We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Dining in Unremarkable Maret”
Review of Alimundo Suono - CLOSED

Alimundo Suono
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chic Dining in Unremarkable Maret”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were staying at the Silavadee Pool Spa Resort in Maret and wanted to look around the local area. There are a few quality restaurants on the Peninsula the hotel is located on (see my other reviews) but having eaten in these we looked further afield. As soon as you leave the peninsula and join the main ring road that circles Koh Samui (4169) there isn't much going on however and none of the bars or restaurants look that appealing. That was until we chanced upon the visually striking red and black fronting of the Alimundo Suono! It's like a little oasis of style amid the arid desert of the surrounding area. There were a party of 5 dining there already so we decided to give it a go suspecting it would be more costly than the usual Thai dining.

It is a small but intimate place and we settled happily into a table for two. The drinks menu confirmed that things were a bit pricier but not unreasonably so. The menu has a good variety too and we order the Calamari to share for a starter. Unfortunately there is some confusion with this and we never actually receive it! What we each get instead is a spring roll with sweet chilli dipping sauce and single piece of bruschetta. There is no explanation given at first and as we ordered the Calamari we were worried this was meant for someone else. I asked politely what we had been given to be told it was a complimentary starter. This would have been fine but the spring roll had meat in and my partner was for the most part a vegetarian. The staff looked genuinely aghast and offered to make her something else but we declined and I ended up eating hers and they were absolutely delicious. The bruschetta was tasty too and it all felt like such a missed opportunity. Had they just asked/ told us what they were going to do it would be been perfect and really well received gesture of service and generosity but it all ended up a bit awkward. With this and the fact the Calamari order had clearly been forgotten it was a poor start.

For the main dishes I order a Thai Chicken and Cashew Nut dish with steamed rice and my partner ordered Thai Spicy Prawns with steamed rice. Both were delicious, perfectly cooked. We happily washed this down with a second round of drinks before asking for the bill. It all came to just under 1000BHT (about £20) so it felt very reasonable.

So the food they served us was very, very tasty and the general service was spot on in regards looking after us, timeliness and friendliness but the mix up with the Calamari and the lack of communication with regards the complimentary starter spoilt things. I hope this was a one off error because everything else was great. This is why we gave it 4/5 rating and we'd recommend this to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psychobobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alimundo, Eigenaar at Alimundo Suono, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi there,
We really appreciate detailed and personnal information like you gave us.
It was very nice to read, almost like a column from a book.
I hope you guys do well and see you soon.

k.regards,
iG Windels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb food and personalized service by I G Wendels(owner) himself”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

There is a little delight of a restaurant just a kilometer down the road from the Le Meridien hotel in Lamai towards the famous Grandfather/Grandmother rock. You cant miss it as it has bright red and black decor and a nice big bar counter staring at you as you enter. Semi el fresco with a feeling you are outside yet if it rains you are covered. Superb food directed by I G's wife behind the scenes. The only place we ate twice in our short 5 day trip. We ordered Prawn Cocktail(good) avocado and crab salad(superb), caesar salad(very fresh), pad thai(good), Massaman Beef curry(fantastic) with rice and stir fried pork with basil(brilliant). What this place makes up for over and over for the view (as its on the land side of the road) is the superbly fresh and tasty food! They have one hell of a chef and IG himself stands by to serve the drinks. Absolutely brilliant food and a must visit if you are a foodie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nauhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alimundo, Eigenaar at Alimundo Suono, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Mr. Nauhar,

We are very delighted with your detailed comment and that you enjoyed your stay in our restaurant so much. All the best to you and your family.

k regards,
iG Windels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Pasta spinach salmon”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

i m the owner to another place in ko samui ,, i never take time with trip advisor ,, but the pasta penne salmon spinach and the best mango lassi ,,, so easy i agree that place ,,,,,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alimundo, Eigenaar at Alimundo Suono, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks a lot for your contribution and your favourite dish you like so much.
We are very happy and pleased to hear that.

greetings,
iG Windels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a long journey through the night, wherein we were required to change 2 flights and spend 2 hours at the Bangkok airport we arrived in Samui fairly exhausted. It didn't help that we didn't get our rooms till post noon, so by the time we needed to head out for lunch, we were way too tired to venture out too far. We figured we'd grab a quick bite in the neighborhood (we were staying at the Meridien on Lamai beach)and try something better researched for dinner. A quick stroll later we found ourselves outside Alimundo. I think the dark wicker chairs with the deep red cushions are what probably caught our eye.....but as we walked in however I also noticed a signboard that said the restaurant was looking for a Thai Chef, Italian Chef, waiters, bartenders, assistant chefs.....just about everyone needed for a restaurant!!!!! This was going to be one big gamble. We soon learnt the restaurant had only recently opened, so in all fairness we sat down expecting no more than at best a 'decent' meal.

The order was fairly simple, two salads, a shrimp cocktail, a stir fried pork dish, some fish, pad thai and a few other items that fail my non foodie memory!! The dishes arrived and the food was excellent. The salads were fresh, the flavors of the various preparations authentic, the meats tender and marinated to perfection, the accompanying sauces- delectable...not one person had anything but praise for whatever they were eating. We were travelling in a group of people who enjoy trying out something new and different everyday, but we vowed to return, and we did. The food was just as good the 2nd time over as well, but I think this time the owner, Il Gu, took extra care, and had his wife personally supervising all the cooking ( it didn't help that his chef had disappeared) and so the food took a while coming, but once it did, it proved to be well worth the wait.

This is not a beach front property, which is probably the only drawback it has. The restaurant however is bright and has an open and airy feel about it, so even though you don't see the sea, the ambience is fairly soothing and calm and I do believe if they continue to serve the quality and standard of food they served us, this will end up as a 'must eat at' destination on the island.

All the best to Il Gu and his team, here's wishing you great success.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alimundo, Eigenaar at Alimundo Suono, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your wonderful comment. It's a pleasure to read.
All the best and see you later.

k.regards,
iG Windels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alimundo Suono also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing