We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax in Lamai, Ko Samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“A great place to relax in Lamai, Ko Samui”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the beachfront room at the Pavilion Samui and found it to be a wonderful, secluded space to relax & enjoy. The room was more than ample, comfortable, well equipped and the private pool facing the ocean made it a spectacular option.
Food was good and staff made a great effort to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    390
    94
    42
    39
See reviews for
203
666
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This place was wonderful. Our room was spectacular - felt like royalty. The only complaint I had about it was the picture on the wall of the woman's butt.. a little offensive (and Vegas-ish?) but aside from that, the bathroom, shower, bed, all was great. I thought it was worth the price to have an outdoor jacuzzi and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get an outdoor jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We like here very much and love all staff. They are very friendly, especially beach boys, bartender at The Lookout Bar. There are good food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renatka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very disgusting awful service!!! First the hotel manager gave us the wrong accommodation : we booked the sea view villa and paid for it. They gave us just pool villa. But the most outrageous was an accident with the conditioner that was running and damaged our bag with papers and documents. The staff (manager Peter) came to make photos of damaged things and promised to provide any compensation. But the next day he did not even come to apologize!!!!!!! No compensation, no discount. As we telephoned him at our check out day, he said that nothing important been spoilt among our things. That s why he won't provide any compensation. The impression of the hotel was totally corrupted with such boorish behavior of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina_From_Msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We paid a considerable amount of money to stay in the small boutique hotel , the first room they gave had a terrible smell and we asked to be moved to another room . The other room was fine but the electricity had some problems and they had to send technicians to fix it .
2 nights before we left the air con broke down and they could not repair it before the next day , therefore we had to sleep in a different room for a night . What an inconvenience ! The pool and the bar/restaurant areas are very pleasant .
It could be a nice place to stay in but the maintenance is poor and it clearly doesn't meet the standards of what it stands for . I would only recommend to stay there if the price was around 50 US $ per night .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

After being told how amazing Koh Samui was, we decided to end off our 2 week honeymoon with 3 nights at the Pavilion Resort...big mistake. This hotel came close to ruining what was an amazing honeymoon and we couldnt get out of there fast enough, choosing to check out early and rather sit for 4 hours at the Samui International airport rather than spend any more time at this unfriendly place.
Having already visited Phi Phi Island and Phuket, we had been treated to amazingly friendly staff, and beautiful resorts, and possibly we had been spoilt, but the Pavilion was one disappointment after another.
The room was alright, but nothing special - we were in a hydro villa and it was cramped and had no view of anything at all. We had a look at the grand pool villas with the thought of upgrading, but only one has any view and for 3000 baht a night, you are not getting much better.
The restaurant was possibly the worst and most expensive we have been to - the staff are incredibly unfriendly and each have name tags saying "Ms so and so" or "Mr so and so" so you dont have the same level of familiarity or relationship as you do when you know someone's first name. Something small like the fact that you have to get your own tea and coffee just ruins the whole atmosphere and makes it seem more like a backpackers than somewhere you are paying a fortune to be. Plus the staff stand around and look at you like you are a real inconvenience when you ask for a knife and fork or to tell them that the milk is finished - not something you would expect to have to tell waiters who have no real function other than to pick up your plate. There also is a massive communication problem, and often ended up with something completely opposite to what we were asking for - especially at the Egg Station at breakfast.

Breakfast is another shocking state of affairs, with everything looking grubby, and flies on a lot of the food, and on two of the mornings we were there the pastries were completely stale.

The whole atmosphere at the hotel is one where they appear to be making their money's worth out of you - we went for cocktails at the beach bar during the time when they offer 40% off (almost like a happy hour time attempt) but when it came time to sign the bill, we were told that unfortunately it didnt matter what time we sat down or drank our drinks, because we asked for the bill after the time had ended and therefore did not qualify for the discount.
We also hired a scooter and signed a reciept for 250 baht, only to be told when we returned that the hire was actually 350baht so they would be charging us more - but it was their mistake that they had mischarged us - so in my mind, completely shoddy to make us foot the bill for their mistake.

Unfortunately November is really not a good time to go to Koh Samui as the weather is really terrible, so no diving or snorkelling trips take place, which means that you are left for 3 days while its raining to do pretty much absolutely nothing. The island is roughly 50kms round trip, which you can stretch to a day of sightseeing, but with not being able to do anything else, you run out of entertainment pretty quickly, and are left watching TV in your room - of which they have 90 odd channels of Thai TV, but only 2 english channels. Many of the other hotels actually organise activities when it rains - like napkin folding or board games, and are so willing to accomodate that they generally give free meals or room upgrades - not the case at the Pavilion.

All in all, this hotel is one we would really recommend avoiding!! At all costs!

Room Tip: Dont bother paying for a pool villa - settle for a dip pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaurenvdO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panya J J, Manager at Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greeting from Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for your time choosing our resort as your holiday in the occasion of Honeymoon, we are really appreciated.

We have learnt with our disappointment for your comments in Trip Advisor and we found that you were not happy with the overall experience at our resort during stay with us. At Pavilion, we continually strive to provide its service to beyond their guest expectation. We sincerely regret that we could not deliver its satisfactory to you during your visit to Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort.
Once we received this comment today morning, we, on behalf of Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort Management team set an urgent meeting what we find the best solution for this review in order to take this kind of action and would like to respond our side explanation what we had done last couple of weeks. As listed, we are pleased to get back your feedback as the followings;

Our room inventory in Pavilion are mostly located in the area with tropical garden where Hydro Pool Villa, booking you have made to stay is included with. Please be noted that only 1 unit, Beach Front Grand Pool Villa located on the beach with panoramic sea view.
At daily breakfast in the restaurant, we have a standard set buffet line with various menus you can enjoy breakfast. Tea and coffee facilities including fresh milk are set in the corner which you can enjoy by own freshly brewed. Tea bags are selected for 4 items that you can choice by your own taste.

As we know that we try its best to keep our areas in the property clean, in particular, restaurant. We set up this process to prevent all flies fly over in the food and we have to get rid of them once it flies to disturb our guests or food. Our staff has a daily schedule to clean all areas and definitely our kitchen wares are spot cleaned which not let flies come to our resort. However, if some are from outside to disturb in our restaurant, we immediately get rid of by our staff in those areas.

Everyday for Happy Hour in our resort promotion at Look Out Bar is started from 15.00 – 16.30 hrs. Everyone can enjoy drinking at the bar, which means if guests order drinks during 15.00 – 16.30 hrs, guests are always treated as happy hour for 40% discount even though bills are settled after the time of happy hours end. As said, we come back to work with revenue department in order to find out this bill; this order is posted to system at 17.17 hrs. and payment was settled at 17.35 hrs. so, this bill was not applicable to this discount promotion.

Scooters are available for rent at reception, but, it is only presented to guest upon request. Once the order is requested by guest, photo of each scooter will be shown to guest to choice; definitely pricings are clearly marked with price THB 250 and THB350 under each photo. Then, bill is always signed with the guest acceptance. Once it was signed, you requested to change from THB 250 to THB 350 due to its bigger scooter. Probably, it might be misunderstanding for this issue.

One of in-room entertainments are set with local cable TV which we have set for its entertainment for only 37 channels as listed in TV Program pad. These various programs are allocated properly for all guests coming from many countries to enjoy their mother land programs, therefore English are only a few to be in the list. Please noted that English programs are provided for 4 channels shown in-house tv program. As informed that 90 channels are set in your room, this may result your TV worked inappropriately during your stay caused by our electric failure.

Finally, we would like to express our sincerity to thank you very much for your valued feedback to reflect the other side of service. This will enhance us to work very hard in hospitality service to serve all guests in the resort beyond expectation in all aspects. Furthermore, our team in training & development department are actively focused on providing a re-training program under the title “Howe to become one of best-recognition service resorts in Samui, Thailand.

Even though, we could not erase your poor experience you have received from us, please kindly be rest assured that your feedback/comment is much more valuable to make us get ready at all times to be professionalism to all areas and outlets. We certainly hope that our explanation will meet with your kind understanding more or less to our service and we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by. If much as much possible, we would also like to take this opportunity to invite you to come back to stay with us again in the nearest future, we remain.

Should you have any further feedback or any inquiry, please feel free to contact us at your possible convenience.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spent 10 nights here and enjoyed the stay but...Ok Lets start from the top. Private airport transfer was very good and driver was informative about the island. The hotel is right on the busy road but that gives you easy access to cafes.shops and pubs etc. Reception was not inviting and reception staff pleasant but rather slow. We had booked a plunge pool villa but were upgraded to a hydro pool. The room was very cramped, in need of maintenance and we had problems with mosquitos - I know its to be expected but this is partly due to badly designed shutters etc.Also the soundproofing was poor between rooms.The resort itself was pleasant enough and kept reasonably well maintained but the service in the dining room left a lot to be desired.Breakfast was buffet style..all normal egg stations but surprised that all the cold items were just set out on tables with no facilities to keep them cool. Everything had flies on and didn't look apertizing to say the least.Tea,coffee etc is self serve and I was disappointed that staff were standing around while people struggled to their tables with drinks and plates of food - not what I would expect! Beach staff were quick to help but loungers were tired and could be upgraded.We didn't use hotel facilities at all as far cheaper to use local cafes /pubs etc and weren't impressed with breakfast to chance any further meals at the hotel.

You are given a strict check out time and staff are waiting outside to check your room once you vacate. At reception they charged me for a snack sized Mars Bar. I explained that I had purchased some myself, placed them in mini bar and eaten theirs in error - I am afraid that didn't wash - I had eaten one with the hotel sticker on so "it wasn't allowed".Also we had placed some laundry in one of the hotel bags and packed it in our luggage. Yet again - not allowed, so in the middle of reception I had to open my case and retrieve it. In 25 years of travelling this was a first!!! Now to something a little more serious. My daughter rang the hotel and left an urgent message for us. We were out on a trip at the time arranged by the hotel - a trip to the safari park which turned out to be in a death trap of a jeep - just don't even go there - a whole day later our daughter eventually managed to ring us in the hotel room with news that our father had died. We questioned the reception staff about it who agreed that our daughter had left a message but as we were out of the room they couldn't give it to us!!

I know I am moaning and groaning...but if the Pavilion are going to market themselves as a luxury small resort and they are going to compete successfully with other 4/5star hotels on the island then they must up their level of service.Come on guys get your act together in a day and age when this industry is struggling in recession the little extras on the customer service side isn't going to cost you anything. Yes we had a nice hoiliday because we take the good with the bad and run with it but what I wouldn't do is want to go back. Pity because it could be really lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort

Property: Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Address: 124/24 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Pavilion Samui Boutique Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in contemporary Thai style nested in a tropical garden set in a gorgeous beach front location of Lamai on the tropical Koh Samui Island offering 70 elegantly appointed luxury accommodation units of rooms and suites with spa and Villas with private pool to be complimented by full services and facilities for great holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Samui Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Hotel Pavilion Samui Boutique
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing