We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sudden, undeclared and multiple cuts in electricity and water.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sudden, undeclared and multiple cuts in electricity and water.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked the place after a recommendation. Wish it never happened. There were multiple, sudden and undeclared cuts in water and electricity. When asked about the reason as to why this happened, we were told that it happened all over the island as electricity comes from the mainland. However, this was untrue, as whilst we were having the cuts the rest of the surrounding buildings, including shops near by, had a normal supply.
Staff did not have a clue about the situation and one even had the nerve to tell us that 'he is not an engineer to sort out the problem'. How about an electricity generator mate?
About the water we were asked to get our towels and have a shower or use the toilet in the building in front of the hotel, as it belongs to the same owner. Are you having a laugh?
The general manager was polite and professional. He offered a complimentary dinner to compensate for the mess created. However that was too late and too little.
If you have to go there, do get a written confirmation that there will not be any water & electricity cuts, if you can have it. Good luck any way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    389
    93
    41
    39
See reviews for
202
660
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the one and only Beachfront Grand Pool Villa, which is the best room type available in Pavilion.

The villa comprised of an indoor area (bedroom/bathroom) and an outdoor area. The indoor area was furnished very well, but was very small, I was disappointed it didn't have a seperate sleeping and living area (considering the price).

Conversely, the outdoor area was extremely generous, with four seperate seating areas. The private infinity pool which overlooks the beach is absolutely stunning and picture perfect.

The resort itself was very nicely styled and decorated. But some of the stagnant water features seemed a little senseless considering the amount of mosquitos around. Bar the mosquitos, the resort was clean and free of all bugs/creepy crawlies.

Staff were always polite, but service was sometimes slow (but not always - at other times it was speedy). Airport transfers were speedy and efficient.

Personally, I found breakfast average at best. Except the freshly made 'roti' which was delicious.

Lamai beach was quite coarse, not soft and powdery, which was a shame.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, the villa was extremely beautiful particularly our villa's private infinity pool overlooking the beach. Would I stay again? Probably not - for a similar price you could get a basic/midrange room at resorts like the W or Four Seasons, which are on another level.

Room Tip: Beachfront Grand Pool Villa - The best room in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed in a plunge pool suite. Fantastic stay. Staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was great. Had a lovely dinner at restaurant as well. Nice and close to shops, nightlife and other restaurants in Lamai. Lots of Sunbeds around pool and on beach. Best cocktails I have ever had!!!!!! Great happy hour specials. Excellent service and staff at the spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've stayed here for 8 nights. We booked two upstairs rooms next to each other. The rooms are big and Nice. Although the bathroom and toilet need soms painting. We had soms problems with the flushing of the toilets. And also some problems with the hot water in the bathroom. And also we experienced no electricity three times. But besides these things, this hotel is great. The location is perfect as the beach. The staff is very friendly.

I've eaten the best red curry in this hotel. The prices of the food and drinks are very high at the hotels, but the red curry @ The Pavilion is a must have!
We always asked in every restaurant we've eaten here for the original Thai style food. Because ( except for the local hawkers restaurants) all the other restaurants have adjusted their cooking to the european taste. One of the main reasons that we travelling to Thailand so often is for the food. So if you really are a fan of Thai food, always order in Koh Samui, original Thai style food!


There are some restaurants were you can eat much cheaper. Or just head off to Chaweng centre.
Taxi are expensive. the ride from Lamai to Chaweng cost 400 bath each way. To the Buddha pier is cost 600 bath.


if you like massages just get off of the hotel and you'll find massages for just 300 bath.

Room Tip: Ask for aquiet room, far from the bar als Thai like to play loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

18 American travelers stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and all found the place to be outstanding. I stayed in an upstairs room with an outside jet tub. No elevators. The decor was outstanding and clean. I tipped the cleaning staff but did not see I received any quicker service than my neighbors. The outside tub took a hour to fill and was barely warm, water never got hot. Walls are thin we could hear the "goings on" in the neighboring rooms. The air conditioning worked on high only which was great for my room mate. Our light switch froze and we were unable to turn our lights off. Room service made two trips to our room to disable the switch. Pool and beach are CLEAN & EXCELLENT. Breakfast was included and the food was outstanding some of the best I have eaten. Dinner food was just O.K., the service was poor for a larger group. However they did give us separate checks. Happy Hour drink prices are fare not much alcohol in them. Just don't order a cup of tea.... $3.50 for a cup of hot water and a tea bag. Well, this is Thailand and I was thankful for a safe clean place to sleep.

Room Tip: Upstairs room, as you enter the hotel pick the left side away from the construction work going on ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Day, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thanks to the front desk help, drivers and transportation help to and from the airport, the folks who packed our bags to and from the rooms, the chefs, the people making the banana pancakes (definite winner!), those who tidied up our rooms, laundry service, people creating those berry smoothies, and everyone else. Very good service and care for us at Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort!
I did not have a chance to take advantage of the spa, so have not rated it below. Next time.

Room Tip: Rooms spacious and quiet. Construction next door was not a problem. Staff extremely pleasant and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I totally forget to write an review about this hotel until I saw mess_one's one. Yes, we also have electric shock in our shower and after they "fixed" it, it still happened! I was so scare and not even enjoying my hydro pool because of that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dineshum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort

Property: Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Address: 124/24 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in contemporary Thai style nested in a tropical garden set in a gorgeous beach front location of Lamai on the tropical Koh Samui Island offering 70 elegantly appointed luxury accommodation units of rooms and suites with spa and Villas with private pool to be complimented by full services and facilities for great holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Samui Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Hotel Pavilion Samui Boutique
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing