We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I came to Koh Samui again with my Mother. This time we stayed in Samui Yacht Club, because Orchid was under construction. This place is very quite, have big sweeming pool with jakuzji just on the beach. Breakfast was very good ( sweedish table) in the restaurant. Our bungalow has two big beds ,satelite tv, air con, fridge, safe deposit box, telephone, hot water, free - coffee, tea, towels , toilet paper everyday , wi-fi internet, and beautiful view to the sea from the terrace. It was cleaning every day. The service staff work very good and was very friendly and helpful. We spent the best holiday and we'll be back again .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRIS195306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 470 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

3 star hotel and despite the name, there is no Yacht club available.
The hotel is located just outside the town of Lamai, so, you wont be disturbed by the nightclubs in Lamai.
Located in an amazing beautiful bay, with a very nice beach.
The rooms are simple, but comfortable.
Breakfast is ok, but you dont choose this hotel for its restaurant.
Staff is friendly, especially when they get to know you.
Recommended if you are looking for a stunning location and dont want to pay too much

Room Tip: the beachfront rooms are by far the best. Directly located on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zurichglobetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Due to unavailability of the originally booked room I stayed in 2 different rooms. In both rooms the AC was blowing directly to the bed. The bathroom in the second room did not appear very clean, and had that mold/mildew smell.
The receptionist was initially unwilling to provide the third bed saying they did not have one even though that was part of the reservation. Only after calling the agency they actually did provide a separate bed for the third person.
There are dogs walking around in the dining area!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vj011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've been here three times over the last few years, this last visit on honeymoon.

I still think that it is in the best possible location on the island between the two main cities, Chaweng and Lamai, with it's own wonderful, semi-secluded beach set in a beautiful bay. 5 minutes in either direction and you are in either town, depending on what you feel like doing on that day. Younger people will most likely spend all their time in Chaweng, while the most others will prefer Lamai.

The venue itself is great, with a jungle setting, bungalows between the trees, and enough space between bungalows to a afford a little privacy. The resort is clearly geared towards relaxation, as all facilities shutdown at 10pm, bar included - which can be frustrating.

The newly renovated swimming pool is fantastic, a meter 20 meters from the ocean.

The rooms themselves are a nice and clean, although not going to win any stars on the hotel star scale. Furniture is a little outdated, we had one of those 1980's massive TV's in our room (although the room I was in last year had a flat screen). The TV's reception was completely out, but on notifying reception someone came down to sort out the issue. A/C was working sufficiently well, and there is a computer with internet in the room. A stocked fridge is always and additional bonus, with fridge charges being the same as at the restaurant - also a welcome surprise.

Bathroom is clean and functional, although taking a shower is an adventure on its own with a couple of seconds of hot water... then just cold... jiggle the facet... some more hot water... etc. But then, who goes to a tropical island, beaches and pools, and then needs to spend a hour in the shower... so this wasn't a huge problem for us.

The restaurant/bar is good... not the best food I've ever had, but everything on the menu was palatable. I really enjoyed the Thai dishes, but don't bother ordering a steak or pizza, remember where you are. I enjoyed the breakfasts, which are included with the room... not a huge selection of fruits/breads/cereals, but if you like a little fruit and a traditional American breakfast (coffee, eggs, bacon, toast) it's great. The food and beverage prices at the resort are reasonable, and really cheap when compared to other hotels.

Service is a little less great. The staff there are tired, no one speaks English and it is sometimes frustrating dealing with them. Overtime, you get used to it, but if you're there for just a couple of days or in a rush, it will become irritating. They do smile, are friendly, and try to understand and help you, and at worst, when ordering a meal, you just have to point at the item on the menu (which is in English). Ordering drinks was never a problem though.

Of the 12 days we stayed here, we easily spent 4 whole days in the resort, with enough to do to keep us busy, and lets not forget the Thai massage team on the beach. You can easily lose half a day being pampered by them!

Overall, it's not a 5 star establishment, but it is beautiful, peaceful and quiet - and conveniently located. I can honestly say that I always leave this resort + island completely relaxed, and thoroughly enjoy my visit. Given the room rate and it's location, I don't think it is unreasonable and I will go back any time, hopefully again this year.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are the Deluxe Beachfront Bungalows, because they are right on the beach, with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

we stayed here in june 2009,and returned in june 2011,as we loved it so much the 1st time.i must admit though,it seems to have been a bit neglected since our 1st visit,i think it may have been to do with bad floods,just before went went this year,pathways were cracked,ponds with fish in bit dirty,bathroom was in need of a good re-vamp.but at the end of the day,we stayed a week,instead of3days. it has a lovely pool,that looks right on to the beach,as is so peaceful,which is what drew us back here in the 1st place.supermarket up the road(10min walk). food good at samui yacht club(bit over priced).there are a few places to eat on walk to supermarket(very cheap),also good little locals bar on the same route.they were actualy working on cutting trees back etc,just before we left.but would still reccomend this place,would still go back again.

Room Tip: have stayed in2different rooms and found them both quiet.nearer the reception area,as were decoratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caronkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I visited "Samui Yacht Club" in the end of September - the beginning of October 2009, before the rain's season. This hotel is located between Lamai beach and Chaweng beach, in the beauty bay. It is very gentle and pacific place surrounded mountains and stones. If you dream about relaxing, “Samui Yacht Club” is for you. The tropical garden around the hotel resembled the island Bali. Our bungalow was located on the slope of mountain. It was very beautiful view through the tropical plants from the veranda: high palms, lianas, orchids… and then silent bay. “Singing” lizards have lived in the territory of the hotel. Large lizards came to us twice and several little lizards lived in our bungalow.
The weather before the rain’s season was very warm and mild. The hot Thai sun was hidden behind clouds. But it did not prevent us to take pleasure in Thai warmth. There was ebb in the mornings, but it was not significant. It had not prevented us go swimming. The water came back in the evenings. There are a lot of restaurants near “Samui Yacht Club”. The hotel’s restaurant was enough good. It is traditional Thai food. On the right side, in 5 minutes from the hotel is located “Crystal Bay” restaurant. The prices in this place were lower than “Samui Yacht Club” restaurant. The food was not very spicy. The other restaurant is located not far from the hotel – 5 minutes by the taxi or the local “bus” to the side of Samui airport. It names “Seafood”. It is the real Thai food with a lot of spices, but it is delicious. Be careful if you will make a decision to have a dinner in “Seafood”. Save your stomach!!!
In general “Samui Yacht Club” is very friendly and pacific hotel. I will be happy to recommend this hotel you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ameeriel_Laurdien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was very good.

Contrary to the other reviews, we did not find the staff rude, but some were not as friendly as some of the other Thai people we had encountered. It all depended on the person, I suppose!

The rooms were clean and well kept - although they would benefit from a bit of an uplift.

The restaurant is expensive in relation to other local restaurants, but the food is very good (and the value is definitely there!)

The beach is beautiful, and the pool is quiet - so we were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Bay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Address: 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $66 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Bay Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Bay Yacht Club sits on a small but perfect beach on the Island of Koh Samui in Thailand. The calm warm crystal clear sea, powder soft white sand and beautiful tropical gardens make this location truly special. The resort consists of 43 bungalows all set in over 12,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens. Many species of birds and butterflies can be seen enjoying the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Bay Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Yacht Club Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Yacht Hotel
Crystal Bay Yacht Club Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing