1.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort

Property: Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Address: 124/24 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in contemporary Thai style nested in a tropical garden set in a gorgeous beach front location of Lamai on the tropical Koh Samui Island offering 70 elegantly appointed luxury accommodation units of rooms and suites with spa and Villas with private pool to be complimented by full services and facilities for great holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Samui Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Hotel Pavilion Samui Boutique
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing