We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, highly recommended..”
Review of Golden Elephant

Golden Elephant
Ranked #113 of 155 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, highly recommended..”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have been planning to visit the new Thai food restaurant 'Golden Elephant' in Lamai and finally landed up with one of my foodie friend two days back. There is a lack of understanding in English with the wait staff but they are very positive and are willing to help you every way. We had a tapas platter and a mixed snacks platter for starters. Both the platters came with a very nice presentation. For main course we had BBQed prawns, minced chicken salad and garlic fried rice. The prawns looked very fresh and the preparation was also great, just done and not overcooked. The owner met us and knowing that I have been from hotel/restaurant industry, he put up some complimentary add ons in our food course which was really very nice of him.
The decor, the food and the owner's hospitality is at par excellence. The total experience is worth the amount paid. Highly recommended..Cheers & keep it up :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HotindTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, a little pricey”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We've bern to Golden Elephant to taste some Thai food. Pad Thai and Stir Fried Chicken was really good. Aksi we had Shrimp Tempura which was delicious. Aldı we ordered mango marinated roasted duck but the sauce was too strong and different for us and we couldn't eat it. The atmosphere at the place is really good, the decoration was fine. For all these dishes plus 2 beers we paid nearly 1500 bahts. The place is easy to find, it's on the lamai main street.

Helpful?
2 Thank EmreDemiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice decor”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I would not run in the opposite direction of this place, but I would not go out of my way to get here. The food was okay and presented nicely, but there are numerous other places serving the same food in the area. Staff were attentive and the food was hot. It might be as good as it gets for the area...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioLuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food ! Alleluia!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I can't stand not so fresh food ( vegetables, fruits, fish). At Golden Elephant in Lamai beach resort, i loved the freshness of all the food offered by this new restaurant Golden Elephant.
For me, it is the max! It recommend this restaurant as i recommend the other one the same owner opened a while back , called Kob restaurant. A little bit off the main road but worth the 5 mn trip.
The owner being french, he brought to that tiny island in Thailand all the savoir faire of Paris chefs!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vbabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great new restaurant in Lamai Beach. Same owner than the Kob restaurant, off the main road. Went two times in Koh Samui , 1 st time was blown away by the food at Kob ( once i found that place, i went every night to get those raw shrimps, yes ! Raw!!). I went back three weeks ago to Koh Samui, and the owner of Kob told me he opened a new restaurant on the main avenue of Lamai, called the " Golden elephant". My husband and i tried it, and loved it. It is a great value, the food is fresh and well served. Between Kob and The Golden elephant you can't go wrong in Lamai.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Elephant also viewed

 
 

Been to Golden Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing